We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good view, good restaurant, sloppy service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Finlandia Hotel Alba
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Jyvaskyla
usa
Level Contributor
88 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“good view, good restaurant, sloppy service”
Reviewed September 4, 2010

Very nice lake view, rooms clean, restaurant offering good menu. The service in the restaurant is very slow, as almost everywhere in Finland, and the room cleaning service is very basic: they would not even make your bed nicely. If you have business at the university, not a bad choice.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelreluctant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    44
    36
    7
    1
See reviews for
7
14
14
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dartmouth, Canada
Level Contributor
246 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2010

My husband and I have now stayed at the Alba twice and will be staying there again next week. It is a little bit outside of the city centre but very convenient if you are working at the university. If the weather is good, it is a lovely walk along the lake into the city (about 15 min.) Also, the Alvar Aalto Museum is literally a 5-7 min. walk from the hotel and worth a visit.
We have not stayed in any rooms, other than those advertised as suites (with private sauna), so my rating is based on those only. Depending on time of year, day of week, the price for an upgrade varies but it is well worth it. Where else can you get a view overlooking the lake as you relax in your own sauna?!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katchapuri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuopio, Finland
Level Contributor
72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2009

About kilometer away from the city centre. Great scenery to the lake. Small and tidy rooms. Internet was pricey - 8 euros a day! Very, very salty lunches!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank palooja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
242 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2009

As someone said on trip advisor, the normal rooms are just amazingly awful - tiny cells. We asked for an upgrade to the suites and for very little extra got a large room with nice bathroom and our own sauna. What a difference!
It is well placed on water front just by the bridge going over to part of the university. It looks austere on the outside and there is a slight soviet block feel to it! However the food was fine and wifi available though not free.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank freddielola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2008

The location is amazing, situated on the lake very close to the university. There is no need to be in the "downtown" of Jyvaskyla anyway as you can walk or drive there with little difficulty. We upgraded for an extra 20 euros or so and got a corner room with a private sauna. I felt like I was at the St. Regis Heaven or thereabouts. Maybe it's common in Finland, but the luxury of watching the lake and the frequent changes of weather while relaxing in your own private sauna... that was great.

Breakfast was pretty good. I cannot say the same for the other meals as Finnish cuisne, we must be clear, is generally indifferent to qualities appreciated elsewhere in the civilized world. We dined out our second night and were glad to have done so.

The staff are helpful, generous, and warm. Room was clean, well-appointed, inoffensive in its decor and wifi-ready. Bathroom was palatial, nnd I think I already rhapsodized enough about the private sauna!

  • Liked — The private sauna!
  • Disliked — Dinner: I mean, what is with all that sauce?!
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank NewYorkStories
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2008

A very nice hotel in a truly beautiful location, sitting right on a wonderful lake right next to the university. It's not as centrally located with respect to downtown Jyvaskyla, but it's only about a mile walk to the city centre, with miles of pedestrian/bicycle pathways along the lakefront to get you there.

I stayed in a junior suite, which overlooked the lake (if I opened the french balcony and jumped over the rail, I would have ended up in the water), and had a nice sofa, flat screen TV, and an in-room sauna. The internet is fast but costs money. The reception was very friendly and efficient. I made some changes to my reservation via email and they responded within the hour, so no complaints on that front, either.

The only meals I had at the hotel was the breakfast buffet, which was just fine. Again, the restaurant is basically sitting on the water and has beautiful views in all directions.

The only quibbles I would have are the lack of an iron and alarm clock, and an odd climate control system which seemed to have 3 separate, new-looking temperature controls in different parts of the room, none of which seemed to do anything or make the A/C from making weird sloshing sounds. Minor details, though.

Generally, speaking, a nice hotel in a beautiful location ... a very pleasant surprise if you somehow find yourself in Jyvaskyla for a business trip, as I did.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2007

I stayed one night in Hotel Alba in a nice room with new flat screen TV with a view over the lake and there was a sauna in the bathroom with a big window to the lake as well. The hotel is appr. 1 km from the center but very practically located if travelling by car. The breakfast was good but I can imagine that you have to queue if the hotel is fully booked.

Helpful?
Thank Talikko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jyvaskyla hotels
0.9 mi away
Solo Sokos Hotel Paviljonki
0.9 mi away
Hotelli Verso
Hotelli Verso
#3 of 8 in Jyvaskyla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
1.1 mi away
Scandic Jyvaskyla
Scandic Jyvaskyla
#2 of 8 in Jyvaskyla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Cumulus Jyvaskyla Hotel
Cumulus Jyvaskyla Hotel
#7 of 8 in Jyvaskyla
3.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
2.3 mi away
Rantasipi Laajavuori
Rantasipi Laajavuori
#5 of 8 in Jyvaskyla
3.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.9 mi away
Original Sokos Hotel Alexandra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finlandia Hotel Alba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finlandia Hotel Alba

Property: Finlandia Hotel Alba
Address: Ahlmaninkatu 4, Jyvaskyla 40100, Finland
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Central Finland > Jyvaskyla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Jyvaskyla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Finlandia Hotel Alba 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Finlandia Hotel Alba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing