We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotelroom poor, while conference service top class!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Scandic Tampere City
Ranked #8 of 26 Hotels in Tampere
Reviewed December 22, 2012

Stayed at Tampere City due a business trip. The conference was at this hotel so therefore they had arranged the accomodation also at this hotel. I was excited to see if I was given a non-smoking or smoking room this time. I don't know what murphy's law there is with this hotel and me... but I was given a room for smokers also this time. It was said to be the only one left (1 pm), so there was nothing to do, even if a non-smoking room had been confirmed at booking. The room was ok, but smelled a bit and the corridor outside was smelling a lot!! The sink in the bathroom was leaking (the "pipe" beneath the sink), so you did get wet socks/feet when you washed your hands/face. Breakfast was good. The conference service was the total opposite!! I have never visited a conferense with that good snacks, beverages and goodies! And the male host in charge of the snack/beverage buffet was really doing a good job! Really service-minded and cheerful. So if the lodging also would be ok, then this hotel would be unbeatable for business meetings or conferences in Tampere.

Room Tip: I'd ask for a room with streetview (not to the inside restaurant) and a non-smoking room ;-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maritaFinland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (693)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

266 - 272 of 693 reviews

Reviewed December 21, 2012

Scandic City hotel Tampere is very central in town and easy access to all areas of town. very large hotel with manny rooms. warm welcome and good info by reception staff. Had a room on the 4 floor, long walk from elevator to room, several levels on the 4 floor, but apart from step also posibel for disabeld to get arround. Room VERY small, clean but a bit old. Bathroom very smal and also some what old. Did have a good nigth sleep whithout any noice problems or what so ever. Were looking forward to the breakfast, but very disapointed, restauarnt is like a open square with a roof, it was cold and did smell from the pizza and steakhouse restaurant which do use the same facilities in the evening. The quality of the food was low and i would rated it like a cafeteria in the low end, did for sure not enjoy the breakfast. Checkin out was fast and friendly.
Will look for an other hotel next time in Tampere.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Danes55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

First of all, the reception staff was friendly. The hotel itself felt like a mixture of old and new. Lobby seems fine but our room was really old and worn. TV was so small that you couldn't see it from the bed. And old too, it actually looked kind of funny. There was only one small pillow on each bed, and none extra in the closets. Bathroom was large, but very plain. Breakfast was good, we enjoyed it. We recommend you choose Scandic Station instead, even if this one is better located.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JIL7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

As always, the Scandics are clean and reception staff is freindly and helpful. The workout area is small, but there was no one there excet, me, so was fine. The hotel is central to shopping and the rail station and parking under the hotel was easy and reasonably priced. There are several nice restuarants nearby, as well as the one in the hotel. You can really never go wrong with Scandic. Even if you stay for one night, once in your life, join the Scandic club because you get immediate benefits.

Room Tip: There was no view side of the hotel and all rooms appeared the same. join the Scandic club and you m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jake D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

No complains at all really, reception staff was very helpful and friendly, good breakfast, nice clean room, free WiFi in the rooms no problems here as well.
Great situation of the hotel, right in the city centre, basically everything in a walking distance.
Maybe a bit pricey, but we booked just a few days before the trip, it's of course better to book as early as possible to get best prices.
Nonetheless I totally recommend it!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarMar649
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

Typically for a Scandic hotel, it's well located and has a clean and elegant style with well appointed rooms and free good wifi throughout the building, a good breakfast (Scandic standard) and good prices for a business hotel. Not forgetting the sauna!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RoamingRowly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

This hotel is in front of the railway station (but quiet and peaceful), in the city center, location is really convenient. The people at reception are nice and helpful.
Rooms are not large, but standard size, with comfortable beds, very clean.
Restaurant offers very good food for dinner for reasonable price, and breakfast buffet is huge, with fresh good food.
Parking places are available near the hotel.
Room prices are normal prices for Finland (approx 100 euros per night, depending on the season).

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maincene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampere hotels
0.1 mi away
Scandic Tampere Station
Scandic Tampere Station
#1 of 26 in Tampere
843 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lapland Hotel Tampere
Lapland Hotel Tampere
#7 of 26 in Tampere
173 reviews
0.1 mi away
Solo Sokos Hotel Torni Tampere
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Grand Hotel Tammer
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Tampere - Central Station
0.2 mi away
Hotelli Cumulus Koskikatu
Hotelli Cumulus Koskikatu
#10 of 26 in Tampere
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Tampere City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Tampere City

Address: Haemeenkatu 1, Tampere 33100, Finland
Location: Finland > Pirkanmaa > Tampere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Tampere
Price Range: $140 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Tampere City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 263
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Scandic Hotels, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Scandic Tampere City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Hotel Tampere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing