We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best dinner in JKL”
Review of Pollowaari

Pollowaari
Ranked #1 of 133 Restaurants in Jyvaskyla
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, Scandinavian, International
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Petajavesi, Finland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best dinner in JKL”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

If you like to have good long dinner with excellent wines included and you happen to be near Jyväskylä then look no further. Pöllövaari is the place to visit. Small friendly restaurant with staff that surely knows their business. I would recommend to all to take one of the menu selections with suggested wines. Menus themselves are excellent but wines added they are heavenly. I am not a wine expert but like good wines and it is certainly true that you get more out of the good food when you add wine that supports exactly those flavors in the food.
Take your time, no hurry. After the dinner you can move into bar area and have still coffee and maybe some brandy to go along.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JuKa72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    18
    7
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vantaa, Finland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good food and good service”
Reviewed February 21, 2014

I have visited this restaurant many times in last 10 years. They have never let me down with service or food. This time was similar to all visits. Food was excellent and service like vise. Wines that were recommended suited food well. I would say that this is one of the best restaurants in Jyväskylä. Even for our 2 year old daughter food tasted well.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Timo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
103 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Yeah, very good food and wine”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Liked everything, disliked nothing, I think the wide variety of wines is very good and actually( don't tell them ) - cheap.
But I had great food and a fantastic breakfast. In most of finlands hotels I skip breakfast because its crap. But here its damn good.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Andyplusfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
2 reviews
“Local produce with a twist, with wines to match”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Pöllöwaari is an international-caliber fine dining restaurant. They use mostly local ingredients prepared with little twists that give the kitchen character, without appearing to try too hard. The staff is friendly and knowledgeable without being overbearing, and the sommelier had picked excellent wines to go with the dishes. I especially enjoyed the dessert wine, a sweet red from the Champagne region, reminescent of a very light ruby port.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank PrimeJunta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuopio, Finland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Jyväskylä”
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Last year we have visited Pöllöwaari restaurant few times. It has not let us down once. Even if it a bit more pricy than other restaurants in the city centre, you get value for your money. Every time we have been blown away by taste, fresh new ideas, boldness and good wines. Every time I leave pöllöwaari restaurant, I can only wonder 'wow I can never cook food that good'.

Most seasonal menus also have vegetarian options, which I also value a lot.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tuulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pollowaari also viewed

Jyvaskyla, Central Finland
Jyvaskyla, Central Finland
 
Jyvaskyla, Central Finland
Jyvaskyla, Central Finland
 
Jyvaskyla, Central Finland
Jyvaskyla, Central Finland
 

Been to Pollowaari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing