We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Scandic Tampere Station
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Tampere
Certificate of Excellence
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
257 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Central location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

The hotel is centrally located next to the railway station, so people coming by train may find this attractive. However, the main entrance is a bit oddly situated away from the main street. One of the busiest street of Tampere (as well as the railway) is going just by the hotel, so the location isn't that pretty, though.

From outside the building is really dull, but inside you can find slightly more fanciful trim. Our room was rather small, but new and clean. Breakfast was ok (quite typical for a Finnish hotel), even though I would have liked some salmon for sandwich. Wifi was free, but I didn't try it. Tv was big enough, but I didn't try that either.

The hotel is more or less just a dull chain hotel, but it's still brand new and quite good a choice!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jellona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mikko M, Front Office Manager at Scandic Tampere Station, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Hi Jellona!

Thank you for your stay with us and your good review. I hope you can also think about good sides of being a chain hotel. We have complimentary buffet breakfast and we offer many benefits, like Scandic Friends loyalty program and free gym. We look forward to see you again!

Best Christmas wishes,
Mikko M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    315
    50
    11
    1
See reviews for
110
183
43
244
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampere
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

This is a very modern and new hotel in the middle of Tampere, near railway station. Rooms were nicely furnished and the service at the reception was very friendly and helpful. I will deninately stay here again :)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank MaLekCro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mikko M, Front Office Manager at Scandic Tampere Station, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Hi liketotravel68Fin!

It´s nice to hear you had a great stay with us and you´d like to stay again. Thank you for your visit and welcome soon again!

Merry Christmas from all of us!

Kind regards,
Mikko
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scandinavia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013

Hotels located so close to railways are rarely as peaceful as this one. In fact, if you want a good night’s sleep ask for a room directly facing the railway station as there is no night time traffic. Sound-proofing in the other wing can be a problem if your room is facing the street: you can hear the loud music from club/bar across the street to the room on 5th floor in the other wing.

Breakfast is your standard Nordic country buffet breakfast. Check-in is very efficient and staffi is friendly. The hotel is classified as environmentally friendly, being a Nordic Swan ecolabelled hotel. The sauna is available in the evening and during the weekends during the breakfast time.

The rooms are fresh-looking with nice beds. The bathroom has a bathtub (in my room there were very noisy water pipes and the finishing touches between the tub and the wall were not well done), there was already some wear and tear in the (Ikea style) furniture, but the room was comfortable with a minibar (there is a small shop downstairs as well as a large supermarket just 50 metres from the hotel), ironing equipment. The only thing missing was the kettle, but it is not standard in hotels in Finland anyway. I would definitely stay here again as the location is opposite to the railway station and very convenient to the city center.

Room Tip: the rooms facing the railway lines are the quiet ones:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NikkiNovak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mikko M, Front Office Manager at Scandic Tampere Station, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Hi NikkiNovak,

Thank you for your visit and your really kind review. I´m glad to hear you were satisfied for your stay with us. I agree with you about the hotel soundproofing, isn´t that great!

We look forward to see you again!

Best Christmas wishes,
Mikko M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pori
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

We stayed in a standard room and it was great! It was spacious and clean, and the bathroom was even quite large.The staff was extremely friendly and polite. I especially like the way the hallways are decorated. Overall, I had a great experience and I can't wait to stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Felicia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SatuG, Front Desk Duty Manager at Scandic Tampere Station, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear Felicia P,

Thank you so much for your excellent review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and found both our service and interior design to your satisfaction. I hope we can greet you welcome soon again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Level Contributor
62 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

I arrived at the hotel on a Sunday evening and very few guests were to be found anywhere. The hotel restaurant was closed on Sunday, so no warm meal was available. Very friendly staff and great breakfast, I loved the design of the rooms. The room itself was nice, however smaller than I would have expected. The bathroom was really neat and tidy. Highly recommended to all travelers.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoHel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mikko M, Front Office Manager at Scandic Tampere Station, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Hi LoHel,

Thank you for your stay with us and your great review. We´re happy to hear you liked the hotel and especially the service. On Sundays the restaraunt is closed except on summer time. But we have other Scandic hotel near by that has restaurant open for our guests as well on Sundays. Welcome again LoHel!

Kind regards,
Mikko M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viimsi, Estonia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

Very good hotel - new, modern. Friendly staff. Excellent location. Fresh and delicios breakfast.
Parking under the hotel (Y) Close to Särkanniemi so we loved it and kids loved it and definitely will recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joonekas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mikko M, Front Office Manager at Scandic Tampere Station, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Joonekas,

Thank you for your excellent review and staying with us at Scandic Tampere Station. I´m glad to hear you liked our modern style, that´s made by dSign Vertti Kivi & Co. There´s a saying that breakfast is most important meal of the day, so it´s good to hear you had time to enjoy of it with hole family. Welcome soon again!

Best regards,
Mikko M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

Spent one night at this hotel with my wife and two kids. We stayed at the superior extra room. It was very comfortable and clean with a huge bed.

We also had dinner at the hotel's restaurant. The kids menu was made by Jamie Oliver, a nice surprise. The chicken and salmon me and my wife ate was delicious. There was also a small play room for the kids which made our eating a lot easier.

Last but not least: big thanks and thumbs up for Anniina at the reception. What a nice and heartfelt welcome and exit we had thanks to her. Hotels should never forget the importance of first impression and front desk service.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antti K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mikko M, Front Office Manager at Scandic Tampere Station, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Hi Antti K!

Thank you for choosing Scandic Tampere Station and your nice review. We are happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. Great to hear also that you were satisfied for our service at the front desk. We all wish you welcome again!

Best regards,
Mikko M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampere hotels
0.4 mi away
Original Sokos Hotel Ilves
0.2 mi away
Solo Sokos Hotel Torni Tampere
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Grand Hotel Tammer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Scandic Tampere City
Scandic Tampere City
#5 of 25 in Tampere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lapland Hotel Tampere
Lapland Hotel Tampere
#8 of 25 in Tampere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
0.2 mi away
Original Sokos Hotel Villa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Tampere Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Tampere Station

Property: Scandic Tampere Station
Address: Ratapihankatu 37, Tampere 33100, Finland
Location: Finland > Pirkanmaa > Tampere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Tampere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Tampere Station 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern and trendy city hotel in the heart of Tampere with a relaxed and stylish bistro and lobby bar, Gym, sauna, Scandic Shop, the lovely summer terrace and 5 meeting rooms. We also offer a private car park with 53 spaces, as well as wireless internet throughout the whole hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Tampere Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing