We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The cafe” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Alvar Aalto Museum

The Alvar Aalto Museum
Ranked #1 of 33 things to do in Jyvaskyla
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Jyvaskyla
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“The cafe”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

The café at the museum doesn't look much. But all the furniture is by Aalto, but what's more is that all the bakeries and food they sell at the café, they make it there. Cakes were great, they even sell some lunch, risottos and stuff.
I really enjoyed it, very nice surprise.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Norrmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    50
    15
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jyvaskyla
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good insight into Alvar Aalto”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

As one of our party was studying Alvar Aalto we visited Jyvaskyla specially to see the University complex, the museum and go on to Muuratsalo. We had a fascinating visit and all enjoyed our time there. It set the scene well for our other visits too.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Johnson230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Finnish design at its best”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Great museum in an Alvar Aalto designed building. It's a comprehensive reflection of his career, from the ubiquitous chairs and stools to the remarkable experimental house at Muuratsalo, which is here through a series of drawings, photographs and models. I suspect a brilliant place also to bring the kids - the exercises and games for them looked brilliant and free. Gift shop is good too and not at all as expensive as I had imagined, but the hidden delight is the cafe!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Of course interesting, but not impressive”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

The Alvar Aalto museum is a collection of drawings and plastics (+ chairs and glasses, mainly designed by his first hife Aino) and memorabilia from the past. A big part of the exibition is then dedicated to the experimental house (the holiday house on Muuratsalo) disegned and builded after his second wedding with Elissa. Other interesting drawings are dedicated the first part of his activity, that was actually carried out in Jyvaskyla. The exhibition is all in one roon, at the first floor of the museum + a movie room showing movies and intervies (in Finnish). At a ground floor tehre is also a cafe (very relaxed, calm and with gentle waitress) and a shoop (but prices are a bit over-quote in my opinion).

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sgorla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Finland, Finland
Level Contributor
405 reviews
188 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
“Interesting visiting place to get to know more about Alvar Aalto”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

It would be good to get to know a little of the basic information of Alvar Aalto´s life before entering the museum to get the most of it, however. On display are works of Alvar Aalto, some personal photos and photos of the manufacturing process and also some tools.

Museum is at the walking distance of the city centre, but a bit hard to locate. Downstairs is a small cafe and shop.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank vivian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Alvar Aalto Museum also viewed

 
Jyvaskyla, Central Finland
Jyvaskyla, Central Finland
 

Been to The Alvar Aalto Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing