We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Mr”

Review of Llandrinio Hall

Llandrinio Hall - the oldest extant brick-built property in Montgomeryshire (1682)
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Llandrinio Hall - the oldest extant brick-built property in Montgomeryshire (1682)
Middle Lounge, a very relaxing environment, with sound system, piano and log-burning fire Middle lounge looking east, warm, spacious and comfortable, with antique Steinway baby grand piano
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
Llandrinio Hall - the oldest extant brick-built property in Montgomeryshire (1682)
Middle Lounge, a very relaxing environment, with sound system, piano and log-burning fire
Middle lounge looking east, warm, spacious and comfortable, with antique Steinway baby grand piano
Cinema Room, with Bose surround sound and 300+ DVDs/Blu-ray (your host is a movie producer)
Billiard Room, with antique, full-size Snooker Table, dating from 1907, and open fireplace.
South-facing light, airy kitchen is the heart of the home and seats 12, or 16 with table extension.
Kitchen table seats 12 comfortably, but looks smaller in picture, oddly! Extension can be added.
The kitchen offers plenty of Food Preparation Space and every conceivable modern convenience
Bedroom, one of 8 (6x doubles and 2x twins)
Master Bedroom with Emperor-sized (7'x7') four-poster.
Bedroom, one of 8 (6x doubles and 2x twins)
Bedroom, one of 8 (6x doubles and 2x twins)
Bedroom, one of 8 (6x doubles and 2x twins)
Bedroom, one of 8 (6x doubles and 2x twins)
Bathroom No 1, with bath and overhead shower
Walk-In Power Shower Room/Wet Room (a great way to wake up!)
East Staircase, dating from 1682, the Hall having been owned by Prime Minister Robert Peel's family.
Table Tennis In The Conservatory, or outside (all-weather surface)
Long Tree-Lined Driveway - In Summer
Long Tree-Lined Driveway in Winter
Llandrinio Hall - formal garden rear elevation
Rear Garden and view to Breidden Hills
Rear Garden, in Winter, looking south
Giant outdoor chess, within secluded 'walled' garden.
Aerial View of the Hall
Your Hosts, the Willis Family, who now live in Bath, as featured in The Sunday Telegraph
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Manor House -
8 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Llandrinio, Powys, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
309scottt
Biggleswade, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Mr”
Reviewed December 11, 2018 for a stay in December 2018

A truly beautiful home, we (family of 16)stayed here for the weekend for our yearly Christmas family gathering and certainly were not let down.
They had put up a lovely Christmas tree and decorations as requested. And the house was simply spot on. From the snooker room to the fully equipped kitchen to the kids play room for the grandchildren.
There was absolutely nothing we needed that wasn’t there.
We all sat round the kitchen preparing a full on Christmas dinner and and there was abundance of everything you could ever want to cook with.
The house has a lovely warm and cosy feel. The comfy tv room & the beautiful main room at the entrance with the Christmas tree and the fire crackling away was straight out of the story books.
The bedrooms are all a great size & the beds & duvets were all nice and comfy.
Plenty of towels and plenty of bathrooms for all and a great shower in the wet room.
The garden is beautifully maintained with a big chess board and trampoline to keep the kids amused if you get the weather.
The drive up to the house is just the icing on the cake..
Just beautiful... go there and enjoy....
Really only downside is having to leave....?

Date of stay: December 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beatlesto...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great memories”
Reviewed June 27, 2018 for a stay in June 2018

A wonderful experience in a beautiful stately home/chateau everything you could ask for and more. It was a surprise for my wife's 60th and she loved it Warm Regards john

Date of stay: June 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerard Y
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great place for group get-together”
Reviewed June 11, 2018 for a stay in June 2018

Ideal location for groups of 10-16 to spend time together. We had space to gather in small groups (snooker room, kitchen, lounge, tv room, garden & yet also dine together. Only issue may be number of bathrooms (3) for some but clearly indicated to us prior to visiting.
Lots of bits and pieces to use in kitchen and good sized refrigerator for group gathering. Service station nearby if short of staples.
Many thanks - recommend

Date of stay: June 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thistlewo...
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best "Hen" Weekend”
Reviewed April 15, 2018 for a stay in February 2018

The building creates a wonderful first impression, on our weekend the snowdrops welcomed us along the driveway.
Excellent accommodation for our "hen" group and would make a wonderful family base.
Beautiful rooms, lots of space well equipped kitchen - lots of space for "get together" breakfasts or night time feasts.
Excellent gardens, wonderful area for kids with quieter areas for adults if required - there was a tree house but when we visited (in the winter) it was out of bounds fir repairs.
Lovely bed linen and towels, comfortable beds an excellent huge walk in wet room that a family could shower in together.
A welcoming, beautiful interesting house.

Date of stay: February 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alisonobr...
Heswall, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fantastic property perfect for any celebration ”
Reviewed October 1, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

We hired the hall for my 50th birthday weekend. We were met by the housekeeper sue who was friendly & with a wealth of local knowledge.
The house is homely, well equipped, an a fantastic space for a large group of people.
You should be aware there are no ensuite bedrooms. Which may put some people off renting the hall, but the compromise is worth it. There are 3 bathrooms for 8 bedrooms.
The living space & conservatory dining area work brilliantly with direct access to a child friendly garden. The garden is stunning from every room.
We will defiantly be returning for a second time.
Well done to Jonathan & polly & your team keep up the good work.

Date of stay: October 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erinandad...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best place ever!!!”
Reviewed January 6, 2017 for a stay in January 2017
3
people found this review helpful

I am writing this review as I'm curled up in the fantastic cinema room! Jonathan the owner made this booking so easy and was brilliant and quick at responding. The pictures don't do this house justice!! It just goes on forever and we don't won't to leave. There are 10 adults and 5 children ranging from 2 to 16 and there really is something for everyone. We are already planning our next trip! Thank you Jonathan for your incredible generosity and wonderful home!

Date of stay: January 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMandDRP
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful stately home for large family group”
Reviewed May 11, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We have just spent 3 nights in this marvellous home where we were immediately made very welcome by Sue and her husband. We were celebrating a big birthday with an extended family group which was made up of 12 adults and one 6 week baby. The house is amazingly suitable for children as there is so much on offer for them. However the adults did their best to enjoy the trampoline, pogo stick, tree house and other toys whilst also loving the snooker table, ping pong table and grand piano!
We used the cinema room to watch a very important football match on the Thursday evening but after that the weather was so lovely for us we spent most of our time in the garden. Friday was an organised day at Chester races and on Saturday we split the family and visited Ludlow and Llangollen. (Both within easy driving distance)
Saturday night was our big celebration meal cooked and served by Ruth (a wonderful caterer recommended by the owner). After a fantastic meal we retired to the amazing entrance lounge and sang around the grand piano (Good job the house is away from neighbours although not sure how the baby managed!!)
After a big clear up on Sunday morning and many boxes of recycling, we departed our various ways, tired but happy after a fantastic weekend. We would love to return to the house for another celebration (hopefully more grandchildren by then!) and would thoroughly recommend it to big groups.

Date of stay: May 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The grand piano
Liked least: Not enough bathroom facilities
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing