We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and chilly Finland”
Review of Scandic Lahti

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Scandic Lahti
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Lahti
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed October 31, 2012

A really nice hotel, with a friendly atmosphere, that makes the best of its slightly older building style. The rooms are clean and comfortable with a really good size shower. There is a little gym for the health conscious and a reasonable menu for the evening meal, which has a good ix of international and Finnish dishes.

I really liked this one, standard for Scandic, very clean, very friendly, very Scandanavian, with a minimalist approach, but clean and very comfy. The bed was very restful

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Russell E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (265)
There are newer reviews for Scandic Lahti
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

85 - 91 of 265 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2012

Thankfully I spent only one night in this "hotel". I would have changed the hotel but I was too tired in the middle of the night to do so. I arrived late to the hotel and checked out as early as I could. The hotel was very outdated, poorly preserved and not up to Scandic standards in any way.

I checked in and went to my room. It was dirty in a way I have hardly seen traveling quite a bit in my life. There were stains on the doors and walls, the bathroom had someone´s hairs on the surfaces etc. On top of that a lampshade and controller of blinds were broken. The view was over the parking lot, the room was very tiny without proper sound isolation to the corridor.

I went back down and asked for a clean room. I was upgrated to a better room. Unfortunately hygienic or any other standards were not met here either. The second room was even dirtier than the first one. I was so furious that I took pictures of dirty mirrors, doors, class counters, walls, bathroom sink, bed, bathroom and shower area, you name it, and sent them with my complaints to the hotel manager. He answered back within two weeks, apologized on the behalf of the hotel and gave me coupons for another stay in Scandic hotels and cleaning service SOL (they obviously use this firm for cleaning). Case closed.

I cannot recommend this hotel to anyone. Please, avoid it.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Not much to say about the hotel, a standard Scandic hotel located in the outskirts of Lahti. Good, but a little cramped parking. Nice reception service, a good supply of groceries in the lobby and rooms with a good workplace. But boring room and simple bathroom, and the bed is not too good either. Biggest problem however : A very hot and uncomfortable room ( in May !), and not possible to open the windows! Also no air-conditioning. Fortunately; a service technician is always bringing the neccessary tools on how to unbolt a window ...
Good restaurant; Italian menu that was actually quite ok. Good and nice service as well, and good quality food.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JSHBergen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I stayed here a couple of nights on a business trip. It's a perfectly acceptable, but rather bland and basic business hotel.

The entrance to the hotel appeared to be in the corner of a car park. Inside there is a reception area which appears to double up as a small shop and bar area. The receptionist was friendly and efficient.

My room was clean and had all the facilities I required, but it was smaller than I would have anticipated in a modern business hotel. The bed was a good size and comfortable. The range of programmes on the TV was extremely limited.

One good feature of the hotel was the breakfast. The dining room is as bland as the rest of the hotel, but the breakfast buffet made a serious attempt to cater for all tastes, with a very wide selection available.

Overall the hotel met all my needs, but for the price I would have expected something more.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harpenden_Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Having read some of the recent reviews of this hotel on TripAdvisor, I was rather apprehensive when we arrived for a four day stay to coincide with the Lahti Sibelius Festival. I need not have worried. Yes, the hotel is a bit dated, but the rooms are clean and comfortable. The hotel staff were extremely helpful - especially important, since our cases had failed to arrive! Breakfasts were good. It was an issue that there is no functioning air conditioning system and windows cannot be opened, but our room was provided with an electic fan, which was perfectly adequate for a stay in September. I was not over keen on the parking arrangements - the rather small car park was open to all comers, provided they swiped their credit card on arrival and departure. However, this seems to be fairly standard in Finland. (Why should anyone expect free or discounted parking?) When we left I in fact forgot to swipe my card and faced being charged with several days parking fees, but a simple call to the hotel and then to the parking company rectified the situation.

Room Tip: Can't think of any.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosamunde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Scandic Hotel Lahti.
By far the worst hotel service, rooms and overall experience.

Paid parking and reception won't give you hotel card to get free or discounted parking (parking is at Hotels courtyard)-
We checked in asking double room with king size bed… well we got 2 small beds separately. Excuse… there is nothing available. Well morning I asked another receptionist and hotel is nearly empty?

No Aircon, can't open windows, inside of hotel looks like school accommodation from 70´s.
I have to say, by far the WORST experience comparing money paid (100eur. per night).

Avoid this hotel if possible.

Room Tip: Avoid this!
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Masterdreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

The hotels in Finland are expensive, that's a fact, but you might then expect return for your money. As the sun was shining and it was one of the few days in Finland when theres over +25C, the room was burning hot with only a fan to keep you cool. This was absolutely a disappointment.
However, the room was clean, the staff was friendly, and the breakfast was great, except for the coffee, which was too hot. Average hotel in good location, bit pricy though.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JonesMopolla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahti
0.3 mi away
Solo Sokos Hotel Lahti Seurahuone
0.4 mi away
Cumulus Lahti
Cumulus Lahti
#3 of 6 in Lahti
115 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kauppahotelli Grand
Kauppahotelli Grand
#4 of 6 in Lahti
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Scandic Vierumaki
Scandic Vierumaki
#1 of 2 in Vierumaki
297 reviews
19.7 mi away
Finlandia Hotel Kumpeli
Finlandia Hotel Kumpeli
#1 of 1 in Heinola
36 reviews
0.2 mi away
Guesthouse Little Tundra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Lahti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Lahti

Address: Vesijaervenkatu 1, Lahti 15100, Finland
Location: Finland > Tavastia Proper > Lahti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Lahti
Price Range: $108 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Lahti 3.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Scandic Hotels, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Scandic Lahti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing