We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“charming and characterful” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Yopuu

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Yopuu
Ranked #1 of 5 Jyvaskyla B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“charming and characterful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

Remarkably charming and characterful, almost idiosyncratic, small hotel. Filled with antiques and specially themed rooms. Mine had a modern “Alvar Aalto” theme while I understood others were much more traditional. The main disadvantage is the lack of a lift but this was more than made up for by the friendly staff and great atmosphere. Location is quite central.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    28
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
36
6
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

This is the ultimate in cosiness. It's like being at someones villa. A unique place in Jyväskylä. Almost worth visiting Jyväskylä for. I've been here several times and this is the first time i'm writing a review.

Ideally located
Beautifully furnished
Suer quiet
Great staff
Excellent food! (without a doubt the best restaurant in Jyväskylä)

You have to love this place, and now that it's been redecorated it doesn't get any better.

106€/night, including a welcome drink at the bar and breakfast.
I was pleasantly upgraded to a Superior Room. Thank you

Room Tip: If you're in Finland and anywhere close to Jyväskylä, this is a must stop over.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nonstop_paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed for one night in Jyväskylä for business. The stay was again just perfec! The staff was super friendly, room nicely decorated, breakfast was excellent and the atmosphere peaceful. This hotel is unique, not standard Sokos/Scandic concepthotel.

I will allways stay in this hotel, when I visit Jyväskylä! It´s a gem.

I would warmly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PatrickFinland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

I stayed with my husband for 1 night at yopuu hotel following the reviews i read on trip advisor. We were very pleased with the style of the hotel. The room was very charming and confortable, though the bathroom was rather small. The breakfast was excellent, the staff very helpful. We unfortunately didn't get the chance to try the resataurant that had a refined menu. I highly recommend yopuu hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daniele H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

You can easily distinguish economy and business class on a plane. The same goes here, this place is luxurious, makes you feel like home rightaway. Even staircases and corridors are somehow cozy and make you feel you are someone's special guest. The food is great, the breakfast can be exactly as you wish, the ingredients as well as the method they'd prepare it for you. Bed is really soft, maybe even too soft. All the possible bathroom appliances are there, everything is clean and shiny.
The location is the best, really close to the old town, at the same time really quiet area, no noise at night at all.
Service was great, they had all answers to everything.
I also lost my t-shirt so they kindly returned it to me,...... Clean!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maksim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bega, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We walked in without a reservation and the staff did all they could to accomodate us. Our room was small but charming and apparently all rooms have their own unique decor. The restaurant was top class and I'm really fussy about good food and wouldn't say that lightly. The wine list was extensive as well and I was able to pair wine with their tender reindeer fillet that was mind boggling. The typically Finnish breakfast buffet was fabulous.
We loved our stay there and would recommend it to anyone who delights in their senses.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bhagya99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

Stayed for one night in Jyväskylä for business and decided to try this reasonably priced boutique hotel. The stay was just perfect. The staff was super friendly, room nicely decorated, and the atmosphere peaceful. There's no elevator, which can be an issue for some but it didn't bother me.

Also the location is not as central as other hotels but Jyväskylä is a small town where everything's quite close. It really takes only two minutes to walk to the very center, so it's nothing.

I would warmly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helsinki567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jyvaskyla hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotelli Verso
Hotelli Verso
#3 of 8 in Jyvaskyla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
0.5 mi away
Solo Sokos Hotel Paviljonki
0.2 mi away
Scandic Jyvaskyla
Scandic Jyvaskyla
#2 of 8 in Jyvaskyla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Rantasipi Laajavuori
Rantasipi Laajavuori
#4 of 8 in Jyvaskyla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotelli Milton
Hotelli Milton
#8 of 8 in Jyvaskyla
3.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cumulus Jyvaskyla Hotel
Cumulus Jyvaskyla Hotel
#7 of 8 in Jyvaskyla
3.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Yopuu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Yopuu

Property: Hotel Yopuu
Address: Yliopistonkatu 23, Jyvaskyla 40100, Finland
Location: Finland > Central Finland > Jyvaskyla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Jyvaskyla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Yopuu 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
N Yopuu you spend a hotel night which you can not find anywhere else. Every room in the Hotel Yopuu is different, decorated with its own theme. Just a couple of steps away from the Jyvaskyla city centre's hustle and bustle you can calm down, relax and experience new events. The privately owned hotel can attend to its every customer individually. By approaching us, we can taylor you just right kind of hotel night. All the essential sights of Jyvaskyla are right next to you as a customer of Hotel Yopuu. Yopuu hotel has 26 individual rooms, including two elegant suites, 13 double/twin rooms and 11 single rooms. One suite has a private sauna and the other, a two-person tub. The privately owned hotel Yopuu can also serve guests, who need accommondation for longer period or fo a bigger party. Yopuu's stylish apartments offer you privacy and can becombined with the hotel's services according to your individual needs. Fabolous, cozy apartments are situated just nex to the hotel Yopuu, in the block-of-flats, in center of Jyvaskyla. We have four different apartments - two studios, one two room apartment and one three room apartment. All of the apartments are decorated with their own themes, eg. Scandinavian and vintage style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotel.de, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Yopuu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing