We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Little bit disappointed” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wistub Alsace

Wistub Alsace
Ranked #41 of 429 Restaurants in Tampere
Price range: $16 - $31
Cuisines: French, European, Central European, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff
Jokela, Southern Finland, Finland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Little bit disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

It was my second time in this restaurant. Service is excellent and cosy. Food is overpriced and you expect more than you get. We did not have those side dishes we ordered althought the restaurant was almost empty. Little bit old fashioned.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kirsi J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    20
    9
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Arnhem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food, small portions, overpriced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

Wistub Alsace is situated near the river. Nice relaxing atmosphere. With good wheather you can sit outside. The menu is small and offers only five choices for every course. We were obviously in the asperagus season, since every starter and every main course was prepared with asperagus one way or another. Bad luck if you don't like them...
The service was very friendly and the food very good, though the portions were quite small. Not a place to go if you're really hungry or prefer big portions. Taking the small portions into account, the price level is fairly high. A three course menu will set you back € 45,-. A bottle of wine starts at €40,-. But then again, this is not oncommon in Finland.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Vuilnisman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Overrated”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

I visited this restaurant with a group of friends to celebrate one of their birthdays. I was not involved in the communication with the restaurant during the organising of this event so cannot comment on that part of the experience, but about the dinner party itself.

The restaurant is in a nice, quiet city-centre location and feels cosy because of it's small size. There was a nice ambiance and pleasant background music playing. The staff were very attentive and our waitress in particular was very helpful and friendly.

Regarding the food, we pre-chose options from a 3-course set-menu. We had to wait quite a long time for the starters to arrive, but probably because of the number of people in our group (11). I opted for a cheese and bacon quiche for starters and it was really good; tasty and the portion size was definitely adequate. For the main course I had fried perch fish on a bed of mushy green peas. This was less than impressive. The fish lacked seasoning and the peas were also quite bland. For dessert, there was a homemade birthday cake with raspberry and chocolate mousse - delicious!

There was the option to have a glass of recommended wine to suit each course, but we just ordered a few bottles for the table instead. The wine was quite pricey but still reasonable in comparison to other restaurants I've visited in Tampere. The wine list had a very good selection of wines from the Alsace region.

All in all it was a pleasant experience but I do not think it is worth the money. The restaurant is overrated in my opinion.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Karenski3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trikala, Greece
Level Contributor
146 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Very good (almost...)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

The restaurant has a small but warm and nicely decorated room with a relaxed atmosphere. The menu is rather small with 5 choices in all (in starters and mains). We started with a fresh green salad which was refreshing with local fruit. Service was good and friendly. The real surprise however was the main dishes. I had the entrecote, which was perfectly roasted (well done, according to my prefers) with all its meaty juices and very tender and accompanied by a tasty red wine sauce. Maybe it was one of the best I have ever tried. My wife had the pork tenderloin with mustard sauce and potatoes gratinated with Munster-cheese (French cheese haters stay away from this, it smells strongly...) which was great as well. Instead of a classic dessert we chose a cheese plate which (to our BIG disappointment) contained only 4 very thin pieces of different cheeses (in the price of 8,5 euros !).
So, go for few but good dishes but do not opt for the cheese assortment...

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nicktrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
136 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Wonderful food - treat yourself”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012 via mobile

We were a bit daunted by the very well dressed crowd that this place seems to attract but we needn't have worried as we were made to feel at home. The food was excellent as was the wine. Not cheap but worth it!

Helpful?
Thank Kommensiecake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wistub Alsace also viewed

 

Been to Wistub Alsace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing