We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Kylmapihlaja Lighthouse
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kylmapihlaja Lighthouse
Ranked #1 of 4 Rauma B&B and Inns
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed June 29, 2014

Excellent experience that you wont see anywhere else. Sunset from the lighthouse etc.
Peacefull and romantic place for couples.
Very easy to go by meribussi from Poroholma, rauma...
Remember to try sauna and palju.
Lots of birds.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kalle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    5
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
13
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Watching the sunset on this island with the soundtrack of soothing waves crashing against the shores of this rocky island near Rauma was such a beautiful experience. The rooms were simple and cozy, (bathrooms are shared, showers on every other floor) and the food at the restaurant delicious. It's the perfect place to getaway with friends or your partner and just immerse yourself in Finland's quiet natural beauty.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelFotog77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
78 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

If you are looking for a party island with hangouts, this is NOT your place.
If you are looking for quiet, peace of mind surrounded by 100% nature you have come to the right place. You can stroll on the cliffs and find a secluded corner, spread out your towel, open your book and just listen to the quiet and the seabirds that between May and July occupy half of the island. The island seems to be a haven for ornitologists due to the island's extensive bird life with i believe 20 different species.
Many come with their own boats and stay for everything between a night and a week. Most of them come for sure for the safe harbour but most of all for the Chef on the island. His food and home made breads, extensive wine list and cognacs are something that will keep you wanting to stay another night. We have been there on several occasions and have always been met very well and have enjoyed some of the best meals I have ever eaten. A bit of googling revealed that the Chef has been nominated Executive Chef of the year in Finlanda nd has been participating in the Bocuse d'Or competitions as a teamleader several times.
I have had fish of all kinds and their slowly cooked lamb that leaves no wishes open.

The rooms are small and very simple and are all inside the Light Tower, but the feeling of seeing the sunset from your window or waking up with the oceanview that all rooms offer, easily compensate for the rooms simple structure.
You can also use one of the barbacues on the island, book the sauna or the hot tub and simply enjoy life.
Unfortunately I have heard that the owner will leave the island for new challenges in 2014 but I hope I can enjoy one more meal before he leaves. I will keep you posted where he locates next.

Room Tip: If you want a 360 view, ask if the top room is available. It cost a bit more but we stayed there on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We were driving our hire car from Helsinki airport and the Poroholma Camping Area did not show up on our Tom Tom but friendly locals helped us out. The ferry for the Island leaves from this camping ground. You buy your ticket from the icecream kiosk. If you have time there is a lovely cafe/bar that you can enjoy a coffee or a beer while you wait. The girl in the kiosk was a bit vague about where the Ferry docked. There is a boat harbour right in front of the kiosk but the Ferry actually moors further round the point so keep an eye out for it. The Lighthouse is 10 kilometres out in the Bothnian Sea and the trip out through the Islands was beautiful and took about 50 minutes. It stops on Kuuskajaskari Island on the way to let passengers off. During July the ferry leaves at 10am, 1pm and 4.30pm and the cost is 20 euros return. I had trouble booking the ferry tickets on the internet because the form was in Finnish but I contacted the hotel and they kindly booked them on our behalf before we left Australia. The lighthouse has 8 floors and only stairs. The walk from the dock to the lighthouse is a fair distance over grass and gravel which was difficult for us because we had large suitcases and didn't want to leave them in our car back at the camping ground overnight. If you can travel light it would be easier. Our room was on 7th floor it had a window facing our to sea. We paid $213.00 aud for one night. The room whilst not large was big enough for the two of us without falling over each other. There was a half bottle of champagne in the room on arrival as well as robes and slippers. There are no ensuites so all showers and toilets are shared with 3-4 other rooms. We didn't have any problem with access to these. There were lot's of sea birds and the sound is very relaxing. There are plenty of places where you can swim and watch the sunset. The Island is quite small so you can walk around it in 20 mins. There is also a small cafe open on the island during the day. There is an outdoor hot tub which is woodfired but was not in use when we were there. There was a sauna with different times for men and women or you could book a private sauna for couples. We were the only English speaking guests which is how we like it and clearly English speaking guests are not too common as the menu was only in Finnish. The restaurant served delicious local dishes and although the menu was in Finnish our waitress gave us an excellent, detailed translation in English. Can't recommend the whole experience highly enough.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on one of the lower floors if you have difficulty with carrying your bags up stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TnTOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuusula, Finland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Okay, I admit, weather was perfect for the day trip to this wonderful lighthouse island: sun was shining, +25 celcius, and the sea was almost totally calm... But anyhow this island is a perfect get away from the busy life. You just watch and listen the birds "hunting and socialising" and admire the amazing and naked nature around you. - The only minus is that we could not stay the night at this time, but I really hope some day I can come back and do that.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
Helpful?
Thank Mla65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
78 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

It's relatively far from the mainland and has quite little to do, so it suits perfect with the "spend some time together with wife" kind of occasions! We stayed for one night in the suite that is on the topmost floor. The room had windows in all directions which makes it a perfect spot to just admire the views. There is also a terrace on the next floor from the suite. We were lucky enough to have some activities there on our stay: we got to try the rope landing from the light house! This was my gift to my wife, an experience I think she's not that easily forgetting. ;) The restaurant is rather small so make the reservation well beforehand your stay if possible. There is a possibility to use the hot tube outside as well on separate payment.

Room Tip: The topmost floor has the suite, and you definitely should pay the extra for that!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jiimies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rauma, Finland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

I did not spend the night at the hotel or eat at the restaurant - I took lunch with me and made a day excursion to the lighthouse island. The boat trip there and back is about 15€. You get to stay for hours at the island: walk around, photograph, climb to the tower, wonder at the sea and of course eat your lunch outside sitting on a rock and watching the waves hit the rocks. It can't get much better.

The boat service starts in the beginning of June and continues for a few months.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Location
Helpful?
1 Thank CaraC_980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rauma hotels
0.0 mi away
Best Western Hotel Kalliohovi
0.0 mi away
Hotelli City Hovi
Hotelli City Hovi
#5 of 6 in Rauma
27 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotelli Vanha Rauma
Hotelli Vanha Rauma
#2 of 6 in Rauma
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Best Western Hotel Raumanlinna
0.0 mi away
Cumulus Rauma
Cumulus Rauma
#6 of 6 in Rauma
40 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Hotelli Kuntosumppu
#3 of 6 in Rauma
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kylmapihlaja Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kylmapihlaja Lighthouse

Property: Kylmapihlaja Lighthouse
Address: Kylmaepihlaja 60 | PO Box 240, Rauma 26100, Finland
Location: Finland > Satakunta > Rauma
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Rauma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kylmapihlaja Lighthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Kylmapihlaja Lighthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing