We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Everything we wanted & more!”

Review of Llandrinio Hall

Llandrinio Hall - the oldest extant brick-built property in Montgomeryshire (1682)
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Llandrinio Hall - the oldest extant brick-built property in Montgomeryshire (1682)
Middle Lounge, a very relaxing environment, with sound system, piano and log-burning fire Middle lounge looking east, warm, spacious and comfortable, with antique Steinway baby grand piano
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
Llandrinio Hall - the oldest extant brick-built property in Montgomeryshire (1682)
Middle Lounge, a very relaxing environment, with sound system, piano and log-burning fire
Middle lounge looking east, warm, spacious and comfortable, with antique Steinway baby grand piano
Cinema Room, with Bose surround sound and 300+ DVDs/Blu-ray (your host is a movie producer)
Billiard Room, with antique, full-size Snooker Table, dating from 1907, and open fireplace.
South-facing light, airy kitchen is the heart of the home and seats 12, or 16 with table extension.
Kitchen table seats 12 comfortably, but looks smaller in picture, oddly! Extension can be added.
The kitchen offers plenty of Food Preparation Space and every conceivable modern convenience
Bedroom, one of 8 (6x doubles and 2x twins)
Master Bedroom with Emperor-sized (7'x7') four-poster.
Bedroom, one of 8 (6x doubles and 2x twins)
Bedroom, one of 8 (6x doubles and 2x twins)
Bedroom, one of 8 (6x doubles and 2x twins)
Bedroom, one of 8 (6x doubles and 2x twins)
Bathroom No 1, with bath and overhead shower
Walk-In Power Shower Room/Wet Room (a great way to wake up!)
East Staircase, dating from 1682, the Hall having been owned by Prime Minister Robert Peel's family.
Table Tennis In The Conservatory, or outside (all-weather surface)
Long Tree-Lined Driveway - In Summer
Long Tree-Lined Driveway in Winter
Llandrinio Hall - formal garden rear elevation
Rear Garden and view to Breidden Hills
Rear Garden, in Winter, looking south
Giant outdoor chess, within secluded 'walled' garden.
Aerial View of the Hall
Your Hosts, the Willis Family, who now live in Bath, as featured in The Sunday Telegraph
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Manor House -
8 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Llandrinio, Powys, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sazzle359
Bolton
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Everything we wanted & more!”
Reviewed June 11, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

I stayed at Llandrinio Hall with a group of 14 friends to celebrate my 30th birthday & it was everything we were looking for & more! After great communications with the owner I was very much looking forward to staying, and it did not disappoint!
We were greeted by a very friendly couple who showed us around the place. The bedrooms are huge so was plenty of space for everyone.
We tend to spend most of our time gathered in the kitchen, so a large space was essential. This came fully equipped and room for everyone to eat together. The garden was stunning & luckily for us, we had the weather so spent most of the time outdoors listening to music, playing table tennis & enjoying the sunshine.
Everyone was impressed with the wet room and loved having speakers in every room. Music was playing from the start of our stay to the very end & was only switched off when we watched a film in the cinema room, which was complete with surround sound.
I will most definitely be returning to Llandrinio Hall at some point & would recommend to anyone wanting to celebrate a special occasion with friends & family. It was perfect!
Thanks for having us! :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The speakers in the wet room! Ha!
Liked least: The stuffed animals that were dotted around the place. We found them a bit creepy!
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry O
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Wonderful house - perfect for large group / family”
Reviewed May 5, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We gathered to celebrate my mum's 90th birthday - this was the perfect place for a large group to gather from very young to 90! Fabulously equipped, beautifully sited. Lots to do indoors if there was a rainy day - and there wasn't. Lovely big garden to spread out in. Highly recommended. Not cheap by any means but I felt it was well worth it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beesoviki...
Runcorn, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Wow....what a house”
Reviewed April 7, 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

i booked this property to celebrate my 50th birthday, wanted something big spacious and stunning to invite family and friends.

The outside says it all grand, big and special.

Met by a couple who show you the ropes etc very friendly, show you around the house and I will say there is a lot of it.

It's massive... Plenty of space for everyone ... We took a drum kit, amps, guitars..and there was plenty of space for all not to be tripping over each other.


Had the log burner warming us in a cold night, solan for this in the colder months.

Bedrooms are massive and something special
Great big kitchen for group eating
Everything you need

Two staircases to the upper floors

I really would recommend this house for that special occasion.

Ok it's not cheap to hire, the heating bill will set you back, and then the extra for cleaning... But do not be put off it's a special house.

Great communication with the owner.

Would definitely go again when the occasion arises.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The grandure
Liked least: house was not as clean as we would hope
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam K
Wirral, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful home, inspired students”
Reviewed March 17, 2015 for a stay in October 2014

I organised a scriptwriting trip to Llandrinio Hall with my 1st and 2nd year HE students. The house was wonderful and the students settled in well. The kitchen was perfect for assignment briefing, eating and socialising.
The students loved the integrated sound system and enjoyed listening to music in the shower. (It's the little things)
We were a group of 15 and there was plenty of everything. We did not struggle with food storage, crockery or cutlery.
The snooker table and table tennis were perfect for the students when they wanted to unwind and both groups were able to play against each other which helped with bonding.
The cinema room was utilised each night too for those who did not have a competitive edge.
The house itself provided inspiration for the student's scripts and many of them wrote horrors because of how huge the space was. They were especially intrigued with the basement that they were not allowed to enter.
After gaining feedback from the student experience, there was nothing major that they would have changed about the hall (maybe just the stuffed animals which freaked some of them out).
They all had a great time in a great home. Thank you to Jonathan and family for created a lovely holiday home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The kitchen and snooker table
Liked least: The stuffed animals
Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchego1...
Birmingham
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous house - great for a large party”
Reviewed February 23, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We rented this house to celebrate my husbands 50th birthday. We had a fantastic weekend. The house is very well equipped, the rooms are lovely and large - perfect for a large group of people. The shower room is lovely - I want one!

The pictures actually don't do the property justice, the kitchen became the central hub for our visit and had everything we required and more.

The location is also great and fantastic for a good walk and a visit to a local pub.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John W
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Christmas Delight”
Reviewed December 30, 2014 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

14 members of our family travelled to Powys from our West Sussex homes hoping to find a special location for our Christmas celebrations. We were most definitely not disappointed!!

By prior arrangement with the owners, we arrived an hour or so early so that we could offload cases and presents to create room in a couple of cars for us to collect a massive 'click and collect' order from Tesco in Shrewsbury before the store's 4pm Sunday closure.

Once settled in to the spacious accommodation later that day, we started what proved to be the best family Christmas we have ever enjoyed. Our party ranged from a very lively 4 year old through to 70+ aged grandparents and we all had a great time playing snooker, table tennis, cards, dining and wining in the lovely Hall. It certainly lived up to its billing as a child-friendly home.

We also enjoyed nearby facilities including a Santa Special steam train ride at Llangollen, a trek up to Rodney's Pillar to marvel at the glorious views from the top and shopping in nearby Shrewsbury.

We can recommend the Village shop just down the road from the Hall, the Churncote farm shop 8/9 miles towards Shrewsbury and also the Indian Takeaway, Saffron Cottages, close to the farm shop.

In summary, absolutely brilliant!!!!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The spacious accommodation
Liked least: Nothing of note
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oswestry, United Kingdom
Reviewed April 22, 2013 for a stay in April 2013
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: That the whole family could enjoy the many facilities together.
Liked least: Having to leave
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing