We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mixed experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Bodega Salud

Bodega Salud
Ranked #23 of 436 Restaurants in Tampere
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: European, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Kids, Families with children, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Mixed experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2014

Salud is celebrating its 40th anniversary with a special menu. I tasted "Rocky Mountain Oysters", which had a surprisingly nice taste as a protein (especially with the garlic mayonnaise). Unfortunately the sides were not that great i.e. wokked veggies that were totally overcooked and rather hard tortilla bread. The salad table, which is free with the main course, was excellent, tho. Also, there's a kids menu and the lamb dish from there was really good value for the money. The service was quick and friendly.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ville O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    85
    41
    15
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Old favorite in Tampere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2014

Great food and nice atmosphere. The salad/cheese table included with the main makes it also more affordable since it's good enough to skip starters.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Okil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Our favorite in Tampere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014

This has been our favorite place in Tampere for years. The restaurant changed its ownership earlier this year when the founder sold it to a listed restaurant operator after 40 years of successful operations. We were concerned if they will keep the original spirit and high quality.

We visited the place for the first time after the ownership change. Luckily, nothing had changed. The staff was the same and the menu was as it had been. The food and service were impeccable.

Our party was divided between horse tenderloin and sirloin steak. Horse tenderloin was served with garlic butter, garlic potatoes and roasted garlic (tip: don't order if you don't like garlic). Sirloin steak was served with very tasty (but most likely unhealthy) cognac-cream-blue cheese sauce. My daughter's steak was bit chewy, but it was replaced in a flash.

When I visited the place for the first time I asked if they were a fine-dining restaurant. They replied that they are not, but serve very good food. I think that statement describes the restaurant very well.

This is a good place for dining meat dishes in a casual atmosphere. We have never been disappointed here. Hope they can keep their quality under the new management.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kimmo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent food, good location, friendly service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014

Good location near the railway station and Stockmann.
The quality of food is consistent, and the menu is large so a good choise for business meals or if the diners want lots to choose from.
The started buffet is very good, fresh and offers variety.

I also like the athmosphere and the character of the place - local celebrities on the menu etc.

Highly recommended!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KatjaJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otalampi, Southern Finland, Finland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Pricy but good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014 via mobile

We went there because we knewsomeone else is paying the bill. Food was excellent. I tried horse, husband took beef, boy ate meatballs and girl toastburger. Some tapas at first and desserts were delicious too. Staff was friendly and atmosphere relax.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ansu75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bodega Salud also viewed

 
Tampere, Pirkanmaa
 

Been to Bodega Salud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing