We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Good value, slightly off centre location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lapland Hotel Tampere

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lapland Hotel Tampere
Ranked #7 of 25 Hotels in Tampere
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good value, slightly off centre location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

Only 10. Min walk from station but that means 20 mins walk from central shops etc. Minor complaint, however. Breakfast busy at 8am but very quiet 20 mins later. Smallish but comfortable room. Would stay again

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    109
    52
    13
    0
See reviews for
25
59
24
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Decent hotel rooms, though a bit tight for space as usual in Scandanavia. Breakast is pretty good - good selection of fruit and cereal - with a reasonable fry-up - and the standard Scandanavian fish and vegetables.
Close to town centre and train station. And has quite good restaurants close by.

Not a lot to do though - no gym. Has a sauna....only been the once.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the backside. The road is quite noisy on the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
46 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

I'd start off by staying the front desk is where a lot of people decide if they like a hotel or not, The staff treated me and my colleagues with such care and attention that I wondered can they possibly treat everyone like this? After receiving my room card and free wifi code I handed over my priority club card and it was like another level of service occurred as if that was possible, we where handed some vouchers for the mini bar (which I forgot to use) but you get the picture, we also told them we would be leaving early prior to breakfast and was told they'll have something for us which happens from time to time (bread and tea). Anyway the room was quite cozy, bed comfortable and pillow option just like a Holiday Inn is supposed to have, leaving the hotel the next morning I was shocked to see a FULL breakfast spead waiting for us..... It was 4:30am Keep it up!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WarrenTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
istanbul
Level Contributor
77 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

i stayed at the holiday inn tampere in september 2012 for a conference at the university of tampere, it turned out to be the perfect choice as it was only a few hundred meters to the university. all the main amenities for a business traveler was there, free wi-fi, business desk, comfortable room, coffee/tea facilities. dinner at the hotel was also more than satisfactory- no need to get out to look for decent food, the railway station was just behind the hotel making transportation in and out of tampere very easy. breakfast was ok. the bed had four different pillow options which was an interesting touch.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank businesstraveler036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel for one night because of a business trip. My single room in second floor faced inner yard so no street noise at all. The bed was very comfortable with different pillow options, the room had everything I needed for a decend stay. The breakfast was better than an average hotel breakfast, and the service in the reception was fast during both check-in and check-out. Some minor negative things that I noticed were a bad tv-signal in my room - basically there was no functioning tv because of the bad signal (not an issue for me because I had no time to watch tv but certainly a problem for many) and the service during evening dinner (not very warm, and also slow and the waitress made mistakes in the bill - the food was great). Without these two issues I would have given rating 5.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank flygirlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Level Contributor
104 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

To keep things in perspective, this is a business hotel and it is not fancy, but value for money, we were very comfortable here. Enjoyed having a private sauna in our (executive) room and the beds were comfortable. Breakfast buffet has nice variety and seating in the atrium is cheerful and pleasant. Staff were very friendly and responsive to all our needs. Would recommend and stay here again. Walkable from the train station.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Azadia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
65 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

To start on a positive note, staff is friendly and the Internet works well.

But even though I was upgraded to a business room as a frequent hotel chain guest, the room was gloomy and slightly depressing. Street noise and room temperature did not make for a good rest, and the beds are only so-so. Worse, there were lots of hairs stuck in the bathroom drain, and I would not want to guess where they came from - certainly not from me. The sauna is also a big disappointment.

For a place this price, the quality is not acceptable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Koalyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Lapland Hotel Tampere, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Dear Koalyboy,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a detailed review. I am pleased you mentioned our friendly staff service. However, we are very disappointed to hear about your experience on your recent stay. I am sorry you were not satisfied with the condition of your room. We just want to assure you that our Hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product. We apologize that we fell below your expectations on this particular day.

We hope you decide to give us another chance for a future stay.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampere hotels
0.2 mi away
Scandic Tampere Station
Scandic Tampere Station
#1 of 25 in Tampere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
0.1 mi away
Solo Sokos Hotel Torni Tampere
0.4 mi away
Original Sokos Hotel Ilves
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Original Sokos Hotel Villa
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Grand Hotel Tammer
0.5 mi away
Hotelli Cumulus Koskikatu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lapland Hotel Tampere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lapland Hotel Tampere

Property: Lapland Hotel Tampere
Address: Yliopistonkatu 44, Tampere 33100, Finland (Formerly Holiday Inn Tampere)
Location: Finland > Pirkanmaa > Tampere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Tampere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lapland Hotel Tampere 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lapland Hotel Tampere offers a chance to enjoy Lapland experiences in the middle of the city. Near the hotel you can find e.g. Tampere-talo, which hosts many world-class artists and congresses. The rooms have been decorated with skill and style; the interior design of our rooms is inspired by nature and stories from Lapland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Lapland Hotel Tampere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Tampere
Tampere Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing