We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An expensive hotel in old Tampere-city” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Cumulus Pinja

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cumulus Pinja
Ranked #15 of 25 Hotels in Tampere
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
120 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“An expensive hotel in old Tampere-city”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

We stayed two nights in December 2012 during our leisure trip to Tampere.

The hotel is located in an old rambling house. The hotel is advertised to be Art Nouveau style. Maybe, maybe. Some furniture are maybe ArtNouveau style, but in any case the advertising is overkilling.

Again, you can see the Hotel operator, the Restel-group, using their strategy to delay refurbishment: "Let the hotel create earnings as long it does."

The room we stayed was bit old, and it was easy to feel that it had a bright future in the past. The breakfast was typical Cumulus breakfast, with a local speciality - black sausage. In addition we have to stay that the cheeses were cut already on earlier night, like tomatos. They were dry. Like the rolls. Not prepared in the morning.

We would not had booked this hotel with their list price, it is that expensive. But we had a special price and decided to use it. Next time we will use some other hotel in Tampere, like Cumulus Rautatientori, which was opened last summer.

The staff saved what could be saved. They were really friendly and allowed us to use the sauna shortly after the official sauna hours. Very kind !

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveller007Finland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    6
    14
    4
    1
See reviews for
2
7
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

The superior room is a joke. Greasy (strong) smell, dirty floors, dust everywhere, dated (partly broken) furniture, fungus in the empty minibar, blood on the balcony door. We payed for the 5th floor Superior room with balcony and we couldn't enjoy it at all.
This is a cute Art Nouveau building raped into a cheap motel. Totally tasteless. Only ok, if you need a hostel.
Be warned, it's really dirty.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pasikasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hote-Cumulus-TAMPERE, Front Office Manager at Cumulus Pinja, responded to this review, July 25, 2015
Thank you for your valuable feedback.We make remark for things that has to improve for more comfortable stay at our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tampere hotels

Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

I booked Cumulus Pinja after reading a few reviews online. I felt like going to another hotel - nothing to do with the "art noveau" mentioned about the hotel. It is a fake - you don't see too many art noveau objects / furniture / architecture around there. There is some wallpaper and small details you can find. That's all about it.

First they had several mistakes with our booking request. Then we got a superior room with twin beds and an extra bed, instead of superior room with a double bed as requested. Luckily they made the only right decision to upgrade us to a suite.

The suite was quite dirty, old fashioned, no air condition etc. We had to place a complaint for what we got. There was dust and dirt in many places, including bathroom.

In the evening we came back to the hotel and wanted to have some snacks and wine. All they had was Finnish "long drink" (please see Wikipedia or any other source in order to read about the honorable history of this drink generated for the Finnish Olympics in 1952!) and beer. A terrible mix with the snacks they had available - Pringles and hot dogs.

The staff was friendly, professional, and did their best to make our stay as comfortable as possible. Finally we got a bottle of sparkling, which made our day. However, I wouldn't come here again.

Room Tip: Please choose a suite or go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EFHK123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Petersburg, Saint Petersburg City, Russia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

Very good and friendly service. Rooms not new but in good condition. Good location: close to Railway station (about 10 min on foot) and main places of interest. Checkin begins with 14.00, but came to the hotel around 12 we got the keys. There is possibility to leave luggage in the hotel after checkout.
Most of the rooms with twin beds, to get double bed should be very lucky.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sh4KeSPe4R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

Location is good, walking distance to town centre. We were there for a friend's wedding at the cathedral right next door so this was the best hotel for that occasion. The reception was friendly with good English spoken and breakfast was great with a selection of hot food etc.
It was good value and the room was very clean and functional. When we moved the bed together (all the rooms we had were 2 single beds), they had cleaned under the bed as well which was great.
It's a good functional hotel which is reflected in the price.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TobyInTransit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2010

In March we stayed in this hotel for one night as we found a good deal (60e/room/night). For that price my expectations weren't high and I would say that the room was OK. It had what we needed (bed, toilet+shower, tv). The beds in our room were two separate ones and we moved those together and found out that the cleaning had not been very thorough. Breakfast was included and very good. There was a computer in the lobby for free use so it was convenient to check timetables etc from web. There is just a very short walking distance to main restaurants, cinema and bars.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hepu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porvoo
Level Contributor
77 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2009

I decided to change the hotel in my annual visit to Tampere to see my father's cousins. I have stayed this far in Scandic by the railway station but decided to check something new. Cumulus Hotel Pinja is also a chain hotel, an average three star house yoiu can find everywhere in Finland.

I stayed in a superior room that is in the annex, not in the old part of the building. The room was spacious but missed any charm you would expect from a hotel with a art deco past. The lobby is small and lacks also the art deco atmosphare.

The location is good, the service friendly and the breakfast ok.

But as put in the title, somehow very, very boring. It could be anywhere, it could have been built anytime, and it could be a member of any Finnish hotel chain. Bity!

By the way, the telephone rates are extremly high. It is 80 cents a unit. I had left my mobile home, and tried to reach my wife. I dialed here mobile number at the room phone, but couldn't reach her: The number was not in use. When I finally got a normal signal, it went to another phone. Then I had to contact the directory enquiries, first to check the number, and finally to connect to my wife's mobile. The first call to the directory enquieries lasted 54 seconds, and cost 28 euros!!! A bit unreasonable and unjust. I had a friendly talk with the hotel manager this morning, but with no special results.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JAJORI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampere hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Tampere - Central Station
0.3 mi away
Scandic Tampere Station
Scandic Tampere Station
#1 of 25 in Tampere
4.5 of 5 stars 555 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotelli Cumulus Koskikatu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Original Sokos Hotel Ilves
0.4 mi away
Solo Sokos Hotel Torni Tampere
0.4 mi away
Original Sokos Hotel Villa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cumulus Pinja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cumulus Pinja

Property: Cumulus Pinja
Address: Satakunnankatu 10, Tampere 33100, Finland
Location: Finland > Pirkanmaa > Tampere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 25 Hotels in Tampere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cumulus Pinja 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small, pleasant city hotel in the Art Nouveau style with popular restaurant; near bus & railway stations; 15 km to TMP airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com and Hotwire so you can book your Cumulus Pinja reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cumulus Pinja Tampere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing