We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great place for group get-together”

Review of Llandrinio Hall

Llandrinio Hall - the oldest extant brick-built property in Montgomeryshire (1682)
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Llandrinio Hall - the oldest extant brick-built property in Montgomeryshire (1682)
Middle Lounge, a very relaxing environment, with sound system, piano and log-burning fire Middle lounge looking east, warm, spacious and comfortable, with antique Steinway baby grand piano
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
Llandrinio Hall - the oldest extant brick-built property in Montgomeryshire (1682)
Middle Lounge, a very relaxing environment, with sound system, piano and log-burning fire
Middle lounge looking east, warm, spacious and comfortable, with antique Steinway baby grand piano
Cinema Room, with Bose surround sound and 300+ DVDs/Blu-ray (your host is a movie producer)
Billiard Room, with antique, full-size Snooker Table, dating from 1907, and open fireplace.
South-facing light, airy kitchen is the heart of the home and seats 12, or 16 with table extension.
Kitchen table seats 12 comfortably, but looks smaller in picture, oddly! Extension can be added.
The kitchen offers plenty of Food Preparation Space and every conceivable modern convenience
Bedroom, one of 8 (6x doubles and 2x twins)
Master Bedroom with Emperor-sized (7'x7') four-poster.
Bedroom, one of 8 (6x doubles and 2x twins)
Bedroom, one of 8 (6x doubles and 2x twins)
Bedroom, one of 8 (6x doubles and 2x twins)
Bedroom, one of 8 (6x doubles and 2x twins)
Bathroom No 1, with bath and overhead shower
Walk-In Power Shower Room/Wet Room (a great way to wake up!)
East Staircase, dating from 1682, the Hall having been owned by Prime Minister Robert Peel's family.
Table Tennis In The Conservatory, or outside (all-weather surface)
Long Tree-Lined Driveway - In Summer
Long Tree-Lined Driveway in Winter
Llandrinio Hall - formal garden rear elevation
Rear Garden and view to Breidden Hills
Rear Garden, in Winter, looking south
Giant outdoor chess, within secluded 'walled' garden.
Aerial View of the Hall
Your Hosts, the Willis Family, who now live in Bath, as featured in The Sunday Telegraph
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Manor House -
8 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Llandrinio, Powys, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Gerard Y
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great place for group get-together”
Reviewed 1 week ago for a stay in June 2018

Ideal location for groups of 10-16 to spend time together. We had space to gather in small groups (snooker room, kitchen, lounge, tv room, garden & yet also dine together. Only issue may be number of bathrooms (3) for some but clearly indicated to us prior to visiting.
Lots of bits and pieces to use in kitchen and good sized refrigerator for group gathering. Service station nearby if short of staples.
Many thanks - recommend

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thistlewo...
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best "Hen" Weekend”
Reviewed April 15, 2018 for a stay in February 2018

The building creates a wonderful first impression, on our weekend the snowdrops welcomed us along the driveway.
Excellent accommodation for our "hen" group and would make a wonderful family base.
Beautiful rooms, lots of space well equipped kitchen - lots of space for "get together" breakfasts or night time feasts.
Excellent gardens, wonderful area for kids with quieter areas for adults if required - there was a tree house but when we visited (in the winter) it was out of bounds fir repairs.
Lovely bed linen and towels, comfortable beds an excellent huge walk in wet room that a family could shower in together.
A welcoming, beautiful interesting house.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alisonobr...
Cheshire Uk
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fantastic property perfect for any celebration ”
Reviewed October 1, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

We hired the hall for my 50th birthday weekend. We were met by the housekeeper sue who was friendly & with a wealth of local knowledge.
The house is homely, well equipped, an a fantastic space for a large group of people.
You should be aware there are no ensuite bedrooms. Which may put some people off renting the hall, but the compromise is worth it. There are 3 bathrooms for 8 bedrooms.
The living space & conservatory dining area work brilliantly with direct access to a child friendly garden. The garden is stunning from every room.
We will defiantly be returning for a second time.
Well done to Jonathan & polly & your team keep up the good work.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erinandad...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best place ever!!!”
Reviewed January 6, 2017 for a stay in January 2017
3
people found this review helpful

I am writing this review as I'm curled up in the fantastic cinema room! Jonathan the owner made this booking so easy and was brilliant and quick at responding. The pictures don't do this house justice!! It just goes on forever and we don't won't to leave. There are 10 adults and 5 children ranging from 2 to 16 and there really is something for everyone. We are already planning our next trip! Thank you Jonathan for your incredible generosity and wonderful home!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMandDRP
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful stately home for large family group”
Reviewed May 11, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We have just spent 3 nights in this marvellous home where we were immediately made very welcome by Sue and her husband. We were celebrating a big birthday with an extended family group which was made up of 12 adults and one 6 week baby. The house is amazingly suitable for children as there is so much on offer for them. However the adults did their best to enjoy the trampoline, pogo stick, tree house and other toys whilst also loving the snooker table, ping pong table and grand piano!
We used the cinema room to watch a very important football match on the Thursday evening but after that the weather was so lovely for us we spent most of our time in the garden. Friday was an organised day at Chester races and on Saturday we split the family and visited Ludlow and Llangollen. (Both within easy driving distance)
Saturday night was our big celebration meal cooked and served by Ruth (a wonderful caterer recommended by the owner). After a fantastic meal we retired to the amazing entrance lounge and sang around the grand piano (Good job the house is away from neighbours although not sure how the baby managed!!)
After a big clear up on Sunday morning and many boxes of recycling, we departed our various ways, tired but happy after a fantastic weekend. We would love to return to the house for another celebration (hopefully more grandchildren by then!) and would thoroughly recommend it to big groups.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The grand piano
Liked least: Not enough bathroom facilities
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amie3048
shropshire
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Absolutely amazing! Can't wait to return!”
Reviewed January 15, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

We had the most amazing time at Llandrinio Hall, from our arrival after being met by Sue and her husband to our departure we just spent our entire time laughing together!

As I was the one to organise the weekends’ events I was slightly apprehensive and just hoped that everything lived up to my expectations, however to say I wasn’t disappointed in any way is an understatement!
What a house, we instantly felt very much at home and were delighted to read that the Bickley family ran it as a guest house in the 1930’s, perhaps this was the reason we felt so comfortable, we’d been there before!
14 of us stayed on the Friday night and we enjoyed playing ‘parlour’ games in the living room in front of a roaring fire whilst the children entertained themselves with snooker and table tennis.
On Saturday morning we played in the garden between rain showers and on Saturday afternoon we were joined by several of Mum and Dads closest friends for my Mums’ 70th and a glamorous afternoon tea turned into a bit of a party! My Dad is a jazz musician so the piano was played and we had balloons, singing, dancing and even a cardboard cutout of David Beckham joined in the fun! (On the attached photos Mum is pictured on his right, I am the singer in the middle of the 3 of us with the microphone)!
Everyone was blown away by the venue and how welcoming it was for such a large house. The 2 other friends that stayed over on the Saturday evening also enjoyed their room.

The kitchen was very well equipped, the downstairs rooms all very comfortable, the choice of games and things to do was extensive, the bedrooms large but warm, the bathrooms were great and don’t get me started on the shower! We all loved the interlinked sound system and although I was accused of being the noisiest shower taker due to my rendition of a Beatles classic I could have stayed in there for the entire back catalogue!

We have stayed in many holiday properties but this has to be one of my favourites due to the ‘home from home’ feel it has to it. I could go on with the praise but just be assured that we would love to rebook this or one of your other properties in the future.
You have been great to deal with, so helpful and friendly and Sue and her husband were both very nice too.

Many thanks for giving us the opportunity to stay in your wonderful home and I look forward to receiving the details about the Welsh riverside retreat.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The homley feel to the house
Liked least: Leaving!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice Break In a Lovely Place”
Reviewed November 16, 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Just got back from a lovely weekend away for my mates 40th birthday, there was 12 adults sharing the Llandrinio Hall. I was there for 2 nights from Friday-Sunday. The hall does have a big wet room but when we was there it wasnt working due to the batteries in the hand set in the wet room not being charged, if you take the batteries out and re-charge them using the re-charger you can find in the kitchen by the fridge. We went for a lovely meal on the Saturday to the punch bowl which is less than 5 min walk to the left of the hall, the food was great and very cheap as you can get a 3 course meal for less than £20 and the drinks are very cheap as well. Overall great weekend and would recommend it to anyone.

Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing