We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good business hotel with excellent rail links”
Review of Scandic Jyvaskyla

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Scandic Jyvaskyla
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Jyvaskyla
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Stayed here on business for one night. The hotel is less than 100 metres from the train station making travel very easy and inexpensive. The staff were excellent. The room was large and well maintained. There are two restaurants on sight a good quality resturant with excellent selections available and a lower cost pub bar food style resturant. Both were tried and found to be acceptable. Breakfast is simple and straight forward with a varied selection of hot and cold dishes.
All in all I will definitely stay here again!

Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
Thank DannyJ487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScandicJKL, Manager at Scandic Jyvaskyla, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2014

Hi DannyJ487,
Thanks for your review! I'm glad you liked our place! We like it too and we are more than happy to welcome you to stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (452)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

144 - 150 of 452 reviews

Reviewed March 5, 2014

Scandic has been my hotel in Jyväskylä since opening early -90. Good location, rooms are large and reception friendly. In the winter time it is nice that they have the warm carage there to park.
You can see that the hotel has been built with the high quality materials, but now you can easily notice that the best days are behind. Everything is still working.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kalevi2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScandicJKL, Manager at Scandic Jyvaskyla, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Dear Kalevi2013,

These are the best words for us to hear that you are a frequent guest. The garage is very convenient. Warmly welcome again and again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

This place is OK but they have taken the wrong turn that many other Scandic Hotels have by charging a fee for late check-out. As of 2013, Scandic allowed hotels to choose for themselves whether or not to charge for early check-in and late check-out. Many hotels still do not charge for these services but, unfortunately, this one does. Otherwise, we liked the swimming pool and sauna. One other suggestion: they could add better bread choices to the breakfast buffet. They had no whole grain breads to choose from. Overall, the breakfast was a little below par.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank RobinLocksley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScandicJKL, Manager at Scandic Jyvaskyla, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Dear RobinLocksley,

Thank you for your review. Nice to hear positive comments about the sauna and swimming pool.
I hope to see you soon again at Scandic Jyväskylä!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

We stayed overnight last weekend whilst in town for Shrek the musical. The location of this hotel is perfect - easy to get to with plenty of parking available. The hotel itself was very nice - we had a superior extra room which was big with a lovely large bed. The bathrooms are a bit dated but very clean with a good hairdryer and nice toiletries. The breakfast room was in the open foyer and made a nice place for a quiet breakfast. The breakfast itself was very good and plentiful. The service in the hotel was great - we had asked for an early check-in but as they had been fully booked the previous night, only one of the rooms was ready when we arrived. We'd been in the room for 10 mins when reception desk called to inform us that the other room was now ready. All in all, a good stay - the only negative thing I can say is that you are better off asking for a room at the back of the hotel, facing the parking lot, rather than the main road at the front of the hotel - it's a busy road and can be quite noisy.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tiikeri2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScandicJKL, Manager at Scandic Jyvaskyla, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Dear Tiikeri2011 ,
Thank you so much for your review. I'm very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Hope to meet you soon again at Scandic Jyväskylä!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Scandic has seen the best days and you can feel the atmosphere immediately when you step in. It is a basic business hotel with all basic services. Rooms are a bit old fashioned and tired but will do the job though. Service is always really nice and helpful.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FOUNEXGEFI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScandicJKL, Manager at Scandic Jyvaskyla, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Dear FOUNEXGEFI,
Thank you for your review. We at Scandic Jyväskylä are delighted to hear your comments about the service. You are warmly welcome to stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Arrived late from Helsinki and was meant by a very friendly and helpful front desk person. The hotel is absolutely fine but the rooms and common areas are a little old and tired. Great location, particularly if you're coming on the train or airport bus and a short walk to town. The Colonial Club restaurant and bar are very pleasant and the food does what is says on the menu!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScandicJKL, Manager at Scandic Jyvaskyla, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Dear Tim R,
Thank you for choosing Scandic Jyväskylä and writing a review about your stay. Our front desk team is doing their very best to give an excellent welcoming for our guests each and every time. Great that you felt it. Good to hear that you liked our restaurant as well. We are looking forward your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

This is my second stay in the Scandic Jyvaskyla this year. I like the location---central to the main shopping street, within minutes to the train station and across the road from a good bus connection (#5) to the university. This time, travelling on my own, I was on the first floor, near the breakfast area, which made it handy to grab a cup of coffee and bring it back to the room.

The room itself was quite spacious by Finnish standards. There was a desk, a sofa, a fridge, coffee making facilities and a large king bed and it was quiet. However, the rooms are all still quite dark and decorated in what can only be described in an 80s style, including the salmon bathrooms!

The Colonial Restaurant is very good and since my April stay, they have changed their menu and now offer even more variety at good value. This is made even more attractive if you are a member of the Scandic Frequent Guest Programme, which offers generous vouchers that can be used to purchase food.

This time I tried the sauna and swimming pool, which were both enjoyable and the breakfast seems to have been upgraded since my last visit. Lots of choice and the bread was the best I have had in any hotel in Finland.

Overall a great stay and a good hotel for both central and university business.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katchapuri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jyvaskyla
2.1 mi away
Rantasipi Laajavuori
Rantasipi Laajavuori
#5 of 8 in Jyvaskyla
143 reviews
0.4 mi away
Solo Sokos Hotel Paviljonki
0.2 mi away
Cumulus Jyvaskyla Hotel
Cumulus Jyvaskyla Hotel
#7 of 8 in Jyvaskyla
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotelli Verso
Hotelli Verso
#3 of 8 in Jyvaskyla
67 reviews
0.3 mi away
Original Sokos Hotel Alexandra
13.9 mi away
Peurunka
Peurunka
#1 of 1 in Laukaa
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Jyvaskyla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Jyvaskyla

Address: Vapaudenkatu 73, Jyvaskyla SF-40100, Finland
Location: Finland > Central Finland > Jyvaskyla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Jyvaskyla
Price Range: $133 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Jyvaskyla 3.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nice hotel located right in the city center close to shopping, sights and international congress and trade fair centre Paviljonki. The hotel is easily reachable from all parts of Finland and has over 100 parking places. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Scandic Hotels, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Scandic Jyvaskyla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Jyvaskyla Jyväskylä

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing