We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Frequent travellers1”
Review of Park Hotel Turku

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Park Hotel Turku
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Turku
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We booked a normal good room. The bed collapsed as we sat on it and the mattress was as in a youth hostel. There was a masonry worksite under our window until Saturday night.
The hotel's internet promised "The price of the hotel room includes aa wireless Internet connection." Well, it didnt and the proprietor wondered why we couldnt sit in the breakfast lounge to use wlan.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank musselburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (124)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

53 - 59 of 124 reviews

Reviewed May 9, 2013

I have previously talked about the the classification "home away from home". It is not really a question about stars, room size, breakfast etc. It is about the feel and comfort level of the place. Is this like your own home except that there is staff to take care of your needs?
Park Hotel in Turku is located in the city center, just about two blocks away from the railway station towards the Market Square, across a nice park from the Art Museum. It is a former residence, built in 1902, which was turned into a hotel in the late 1980's. This has always been what they nowadays call a boutique hotel.
The staff is very friendly and helpful indeed. I was traveling, for the first time, with Molly, my (at the time of writing) 10 month old Old English Mastiff "puppy" (55 kilos/120 pounds), and they all treated this somewhat over-enthusiastic baby with understanding and kindness.
Pricewise this is not the cheapest place to stay in Turku but with only 20 rooms, what do you expect? You do get a lot of personality and a quiet location for a city center for your money. If it were possible, I would give this hotel 4,5 stars. That half a point missing comes from the fact that it IS pretty expensive, especially for longer stays. And Turku is a wonderful city, especially during the summer. It takes a minimum three full days to see most interesting places there.
OK, somebody might say that the lobby bar has somewhat uncomfortable chairs or that the orange juice at breakfast wasn't freshly squeezed. Neither bothered me. And hey, they have Jaakko the parrot there and that makes the place very special.
Definitely another home away from home.

Room Tip: As the hotel is practically located at the end of a dead-end street, next to a park, the traffic noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jukka1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Turku is great place to visit during summer and an elegant boutique hotel like this is a perfect place to stay.
- Unique decor makes this place a refreshing stop
- City center is in walking distance
- The rooms are a bit small (except for the suite) but different furniture and park view from old windows make them cozy
- The hotel has convenient parking which was perfect us while driving through Finland

And to top it all, there's a talking parrot in the lobby. What more can you ask :)

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
3  Thank MikkoOnTheRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Spent a couple of nights here with colleagues. I enjoyed the unique decor of the room and had no issues with anything, even though the single room would be a bit small for a longer stay. Some friends had booked a larger suite, which was quite enjoyable for sharing a few drinks before going to town. The location of this hotel is a bit of a walk from the Turku center (~1 km).

The hotel also has a separate sauna building which can be booked for groups. It has easy access from the rooms and you are able to cool off in the yard, but there is no swimming pool.

If you visit, check out the hotel's parrot mascot, which is over 50 years old.

Room Tip: Try the suites
See more room tips
Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
2  Thank kfalck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

If your tired of staying in chain hotels with their identical rooms then The Park is just for you. It has a style all of its own and you are going to love it or hate it. We loved it. It is an art nouveau villa on the edge of a city centre park and is furnished loosely in the art nouveau style, with the emphasis on loosely. The rooms are individually furnished and if our was anything to go by, full of stuff. They still have, however, all the usual ammenities including underfloor heating in the bathroom. We only stayed one night so spent a lot of time marvelling at the contents but if you were there longer it might get a little oppressive. The staff were friendly and helpful and spoke English. There was a certain amount a complimentary food and drink available in the lobby area and breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dirk49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

Great little privately owned place beside the park. Close to downtown, lovely grounds and unique hotel. Resident parrot greets everyone and the owners are there to take care of your every need. Old world style for sure. Rooms are small, but each on is uniquely decorated, mostly a blend of Victorian and gothic alpine! Small elevator, but it works just fine. No restaurant, but the buffet breakfast is good...your typical Finnish offerings of smoked salmon, fresh cucumbers and sweet peppers, yogurt, hard boiled eggs, cheese, coffee and juices.

Room Tip: Each room is very different, so be sure to check out all options.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IH9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

We spent one night in this hotel, it's quite famous among people living in Turku and I wanted to see it myself. The place was a disappointment: two plug points did not work (one was actually hanging from the wall), decoration was old and not in too good condition, bathroom was from the 80ies and it was not tidy, there was no air conditioning and after taking a shower the bathroom was misty for several hours. Also breakfast was nothing special, I've had better in hostels.

The loaction is nice and the building from outside is great, but next time I'll choose some other hotel because I want value for my money and now I didn't get it. This place could be so much more if it was in a better condition, but now it's not more than a bed & breakfast. A complete renovation in tasty style would do this hotel good.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Anna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Turku hotels
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Marina Palace Hotel, Turku
0.2 mi away
Scandic Plaza Turku
Scandic Plaza Turku
#2 of 17 in Turku
391 reviews
0.4 mi away
Centro Hotel Turku
Centro Hotel Turku
#4 of 17 in Turku
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Scandic Julia
Scandic Julia
#3 of 17 in Turku
600 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cumulus Turku Hotel
Cumulus Turku Hotel
#9 of 17 in Turku
204 reviews
0.4 mi away
Original Sokos Hotel Hamburger Bors
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hotel Turku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hotel Turku

Address: Rauhankatu 1 | Turku, Turku 20100, Finland
Location: Finland > Southwest Finland > Turku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Turku
Price Range: $139 - $273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Park Hotel Turku 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Park Hotel Turku reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing