We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Degerby
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Sparre(Porvoo)
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Leikari(Karhula)
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Hamina(Hamina)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (55)
Filter reviews
55 results
Traveler rating
15
23
10
7
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
15
23
10
7
0
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 55 reviews
Reviewed February 25, 2014

"+"
Вполне достойный отель. Чисто, опрятно, все удобно. Очень понравился ресторан - за умеренную цену вас накормят вкусно и красиво. Вокруг - симпатичные улочки и площади, можно приятно прогуляться, если возникнет такое желание.

This hotel is a nice place. Clean, neat, everything is convenient. We liked the restaurant - you can be fed delicious at reasonable price. There are pretty streets and squares around the hotel, you can have a pleasant stroll

"-"
В номерах есть только сильно платный вай-фай. К бесплатному в общей зоне подключиться не удалось.

There is no free wi-fi in rooms. It works in public areas with problems.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Tatiana V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kari J, Manager at Hotel Degerby, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Dear Tatiana,

Thank you for staying with us - hope to see you soon again. We DO havea FREE WiFi in the rooms´ area also, actually the whole hotel is covered with fast cable connection. Just ask for the access password from the reception or from our lobby bar. Do not hesitate to contact me when visiting next time - will make it up to you.

Enjoy the Intl Women´s Day on March the 8th - we have a special rate also !

yours,

Mr. Kari Junnila
Customer Service Manager at Hotel Degerby

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

It is good place to spend a night on the way from west of Finland to Russia and return.

I liked room, but a bathroom would be better, in my opinion.

I didn’t like shower, separated from other bathroom area only with small plastic curtain – when after having a shower floor in bathroom is wet, no matter how you tried to prevent this.

Internet in a room is expensive. But you can have free Wi-Fi access in reception area.

Breakfast is good.

Interesting: till 14:00 hotel restaurant propose business-lunch buffet for 9.70 euro. I saw a lot of local people: workers, policeman, clerks from nearest offices – they came to have a lunch – I think because from Finland point of view price is cheap and food is good. We would have a lunch there too, but we had to leave Loviisa to go further.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CopperTeaPot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travelerman2013, Manager at Hotel Degerby, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Dear guests, thank you for staying with us again!

To make your stay even more confortable we have a new fast 100MB WiFi in the whole hotel. This internet access is FREE of charge and can be used also in the guest rooms. Just ask for access codes from the receptionists or restaurant staff.

Also thank you for your comments / tips about our lunch in the hotel main restaurant. The rich lunch buffet is served on weekedays from 11 to 14 o´clock. It is very popular at 12- welcome!

Mr. Kari Junnila, customer service manager at Hotel Degerby

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Great quiet hotel with its own parking, tasty breakfasts and friendly staff.

Located in the center of Loviisa, and from it as convenient to go in the direction of Helsinki and in the direction of the border. Next is Hesburger and a grocery store. The city is clean, there are places to tour.

We stayed there for 2 nights and had a great 3 days in Finland.

Nice and inexpensive hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crazy_Head_Coach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

We stayed with teenage kids in their quadruple rooms in an old house a few hundred meters from the hotel. Breakfast was great, the garden and the old houses beautiful and the interiors very nicely designed. The rooms would need some air-conditioning/ventilation, but otherwise in very good condition. The small 'kitchenette' was a coffee machine, a microwave-oven an electric kettle and a refrigerator. Most of the staff spoke no Swedish, which we expected in a double language town like Lovisa, but were friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Standard rooms in the hotel (two bed) are very 'standard' like any hotel, but nice and clean (we looked into one) and the larger rooms are in villas in the old city, very charming, but in old houses.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bertell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2011

This hotel is nicely placed in the attractive Finnish town of Loviisa. Staff were welcoming, friendly and efficient. A good, varied choice of breakfast on offer. Rooms were a little too warm and there was no means of adjusting ventilation apart from two very small windows. Bed was comfortable. Internet access in room was rather expensive at 8 euros per hour; however it was free in communal area. All in all, a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tisviv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews