We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location, rooms, staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Original Sokos Hotel Ilves
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Tampere
Certificate of Excellence
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
92 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Location, rooms, staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

Nowadays I only book this hotel when visiting Tampere. Great, central location.

Breakfast is okay. I like those omelets they make. There is also one of the best restaurants in Tampere next to reception. It´s called Masuuni. Do visit there!

Rooms are tidy and in my opinion quite spacious for solo business traveller. Staff is nice and friendly. I can warmly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirsti P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    301
    75
    9
    2
See reviews for
95
148
31
211
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
CA
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012 via mobile

Every thing about this place is good - spacious rooms, great central location, good views, good food. Only downside is the gym is very small ( but has good sauna and pool) and when I stayed there they were doing in room construction which wad noisy.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimbomania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilves_Tampere, Revenue Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Ilves, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Jimbomania,

thank you for your feedback. We value the opinion of our customers greatly.

In order to keep the hotel in good shape, we do have to do some repairs from time to time. This time it was the doors of the hotel rooms which were being replaced when you were here. Apologies for the noise, we were careful not to do anything loud during the night.

Hope to see you again in Tampere!

Best regards,
Pauliina Kuisma
Revenue Manager
Sokos Hotel Ilves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grani, Finland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

I treated myself to a night at Ilves to avoid early wake up and an early train to Tampere before my meeting. I had some prejudices as the hotel is rather big but was gladly surprised.
The reception was very effective and kind and I had my room in no time. The room (408) was extremely tidy with all necessary facilities for a standard room with a large comfortable bed.
The view was nothing to talk about as it is _very_ dark in Finland this time of the year. It was silent and not too warm. You could in principle regulate the temperature but in practice it did not work.
Breakfast was typically abundant for the Nordic countries. Check out was as effective as check in.
The price was very good for senior citizens!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matti V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

Excellent breakfast! Good location by the water. Shopping in all directions. Had dinner in Amarillo restaurant; friendly service and good food. Would choose Ilves the next time as well. Tampere is worth a longer visit than just one night.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TinasTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilves_Tampere, Revenue Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Ilves, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear TinasTrips,

thank you for your nice words. We aim to keep everybody as happy as you. Looking forward to seeing you again in Tampere!

Best regards,
Pauliina Kuisma
Revenue Manager
Sokos Hotel Ilves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muenster, Germany
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

Certainly no hotel for leisure activities but always very good choice for business trips. The city of Tampere is very close and the staff always very helpful. I am coming here for more than 10 years and never was disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GundKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oulunsalo, Finland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

Sokos hotel Ilves is one of the most legendary hotels in Tampere. The hotel is quite nice and fancy, but it has seen it's best days in the past decades. The lobby is glamorous but rooms are quite smallish, though nice and tidy. I did have some problems with pay-per-view videos but the reception helped me out with that.

Breakfast was very good and also local specialities (black sausages) were available. Overall the hotel is within good Finnish standards, with good breakfast but little oldish atmosphere.

A sauna is available for customers who wish to use it. Location is perfect in the very heart of the city of Tampere.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NikoFinland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

If you are travelling to this beautiful town, Sokos is the best option in terms of room amenities, great view of the river, accommodating staff & of course the fantastic health club. Location is just perfect (near the main shopping area)
Highly recommended

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RishabhSaxena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilves_Tampere, Revenue Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Ilves, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear RishabhSaxena,

thank you for your kind feedback. I'm happy you had the time to try our exercise room. Next time you are in Tampere, try one of our sister hotels Sokos Hotel Tammer or Sokos Hotel Villa. I'm sure you will like those as well.

Best regards,
Pauliina Kuisma
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampere hotels
0.3 mi away
Solo Sokos Hotel Torni Tampere
0.4 mi away
Scandic Tampere Station
Scandic Tampere Station
#1 of 25 in Tampere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
0.3 mi away
Original Sokos Hotel Villa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Grand Hotel Tammer
0.2 mi away
Hotelli Cumulus Koskikatu
0.4 mi away
Lapland Hotel Tampere
Lapland Hotel Tampere
#8 of 25 in Tampere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Original Sokos Hotel Ilves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Original Sokos Hotel Ilves

Property: Original Sokos Hotel Ilves
Address: Hatanpaeaen valtatie 1, Tampere 33100, Finland
Location: Finland > Pirkanmaa > Tampere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Tampere
#2 Luxury Hotel in Tampere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Original Sokos Hotel Ilves 4*
Number of rooms: 336
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This central, 19-story high hotel offers fantastic views over the city in a prominent location in the heart of town, at the back of Tammerkoski. The hotel is close to all services such as shopping center and restaurants, as well as the lively nightlife. Sokos Hotel Ilves has 3 restaurants, pub and a nightclub meaning that your palette will never get bored. Your taste buds will be pampered with Northern European delicacies, flavors from Italy, Mexico and France though you are only on a visit in Finland. The hotel has meeting facilities for 300 people and offers free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel, making it easy for you to stay in contact with important business associates as well as friends and family. To truly relax during your stay, take a dip in our pool or unwind in the sauna, the perfect tonic for a day of business meetings or sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Original Sokos Hotel Ilves reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sokos Hotel Tampere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing