We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best in Finland”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Solo Sokos Hotel Paviljonki
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Jyvaskyla
Certificate of Excellence
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“One of the best in Finland”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

I spent three nights at this hotel in May. When I hear the brand name Sokos Hotel, this high quality is definitely not what I am usually expecting.

The service in the lobby was really good and quick. The breakfast was one of the best I have ever seen in any hotels. The actual restaurant was a lot better than average chain restaurants are used to be in Finland.

The room was large, clean, completely silent and well equipped. The bed and different pillows were comfortable. Even the smallest details were just like they should be. For example, next to the very big TV there was a huge set of connectors on the wall for different laptops and mobile devices. Even the lift was always there within two seconds after ordering it.

The hotel was fully booked but somehow the personnel were able to find me a room for the third night that I needed. For the hotel chain's customer card holders, there were also some very nice additional benefits available, such as three-course dinner for € 12 and tickets to local football games.

The location is a little bit outside of the city center, but walking there will not take more than 5-10 minutes.

This is easily the best Sokos hotel, and also the best hotel in overall where I have spent a night in Finland. Though my experience excludes capital city area where I do not need hotel services.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaakko-82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    105
    9
    3
    0
See reviews for
55
91
12
128
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oulu, Finland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

This is a very new (1 year old) hotel in the middle on Jyväskylä, right next to railways station on a new area that is being built (i.e. lots of construction around the hotel). When the area is completed it should pretty nice, but as of now it is a bit incomplete looking.

Hotel itself is in very good condition since it is brand new. Rooms are really nice (ours was on 6th floor) but bit lacking on the cupboard space, requiring you to keep lots of your stuff in your open suitcase. (That seems to be the trend in design hotels all over the world though...) Bathroom was very nice with huge towels. Bed was a bit on the firmer side, I like them a bit softer. Enough pillows to start a war with.

Restaurant was a "good enough" italian one (separate review), nothing exceptional. Breakfast was normal continental one, with a nice addition of tee and coffee actually served to the tables. You don't usually see that in Finland, nice touch!

Service in all areas (restaurants, front desk, cleaning staff) was clearly above par. Everyone seemed to be smiling and very very friendly. Big plus for that!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Petri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oulu, Finland
Level Contributor
111 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

The hotel is new, very clean and modern. The location is not in the heart of the city, you have to cross the railway to reach the pedestrian area. Still, the distance is only 500 meters away, so you can walk to the centre in minutes. The hotel has bicycles for free use, which is a nice plus.
The hotel is located beside a lake, and during summertime it is great to walk there and sit in cafeterias and boat restaurants.
The service in hotel is very friendly. Breakfast excellent, several choices for coffee and tea. We used the gym, good equipment and great view in 9th floor.
Hotel room clean and modern, several pillows to choose from. Very good sleep quality, no noise at all. We were absolutely satisfied and highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eidu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 3 nights for conference. The hotel is very new, you can even smell it. Front desk staffs are wonderful. Housekeeping is so so. There was one time they did not replace the sheet despite the stain on it, also did not replace the towel as it was on the floor. The restaurant downstairs is a franchise Italian restaurant which is decent food and some good wine.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fera F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo
1 review
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Good location, quiet but very close to Center of Jyväskylä. Easy to reach by train or by car, but traffic signs could be better. Big car parking garage. Great restaurant, good value for money. Flexible and friendly service.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaakko K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

We stayed three nights (2 adults, 1 yo and 4 yo kids) for a family convention. We decided to stay "outskirts" of the city because the venue was nearby.

The hotel was brand new. Rooms were high and spacious (we had "Triplo" room). Restaurant was excellent, breakfast one of the best I have had (with table serviced coffee), kids playroom really nice and overall experience was close to perfect.

Rooms were quiet, even the military equipment outside (helicopters and jet fighter flying by) did no bother us.

Parking was extremely convenient, elevator from hotel takes to parking hall.

The only small minuses we encountered
- "Triplo" was supposed to be a triple room, but beds were made only for two (remember to enter nbr of guests correctly in the booking form)
- Only one restaurant in hotel, other restaurants were in the city

Please note: While the hotel is "outskirts of Jyväskylä" it is like 5 minutes walk to center! Just cross the railroad and you'll get to every shop & restaurant in Jyväskylä center.

Room Tip: Remember that "Solo", "Duo" and "Triplo" are referring to size of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sami L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHJKL, General Manager at Solo Sokos Hotel Paviljonki, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear Sami L,

Thank you very much for your kind feedback.

I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your overall experience as our guest. However, I sincerely apologise our mistake not having all the beds ready for you upon check-in.

I would also like to emphasize the fact that the term "SOLO" refers to a room type rather than the amount of guests a room can accommodate - just like you stated in your review. We have three different room types at our hotel: SOLO, SUPREME and ULTIMATE. All rooms accommodate minimum of two guests.

Kind Regards,

Hannu Nirkkonen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jyvaskyla, Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Very nice new hotel near city centre.Excellent service and helpful staff.Double room had plenty of space and nice decoration.Super comfortable bed and nice surprise was free movie and sport channels.Trattoria food was superb and had also very helpful staff.
Have to go again!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vesa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jyvaskyla hotels
0.4 mi away
Scandic Jyvaskyla
Scandic Jyvaskyla
#2 of 8 in Jyvaskyla
364 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotelli Verso
Hotelli Verso
#3 of 8 in Jyvaskyla
46 reviews
0.2 mi away
Original Sokos Hotel Alexandra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Rantasipi Laajavuori
Rantasipi Laajavuori
#5 of 8 in Jyvaskyla
126 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cumulus Jyvaskyla Hotel
Cumulus Jyvaskyla Hotel
#7 of 8 in Jyvaskyla
102 reviews
0.9 mi away
Finlandia Hotel Alba
Finlandia Hotel Alba
#6 of 8 in Jyvaskyla
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solo Sokos Hotel Paviljonki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solo Sokos Hotel Paviljonki

Property: Solo Sokos Hotel Paviljonki
Address: Lutakonaukio 10, Jyvaskyla 40100, Finland
Location: Finland > Central Finland > Jyvaskyla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Jyvaskyla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Solo Sokos Hotel Paviljonki 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Solo Sokos Hotel Paviljonki provides fantastic facilities not only for busy business travellers but also for leisurely holidaymakers. Just a few minutes’ walk away is the Jyvaskyla Travel Centre where buses, trains and the airport bus arrive. The car park building in conjunction with the hotel has plenty of parking space too. In addition, excellent walks to the pedestrian/cycle path which circles Lake Jyvasjarvi and to Jyvaskyla’s harbour start straight from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Solo Sokos Hotel Paviljonki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing