We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding at the castle”
Review of Turku Castle

Turku Castle
Ranked #1 of 66 things to do in Turku
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Helsinki, Finland
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wedding at the castle”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Attended a wedding at the castle. An impressive place, in good condition, but a lot of steep staircases.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank jokunimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

750 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    389
    278
    73
    8
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“a nice intro to the old Finland”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

I was there last winter (2011/2012). Was prepared to spend the whole morning and afternoon there. A break at the cafe in the building was also quite a nice experience. As it was my first visit to Finland, and Turku was the first stop,. I enjoyed the time spent at the museum. a lot of historical journey to experience.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank wnoorain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsgate, Kent
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A fascinating visit”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

The castle does not look like a picture-book castle from the outside. Indeed it is not very noticeable - no big signs, just a high wall. Eventually you find the way in through a little archway and follow a follow fairly discrete signs to the entrance. But once you start going round, you soon realise that it's a historic place, very well restored and curated, and quite fascinating. Lots of rooms, dating from different ages. Quite confusing the walk round. But it's immediately clear which parts are original castle - very atmospheric - and which (minimal) bits have been put in for modern visitors. Lots of explanatory notices, in good English. The restaurant in the courtyard is also good, if a bit pricey. There are discrete lifts added in a few places, but I suspect that anyone with severe walking difficulties might find it a bit tricky - not least on the authentic-looking cobbles in the entrance yard.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank M_the_driver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku, Western Finland, Finland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“worth of visit”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

The castle is a Large collection of historic showrooms which show Turku's history quite well.If you want to find a downside of it, it is quite a walk to go around all the rooms and there's a lot of stairs so just take you're time. It's worth the entryfee. about 7 € I think. Great thing is that you can get there by bus 1 which is the same that goes to the airport. Or you can walk along the Aurajoki. from center of town about 2 klicks

Helpful?
1 Thank Petri K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“What an education”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Thoroughly enjoyed my wander around this understated castle. I did not know too much about the history and politics of Turku, Finland when I entered BUT by the time I left it had given me much to think about and an understanding of the influences of Russia and Sweden too

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MsMunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Turku Castle also viewed

 
Turku, Southwest Finland
 

Been to Turku Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing