We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Original Sokos Hotel Ilves
Nearby Hotels
$152
$143
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$159
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$136
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$173
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$165
$121
ScandicHotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$173
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$147
$144
ScandicHotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$129
$126
ScandicHotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$111
$98
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$164
$159
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (723)
Filter reviews
723 results
Traveler rating
223
379
100
16
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
223
379
100
16
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnice viewamarillo restaurantexcellent locationsuperior roomnice hotelroom was cleanswimming poolnice saunasame buildinglocal specialitiesshopping centreblack sausagethe upper floorsnice stayparking hallthe heart of the cityfriendly service
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
340 - 345 of 723 reviews
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Certainly no hotel for leisure activities but always very good choice for business trips. The city of Tampere is very close and the staff always very helpful. I am coming here for more than 10 years and never was disappointed.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GundKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Sokos hotel Ilves is one of the most legendary hotels in Tampere. The hotel is quite nice and fancy, but it has seen it's best days in the past decades. The lobby is glamorous but rooms are quite smallish, though nice and tidy. I did have some problems with pay-per-view videos but the reception helped me out with that.

Breakfast was very good and also local specialities (black sausages) were available. Overall the hotel is within good Finnish standards, with good breakfast but little oldish atmosphere.

A sauna is available for customers who wish to use it. Location is perfect in the very heart of the city of Tampere.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NikoFinland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

If you are travelling to this beautiful town, Sokos is the best option in terms of room amenities, great view of the river, accommodating staff & of course the fantastic health club. Location is just perfect (near the main shopping area)
Highly recommended

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RishabhSaxena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilves_Tampere, Revenue Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Ilves, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Dear RishabhSaxena,

thank you for your kind feedback. I'm happy you had the time to try our exercise room. Next time you are in Tampere, try one of our sister hotels Sokos Hotel Tammer or Sokos Hotel Villa. I'm sure you will like those as well.

Best regards,
Pauliina Kuisma
Revenue Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

It's been quite a while since I'd stayed at the Sokos Ilves hotel. I started coming here in 2001, but haven't been here in several years. The hotel has always been a very comfortable and convenient place to stay in Tampere. Recently (not sure exactly when) the hotel has done some renovations, and the property now is very nice.

What hasn't changed is the property's excellent location in town. One of the standouts of the hotel are it's views from the higher floors of the city and river that runs next door to the hotel. There are many shops (mall next door) and restaurants in the nearby area. Within the property are several dining options with different levels of quality and price. One is a Mexican themed place, Amarillo, where you will be eating your complimentary buffet breakfast. We arrive late and took our dinner meal there which was enjoyable.

The breakfast buffet has lots of choices, but the food is just average. For guests with gluten intolerance, they do have a decent selection of gluten-free items at breakfast. The hotel also has several places to take a quiet, or not so quiet drink of your choice.

Rooms are clean, modern, and very comfortable, and they have the standard amenities (minibar, small safe, iron & ironing board, etc).

Room Tip: Go for a high room with a view of the river area.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilves_Tampere, Revenue Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Ilves, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Dear Japan_Expat_07,

Very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that this wasn't your first visit in Sokos Hotel Ilves. Thank you for your feedback. Hope to see you in Tampere again!

Best regards,
Pauliina Kuisma
Revenue Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Our family enjoyed one night at sokos hotel Ilves. We arrived by car and were pleased to hear that the hotel has it´s own parking hall. The parking slots were really narrow and everyone else had to get out of car before I parked in. But the room was nice with great view over Tampere. Our 4-year old son enjoyed the bath. Breakfast was ok, but I´ve had better ones in other Sokos hotels.

Room Tip: Take room from high floor. Better view and less noise from the city.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jahuu7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews