We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old hotel”
Review of Hotel Seurahuone

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Seurahuone
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Kokkola
Reviewed January 7, 2014

I stayed here 3 days, hotel is quite old, its barely 3 stars, You have strange stairs going to the floors, and there is one elevator which You have to wait for a long time. In room You don't have a phone?!?! This is the first time I experience this. And, there was some Karaoke party by the loby one evening, imagine what that sound like...

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AquastarDanube
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (31)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 31 reviews

Reviewed February 7, 2012

We stayed here for two nights, Friday to Sunday. The room was quite nice considering that this is apparently one of the oldest hotels in the country. Clean, nice furnishings and comfortable beds.

However, there are several bars on the lower floors of the place. The noise/music from the night club could be heard clearly on the 5th floor, and it went on until 4 am on both nights. I would not recommend staying here on weekends if you want a restful night of sleep. But if you've come to Kokkola to party, clearly this is the place to be. It's probably fine during the week, though.

Like others have mentioned, there was no shower curtain or door. Housekeeping didn't visit our room which would have been a problem if we had needed more clean towels. The breakfast buffet is adequate but nothing special.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flamedash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2010

Stayed at the hotel for two nights. To sum it up:
If this is the best hotel Kokkola has to offer, I won't stay in Kokkola again...

The rooms are ok with comfortable beds and otherwise quite clean. There is no aircondition, though. And this being a hot August weekend, the windows had to be kept open.

The problem is that the hotel is situated next to the marketplace where all bars and nightclubs seem to be located. Because of this, the noise from the streets is terrible at night. Music was played until well after midnight and the windows had to be kept open due to the suffocating heat.

The shower has no shower curtain, meaning that the floor is flooded with water each time you shower.

There is no one who answers at the front desk after 22:30, as the reception closes its doors. Therefore, it is impossible to complain about the noise from downstairs.

The breakfast is terrible. Ate the breakfast the first day. The next day we decided to eat at a café breakfast instead. As soon as you open the door to your room in the morning, the stench of fried sausages hits your noise. And mind you, we were staying on the fifth floor! (The breakfast is served on the first floor).

The rooms are ok, but the reception are and dining rooms are extremely outdated. This hotel has bad value for its money.

I would not stay in this hotel again, and no, I wouldn't recommend this hotel to my friends either!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alo6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2010

When booking a room by phone the receptionist said "I'll book you a nice room." And she did - we got a spacious room with a big bathtub and a balcony a to the market hall. Only one other room had a balcony so this was very nice.
The only critique I have has to do with the breakfast and the decore. As a vegetarian the selection of meatballs and miniature meatballs wasn't a big hit, the fruits looked weeks old and there was only white bread. The interiors could do with an update overall.
In general I enjoyed my stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Taieli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2009

Upon arrival you see the strange cinema like entrance. Big, old and uninviting. Upon arrival we found the reception area cordoned off and closed. Luckily on the same floor there was a nightclub and soon the doorman checked us in. However, we seemed to be in a hotel with young Finnish teenagers noisily entering the nightclub or noisily going outside for a cigarette and a cuddle.
The rooms were excellent. Modern, clean, tidy and inviting. Beware of the corrridor to the lift door thou. A synthetic carpet and when you touch the metal door to the lift area ... wow!!.. What a static electric shock you can get. I even saw the blue flash.
Breakfast was terrible. Boring, uninviting. No bacon. Not even a boiled egg. How strange as another reviewer states how good the breakfasts were.
I suppose its good value for money. Central location but... avoid the weekends when the nightclubs are open.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edgewood48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2008

Excellent stay in a beautiful room. Friendly stuff, great location and the best breakfast i have ever had in a hotel. Try the strawberries marmalade!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank civil2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2007

Had the worst 2 nights in a finnish hotel ever.
The bed were super soft and not good at all.
Room for one person was furnished quite weird way. The shower closet didn't have other door at all, so the floor of the bathroom were full of water after shower.
As a business traveller one thing I missed most was a bench and a chair.
Hotel tv wasn't showing even the basic finnish cable channels. Maybe the hotel doesn't have digital tv-network at all.
The cleaner should have done better job, because there were a bit dust around the room.

And note for Tripadvisor, the hotel is not anymore a member of Best Western chain.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Mika M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kokkola hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Kokkola
Hotel Kokkola
#2 of 4 in Kokkola
74 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotelli Nukkumatti
Hotelli Nukkumatti
#3 of 4 in Kokkola
19 reviews
0.1 mi away
Original Sokos Hotel Kaarle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Brinkin Wanha Pappila
Brinkin Wanha Pappila
#1 of 1 in Kokkola
5 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villa Carleborg
Villa Carleborg
#2 of 8 in Kokkola
5 reviews
2.1 mi away
Villa Elba
Villa Elba
#6 of 8 in Kokkola
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Seurahuone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Seurahuone

Address: Torikatu 24, Kokkola 67100, Finland
Location: Finland > Central Ostrobothnia > Kokkola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Kokkola
Price Range: $103 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Seurahuone 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Seurahuone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing