We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good room, very good food!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Original Sokos Hotel Alexandra
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Jyvaskyla
Reviewed October 27, 2013

I visited Jyvaskyla on business for a few days in late October '13. The hotel was cosy, I liked the decoration of the restaurant, as well as the smiling faces of the staff. The breakfast was very modest, but the dinner at the hotel was excellent!!! Very good price, very good value for your money!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iasonas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (230)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 230 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2013

Sokos hotel, which rooms must be updated. Room very small and no air conditioning. Room wasn't so clean, dust here and there. Also bathroom wasn't so clean. Mirror frames and behind the mirror full of dust. Big round window between the bathroom and the room. Room was beside the elevator, so you can hear elevator going up and down. When we arrived to the hotel, it was difficult to find a parking place. Hotel's parking place behind the hotel was full and we were told to drive to the parking hall somehow far from the hotel. When arriving to the reception, receptionists were talking together and didn't pay attention to us, even though it was 11pm and we had small child with us. It took some time before they even greeted and attended us. Basic breakfast. Hotel is located near to the city centre.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pariscity044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHJKL, General Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Alexandra, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Dear Pariscity044,

Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Original Sokos Hotel Alexandra.

I am sorry to hear that you found our hotel somewhat old and not so well kept. I would also like to apologise for our front office crew not delivering service as agreed. We do have several different room classes and some are older than others, but cleanliness and the level of service should never fail.

Your feedback is very valuable to us, since it enables us to dig into the development areas and to further improve our level of service and operations.

Kind Regards,

Hannu Nirkkonen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Service was good, location excellent. Breakfast was a bit over average. However, the room was so worn out and had some problems that average is the best that can be given as a total score for he hotel.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
Thank Peentri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Reception was really nice decorated, but thats it.. On our floor 4th, carpet were dirty, decoration tiles were broken and alot of little things what u can notice rightaway. In our room toilet was kinda small and "dirty". Roof was covered with something yellow dots, door frames need some paintjob, floortile seams looks awful and what are those black markings on wallpapers!! hotelroom shouldnt look like this.
But there was something good, staff and breakfest. Couldnt be better than that.

Room Tip: Go for better than economy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jorma_p13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHJKL, General Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Alexandra, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Dear Jorma_p13,

Thank you very much for your feedback regarding Original Sokos Hotel Alexandra.

I am truly sorry that you were unhappy with your hotel room and felt it was both out-dated and dirty. It is true, that you may find more marks of use and wearness in some of our rooms, but we still try to take care of the cleanliness and and functioning of the rooms to our best ability.

On behalf of our staff and myself, I am grateful to you for your comments on our people as well as the breakfast. We are trying hard to serve our customers and ensure their satisfaction - it is great and most motivating when it is noticed.


Kind Regards,

Hannu Nirkkonen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We decided to have a night over in Jyväskylä when traveling to Eastern Finland and just booked for this hotel a few days in advance without much searching. Location is pretty central and parking facilities are good. Hotel as such is pretty standard. Breakfast was really nice with quite big selection. But what makes this hotel very good in my opinion is the kids' playroom. Playroom has even a kids' ball pool which our son just loved. I almost got worried that we will not manage to see anything of Jyväskylä as our kid just did want to leave the play room at all ;)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PikkuMermaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Hotel is centrally located next to and has parking places. The newer rooms are really good, older are decent too. Food is better than average, especially in the Gastro Pub. Ask for tickets to football or hockey games from reception, they might have complementary tickets.

Room Tip: Pay more for the new rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sebastian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Stayed here for one night and opted for an economy room since we did not expect to spend much time in room except sleep and shower. Was a little surprised to see a room in need of work. First, it was tiny. Not much room to roam around. However, the bathroom was extremely tight. In fact, the heated towel bar juts out of the wall and over the toilet. Therefore, if your male and need to go into the bathroom in the middle of the night, one needs to be careful and not touch the bar because you can burn yourself. :) LOL My advise is to stand slightly to the side of the toilet. Grout in shower was disgusting and pieces of formica around the vanity was chipped away or pealing off. Mirror in main room had a partial fog over it. The two twin beds were ok and the room was quiet. I need to mention that checkin and everyone we dealt with at hotel was polite and cordial. The breakfast the next morning was very nice and is more than a 'continental' like someone else stated in another review. Also, someone said in a review that the breakfast room was tiny. Not so. There was plenty of tables to go around and the staff was efficient and on the ball. Selection of breakfast items was very nice from cold cuts/cheeses/vegetables/rolls/yogurt/cereal. Riisipiirakka was very good. Coffee was weak however very hot but we're used to that in most hotels. Not a bad time and would stay there again if we need to be in this part of the world but for 122euros per night, we expected it to be a bit better. However, since there is not many options, I guess the hotels can charge what they want.

Room Tip: Ask for room away from main road. Otherwise, you will have to endure the loud karaoke bar across the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mlomagno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jyvaskyla hotels
0.2 mi away
Solo Sokos Hotel Paviljonki
0.3 mi away
Scandic Jyvaskyla
Scandic Jyvaskyla
#2 of 8 in Jyvaskyla
457 reviews
0.9 mi away
Finlandia Hotel Alba
Finlandia Hotel Alba
#6 of 8 in Jyvaskyla
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotelli Verso
Hotelli Verso
#3 of 8 in Jyvaskyla
71 reviews
2.1 mi away
Rantasipi Laajavuori
Rantasipi Laajavuori
#5 of 8 in Jyvaskyla
143 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotelli Milton
Hotelli Milton
#8 of 8 in Jyvaskyla
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Original Sokos Hotel Alexandra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Original Sokos Hotel Alexandra

Address: Hannikaisenkatu 35, Jyvaskyla 40100, Finland
Location: Finland > Central Finland > Jyvaskyla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Jyvaskyla
Price Range: $144 - $242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Original Sokos Hotel Alexandra 4*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five-story Hotel centrally located in the downtown area; opposite the railway station; 21 km from Jyvaskyla JYV Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Original Sokos Hotel Alexandra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sokos Hotel Jyväskylä

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing