We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel under renovation”
Review of Scandic Lahti

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Scandic Lahti
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Lahti
GreenLeadersBronze level
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 422 helpful votes
“Average hotel under renovation”
Reviewed June 14, 2011

This hotel is located at the busy road junction very close to the city centre. The fast food restaurant Hesburger as well as car wash are adjacent to the hotel. There is only 10 minutes walk to the central square with restaurants. I suggest you to go to Mamma Maria Italian restaurant for dinner, you won’t be disappointed. The hotel’s restaurant is shabby and more suitable for breakfast than dinner. However I have got a dinner once there. The only girl in the entre restaurant was like a jack of all trades: bartender, cashier, waiter and most likely the cook also. I think so because the entire menu consisted of very similar selection of products: salmon salad, and same salmon with asparagus, asparagus soup, etc. I believe all the food is just prepared raw material, nothing was cooked, but just warmed up with microwave or oven. Costsaving!

Hotel features free Wi-Fi, sauna, and small swimming pool with chairs to relax. Note that there are 2 types of rooms: renovated and not renovated. I believe in some time all of them would be renovated. Strongly not recommended to stay at old room: it is really old and worn. The renovated room is quite okay, clean and spacious, however with old TV set (not flat). There is no air condition in the room, consider that if you going to stay there during hot time. Windows are closed by default and you have to ask reception for a handle key to open it.

Breakfast is very similar to regular Finnish breakfast: it is plentiful with lots of food. Free parking adjacent to the main entrance. Small shop with salads, sandwiches, drinks, tea/coffee and other emergency stuff is located at the reception.

Room Tip: Ask for renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Usenko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    77
    86
    30
    11
See reviews for
42
72
18
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Potsdam
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2010

Don't be fooled by their website: For example, the pool is by far not as grand as it seems (it's small, aged and in the basement). And the room? It must be the suite - because I had to book a "superior" room (as normal ones were sold out) and had to check with reception whether this is really one (because it was maybe half as large as the one on the website). I was told that "superior" means renovated and a cord-less telephone. Another strange thing: This must be one of the very few hotels which you enter through the parking garage. On the other hand: it's central, the breakfast is reasonable and included, wifi for free, and inspite of the central (meaning: in the middle of major roads) location it's reasonable quite if you keep the windos shut.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rb63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lahti, Finland
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2010

We stayed there one night. Our expectations were not high but the hotel exceed them.

Scandic Lahti (Former Salpaus Lahti) is next to railway station in a busy intersection. The traffic noise carries inside rooms but is not a total nuisance. The age of the hotel is visible and rooms are in general very modest. The Scandic breakfast is branded for a helthy option and it really is it. Parking is easy and doesn't cost anything.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Timo K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2010

I stayed in this hotel with friends for work 4-5 nights in March 2010. There's a free parking and the hotel is very easy to find when you're arriving by car in the city and it's about 5 min walk from the railway station. There's a small shop open until 11 pm near the hotel. People at the reception were very friendly. We had booked at least 2 months in advance the cheapest room for 3 (two with an extra bed, which felt comfortable). The room was rather small for 3 (compared with finnish hotel in general which normally have more space) very basic but with all the comfort and facilities of a 3-4 star hotel, and so was the bathroom. Comfortable beds and quiet nights. The whole building was very clean but without charm, because of that kind of architecture, but so is the town of Lahti, it doesn't have any type of charisma, feels like a new city quickly constructed in the 40-80's, intersection of many big roads. The only problem of the room was the very small window, I'm not sure if one could open it correctly. Downstairs, there was big saunas separately for men and women and a swimming pool with cold water, perfect after the sauna and really empty of people! Though I doubt it's the same hotel's pool you can see in their website.. Breakfast was a very large buffet with much choices! From the normal Best Western 4* warm breakfast food to more finnish type of pastries, fruits, different types of breads etc. Missed just All Bran. I wonder when they'll start to offer also soymilk:) For Finland it just missed the allergy informations, you would have to ask the waitress. Few times we made ourselves sandwiched there for midday. You could buy alcoholic drinks from the reception desk, it's like a small bar. Due to some problems one person from our small group had to leave after the first day. In the evening back at the hotel, I noticed they didn't understand that, as the third bed was still in our room. Anyway after mentioning about it at the reception, someone came to pick up the bed right away and also our bill was surprisingly smaller than we though, so they counted like 2 persons only and there was no hidden fees. Internet connection was very fast and for free. Walk to the center was about 7 min. This hotel was a very good choice, free internet, free parking, nice staff, clean and quiet. If I go back I would try maybe something more than the standard room. Anyway, love hotels with swimming pool especially when there's a sauna!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ghost_object
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thame, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2010

The hotel is located close to the railway station and is in walking distance of the city centre. The outside of the hotel is very unimpressive, but the inside has been recently renovated.

The internet connection was very expensive, but it was possible to get access for free from a computer at the bar.

  • Liked — Convenient location
  • Disliked — Cost of internet connection
  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Fred G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2009

We arrived Lahti, late at night, hoping to find a cosy hotel by the lake, but eventually arrived this hotel which was quite promynent, and decided to stay, We were surprised at the high price they charged us (130 euro) We payed much less in Helsinki and Kuopio for much nicer hotels. This hotel needs some renovation - The rooms are quite small, the furniture is old, the carpets are ugly and worn out, we had hard time to open the doors with their strange coded card. Breafast was fine.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nnnggg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lahti hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahti
0.4 mi away
Cumulus Lahti
Cumulus Lahti
#3 of 6 in Lahti
108 reviews
0.3 mi away
Solo Sokos Hotel Lahti Seurahuone
0.4 mi away
Kauppahotelli Grand
Kauppahotelli Grand
#4 of 6 in Lahti
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Scandic Vierumaki
Scandic Vierumaki
#1 of 2 in Vierumaki
278 reviews
19.7 mi away
Finlandia Hotel Kumpeli
Finlandia Hotel Kumpeli
#1 of 1 in Heinola
35 reviews
17.1 mi away
Jokelan Kartano
Jokelan Kartano
#1 of 1 in Hameenkoski
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Lahti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Lahti

Property: Scandic Lahti
Address: Vesijaervenkatu 1, Lahti 15100, Finland
Location: Finland > Tavastia Proper > Lahti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Lahti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Lahti 3.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Lahti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing