We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boutique style hotel”
Review of Hotel Yopuu

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Yopuu
Ranked #1 of 4 Jyvaskyla B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Izu
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Boutique style hotel”
Reviewed July 30, 2011

Stayed 2 nights. It was a surprise to find this stylish hotel. Rooms are classy and spacious with nice amenities and even a bathtub which is not very common in Finland. Also we liked to be able to use the sauna downstairs, but you need to book it in advance. Another good thing is that you have a computer with printer for use of guests. We travel with our own computers but sometimes we need a printer, and it was useful to have access to one. We tried their restaurant one night and although it is nice and the food well presented, we did not find it exceptional for the price. Some of the dishes were a bit too salty for our taste, but that seems to be the case in many places in Finland. The breakfast included in the price of the room was very good and the kitchen would prepare eggs as per order. Also note if you travel with luggage that the hotel does not have an elevator, although they will try to help you. Staff were efficient and helpful and the welcome drink in the bar area was a nice detail.

Room Tip: Rooms in the higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Odoriko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    29
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
39
7
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Very comfortable and stylish rooms. One of the very few hotel I visited with a real personality. Highly recommendable.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hyllos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Congleton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2011

I really can't add much to what other recent reviews have said. Hotel Yopuu is excellent. I totally agree that it is very hard finding any sort of individual hotel in Finland. The reality appears to be that not alot of non-Nordic visitors have been to Finland outside of Helsinki and as a result there aren't many reviews like this which will help broadcast where to stay. We also arrived at Yopuu when it was unusually hot. Our room was not air conditioned but was comfortable enough with a fan which we bought for 9 euros. But I suspect the hotel would have provided one if asked or moved us to an air conditioned room if available. The four course dinner at 53 euros per person was special although we wouldn't normally splash like that. The buffet breakfast was wonderful and the hotel staff close to exceptional in every respect. I am forced to make one comment only because it was something that bemused me. It is about Finnish hotel wash basins. In one hotel there was no plug. In another the basin was badly cracked. Another was very narrow and mounted under a shelf so it was impossible to get your head over the basin. In Yopuu it was that the plug had no chain. Did it matter? No. Overall Hotel Yopuu was one of the nicest small hotels I have stayed in, anywhere.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pentlandpirate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2011

We struggled to find a "non standardized" hotel in Finland. Apparently, most hotels are either big chains or otherwise "standardized". But Yopuu is different!! They claim themselves "boutique hotel" and although not truly boutique, they are as close as possible for being in Finland. Rooms are nice, all differently furnished, but be sure to ask for a corner room if you go in summer, as there is no air conditioning and two windows will help you get some fresh air and some sleep if you happen to be there during those terribly hot days that sometimes you find even in Finland.
The restaurant was excellent. We had one of our best reindeer dinner here!! Also good cellar and very helpful and friendly staff which speaks a perfect english. Chapeau!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leopardus2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerava, Finland
2 reviews
Reviewed July 8, 2011

One of the best hotels (out of a couple of dozen) we've visited in Finland. The share amount of services would probably make this a three star hotel, but the quality of service was worth of five.

+ Very professional, friendly and helpful staff
+ A nice, cosy, beatifully decorated hotel.
+ Every room is individually decorated with different themes. Our room was the Mannerheim-room and it was recently renovated (in classic style, but modern quality), and in great condition. Bed was very good and the room was air conditioned and clean.
+ Great restaurant with excellent wine list and (as well as in hotel-side) very helpful, friendly and professional staff.
+ Above average breakfast, where for example all the warm dishes (bacon, omelets) are separately cooked by the morning chef, so that they're definately fresh.
+ Though the hotel is small and probably the best suited for couples and people on business trips, the "special needs" that comes with travelling with toddler, were very well taken care of.
- No elevator, which made the moving in and out of our room in the 3rd floor a bit hard with our 4,5 month old daughter.
- Some services that you'd normally expect in (bigger) hotels, like gym, aren't included. But the hotel has a deal with a local gym and spa, where you can get discounts.
- Prices are a bit of a higher range (146 € for room, 50€ - 100 € for dinner (4 dishes) - latter including wines) but the quality is definately worth the price

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JuhaK_Kerava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2011

Every room is different, decorated with style and theme. Some rooms are quite small. This hotel is not cheap but worth of visit.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HOHarrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raasepori, Finland
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2011

I really love this place. Every room is decoreted diffrently. Nice, quiet and clean. Staff is very helpful and friendly. And I love it when you get a "wellcome drink" when you get here :)

Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Catz_080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jyvaskyla hotels
0.5 mi away
Solo Sokos Hotel Paviljonki
0.2 mi away
Hotelli Verso
Hotelli Verso
#3 of 8 in Jyvaskyla
49 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cumulus Jyvaskyla Hotel
Cumulus Jyvaskyla Hotel
#7 of 8 in Jyvaskyla
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Scandic Jyvaskyla
Scandic Jyvaskyla
#2 of 8 in Jyvaskyla
376 reviews
1.9 mi away
Rantasipi Laajavuori
Rantasipi Laajavuori
#5 of 8 in Jyvaskyla
129 reviews
0.3 mi away
Original Sokos Hotel Alexandra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Yopuu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Yopuu

Property: Hotel Yopuu
Address: Yliopistonkatu 23, Jyvaskyla 40100, Finland
Location: Finland > Central Finland > Jyvaskyla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Jyvaskyla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Yopuu 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
N Yopuu you spend a hotel night which you can not find anywhere else. Every room in the Hotel Yopuu is different, decorated with its own theme. Just a couple of steps away from the Jyvaskyla city centre's hustle and bustle you can calm down, relax and experience new events. The privately owned hotel can attend to its every customer individually. By approaching us, we can taylor you just right kind of hotel night. All the essential sights of Jyvaskyla are right next to you as a customer of Hotel Yopuu. Yopuu hotel has 26 individual rooms, including two elegant suites, 13 double/twin rooms and 11 single rooms. One suite has a private sauna and the other, a two-person tub. The privately owned hotel Yopuu can also serve guests, who need accommondation for longer period or fo a bigger party. Yopuu's stylish apartments offer you privacy and can becombined with the hotel's services according to your individual needs. Fabolous, cozy apartments are situated just nex to the hotel Yopuu, in the block-of-flats, in center of Jyvaskyla. We have four different apartments - two studios, one two room apartment and one three room apartment. All of the apartments are decorated with their own themes, eg. Scandinavian and vintage style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Hotel Yopuu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing