We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back to 80’s - Ok to stay”
Review of Scandic Rosendahl

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Scandic Rosendahl
Ranked #7 of 25 Hotels in Tampere
Certificate of Excellence
Vantaa, Finland
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Back to 80’s – Ok to stay”
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Hotel is located a walking distance from city center in a beautiful park area, close to lake shore. At late autumn isn’t a best time to visit, but on summer or spring time surroundings would be a lot better. On summer visitors there is a small beach and tennis court nearby.

Service at front desk was efficient and fast, basic good service: something that you would expect but nothing special.

Room and other areas reminded me of the 80’s, colors like light green, -pink, marble. Furniture had a combined stone, wood and angular shape. They could do some refreshing “make over” to make it more Scandinavian look. Room was clean and good sized, bed was comfortable.

Breakfast was a big disappointment. There was a good selection cold and hot food, but sausages were cold, bacon was raw or overcooked, cheeses was dry, cold cut’s was soaked in water, lots of bread’s end pieces on cutting board. Breakfast room was big and plenty of space to choose from, and breakfast was included in room price.

I travelled alone and stayed in room that was for one person.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timo-J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    192
    96
    37
    2
See reviews for
152
110
20
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
281 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2011

Spent 5 days here recently and really enjoyed my stay, hotel is situated just outside of Tampere in beautiful woodlands near the lake. If the weather is nice it is worth walking the short distance into Tampere along the lakeside. If not there is a regular bus service that you can catch just outside the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RnA31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2011

Hotel is located at Pyynikki which I bet is a very nice location in summer. We visited in october so it was a bit dark and wet. But still we had an affordable good night sleep in this clean, confortable hotel. The hotel stuff was friendly and professional.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JK_Finland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2011

This was a nicely appointed hotel. I stayed in a room that was mostly average, though the view of the lake was very nice. It is a bit of a walk if you want to be in the city center, but close enough if you want to make a little effort, and the path through the forest is also nice. They have the requisite sauna, and there is also a pool for exercise. The breakfast was decent. I ate at the restaurant one evening, and it seemed overpriced for the food i got.

Room Tip: ask for a room facing the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johndoe-ta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaunas, Lithuania
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2011

it is really scandinavian hotel, but nice view from the rooms, clean and calm. But windows can not be opened because of security. this makes feeling like in prison.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baambuchiaaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solana Beach, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We found this hotel via an internet search. It is about a mile and a half from the center of town but is not out of the way.

Very friendly front desk staff, very clean rooms, the hotel appears very modern but the rooms are a bit dated. Outstanding indoor pool and sauna. Very nice breakfast included with the room rate.

Taxi Cabs in Finland are VERY expensive. There is a bus stop just about 40 yards outside the front door that is very efficient and easy to use to get to the train station or airport.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brad B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lulea, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2011

I stayed in Scandic Rosendahl with my family for a night. Room is large enough to fit in two extra beds without being too cramped. With Scandic you always know what you get and Rosendahl is no exception. Facilities are good, breakfast is good and short waiting at reception. Rosendahl is better than an average Scandic when it comes to the large parking areas close to hotel and own tennis courts. Even though the distance to city centre is not that far it really feels that you are in the country side when you arrive at Rosendahl. Hotel is located on the beach of the large lake and surrounded by forest. No other buildings around. This location makes it less convenient to take a walk in the city centre or just go out and eat others than hotel food.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JojjeIpoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampere hotels
1.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Grand Hotel Tammer
1.5 mi away
Scandic Tampere Station
Scandic Tampere Station
#1 of 25 in Tampere
709 reviews
1.2 mi away
Original Sokos Hotel Ilves
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Solo Sokos Hotel Torni Tampere
1.4 mi away
Scandic Tampere City
Scandic Tampere City
#6 of 25 in Tampere
565 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotelli Cumulus Koskikatu
Hotelli Cumulus Koskikatu
#10 of 25 in Tampere
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Rosendahl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Rosendahl

Property: Scandic Rosendahl
Address: Pyynikintie 13, Tampere 33230, Finland
Location: Finland > Pirkanmaa > Tampere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 25 Hotels in Tampere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Rosendahl 3.5*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This meeting and congress hotel is located next to the beautiful lake Pyynikki, just a 10-minute drive from the centre of Tampere. City sights, such as the Särkänniemi amusement park and Tampere art museum are just a short drive away from our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Rosendahl reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Rosendahl Tampere
Scandic Rosendahl Hotel Tampere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing