We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Much needed relaxing retreat.”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Las Chaumas

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Kitchen View From Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
12 reviews
The Kitchen
View From Kitchen
The Dining Area
View From Dining Area
The Lounge
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 1
View from each Bedroom
Shower Room with Spa/Power Shower
The Patio Area
Garden
Relax and Unwind
Garden
View From Balcony
Enter a caption for your photo
The River Auvezere at the bottom of the Garden
Private access down to 'The Cottage'
The 40 Hectare Lake Rouffiac - 10 mins away
Lake Rouffiac
Brantome - The Venice of the Perigord
The Forge at Savignac Ledrier - 10 mins away
Hautefort - 15 minutes away
Pompadour Racecourse - 15 minutes away
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Lanouaille, Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
AngelaS19...
Essex, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Much needed relaxing retreat. ”
Reviewed September 2, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

On arrival at Las Chaumas we were welcomed by Gordon who showed us around and gave us some useful informatio, such as reversing into the drive especially as we had a large truck. This was fine and we never had any issues. The steps going down to the cottage were a bit uneven but we were aware of this matter and even though my husband has mobility issues the steps were fine.
The grounds were natural but well maintained. Even though Gordon explained that it wasn't possible to fish from the property he told us that there was access close by. This was especially suitable for my husband as it had a small pontoon which was perfect for my husband and his mobility issues.
The cottage was lovely with excellent living space. Yes the bathroom wasn't brand spanking new but everything was clean and worked well. The only issue we had was with the toilet and Gordon was over within minutes to sort this issue. After this everything was fine.
Cleaning products and materials were supplied even though I had bought some eco friendly products myself. The only thing I forgot to pack was matches but,thankfully, Gordon had thought of this and there was a large box in the drawer, which was handy for the kettle, grill and barbecue. A nice touch was the welcome pack: wine, bread, cheese, tea, coffee, sugar and milk greatly appreciated after a long journey.
Gordon and Marie were very friendly and helpful without being obtrusive.
My husband and I needed rest and relaxation and that was certainly what we experienced at Las Chaumas. The weather was glorious and the plunge pool was a godsend.
We visited the surrounding towns and villages, bought local.produce and barbecued most evenings. We thoroughly enjoyed our Monday evening barbecue at one of the most beautiful villages (Segur-le-Chateau) we have visited on our numerous visits to France. We returned there on 3 more occasions during our visit. The lake at Ruffiac was excellent with fabulous facilities and a nice restaurant too.
We thoroughly enjoyed our experience at Las Chaumas and didn't want to leave. We are considering a return visit next year. Thank you Gordon and Marie and also Bailey (a lovely little dog).

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robin704
nottingham
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not as expected”
Reviewed August 28, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

On our arrival Gordon was welcoming and friendly. The gite is positioned on a sharp bend which makes access tricky so you have to be quick in and out. Although we were aware of the steps down to the gite from the car park area, this was made more difficult by the steps being overgrown and generally neglected. The gite itself is spacious but showing signs of its age especially in the kitchen and bathroom. For example, the toaster had an English 3 point plug (unusable), the fridge door did not seal and the kettle had to be boiled on the hob and lit with a match to name but a few. Essential items that are normally available in the kitchen were not to be had i.e. bin liners, j cloths etc.

Our biggest disappointment was the misleading information about access to the river at the bottom of the garden. Before we booked in February 2017 we specifically asked about fishing from here and were told it was possible. There is no way that you can even get through the undergrowth at the bottom of the garden, let alone fish. Strangely enough these details have recently been changed on their website.

Disappointed.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 31, 2017
Dear Sue, thanks you for your review. I would like to reply to some of your comments. It is clearly stated in our guest information book that any issues are raised immediately, so they can be dealt with.
I do not understand your comments regarding the steps, as the garden is regularly maintained and the steps are kept clear, also the kettle and toaster are brand new (hardly showing signs of age). As I pointed out on your arrival, there is an adaptor in the kitchen draw for your uk appliances and also the toaster. I have checked the fridge door and there isn't a problem with it, in fact its been used since your departure with no complaints and yes, you do need to light the gas hob with a match...........
Essential items - there was a bin liner provided in the bin on your arrival along with eco friendly, washing up liquid, laundry detergent, multi surface spray, micro pore cloth, washing up sponge and toilet rolls, not to mention tea, coffee, sugar, milk, bottle of mineral water, bottle of wine, cheese, bread and matches ( all of which you failed to mention ) Disappointed.
Finally, I would like to address the access to the river. As I explained to Cliff on your arrival, because of recent storms, access to the river from the garden was restricted for safety reasons. But as I pointed out, there is another route to the river, less than a 5 minutes walk. What you also failed to mention was the morning I spent driving Cliff around, showing him a variety of fishing areas along the river.
Disappointed.
Kind Regards, Gordon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
680renee
Utrecht, The Netherlands
1 review
“Excellent place for exploring the Dordogne”
Reviewed August 8, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Our family of four stayed one week at Las Chaumas, a lovely holiday cottage/house with a large garden and a very nice plunge pool to cool down after a day exploring the area. The owner is very kind and helpful, the cottage well maintained and has very pleasant outdoor seating. While the cottage is situated at a very quiet place, there are plenty of things to do close by. Nearby Lake Rouffiac has a good beach and swimming area, as well as facilities for wake boarding, kayaking and tree climbing. Other things to do are all within less than an hour drive (some only 10 minutes), so a very good location to explore the region.

Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan T
Mael-Carhaix, France
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Peace and beauty”
Reviewed October 29, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

This gite is sited on the south-facing side of a narrow valley. In October the woods facing were stunning with colours changing every day.The gite is comfortable and well equipped and we were glad of the soft warm duvets as a couple of nights were frosty.For people with toddlers the garden is very steep as is the staircase. Should the weather be wet there are plenty of books and games as well as satellite TV.
The Garden has a wide choice of seating areas and, if you are feeling energetic, there are various walking trails accessible from the bottom of the garden. There are various typical French resaurants serving a set lunch menu within easy reach though some are closed on Mondays.
There seem to be lovely châteaux around every corner and it makes an excellent Base for visits around the area on the quiet though twisty roads.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda o
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful relaxing retreat”
Reviewed September 13, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We sadly only had one week in this lovely gite. The owners, Gordon and Marie were excellent hosts and we could not fault their very warm customer service. The property is very clean and well equipped and very homely. Although private the owners are always on hand if needed but never intrusive. We visited some lovely places suggested by Gordon and Marie and were not disappointed. Beautiful setting if you want utter peace to relax and unwind. We were very sad to leave and only wished we had booked two weeks but we will definitely book again and would recommend to our family and friends. Thank you so much for making our holiday a great experience. Linda and Steve

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah5673...
Tonbridge, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“excellently equipped gite in beautiful surroundings”
Reviewed September 9, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Helpful owners, on hand to give advice about the area if required. Comfortable well equipped gite. Plenty of outdoor areas to sit/eat, including hammocks! Set in own grounds with lots of wildlife. Peaceful location, but within an hour's drive of many interesting places to visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: tranquility
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welovegre...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful 2 weeks”
Reviewed September 1, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We were late booking, and after lots of wasted googling, we were lucky to stumble upon a cancellation for the 2 weeks we wanted at Las Chaumas.
The situation of the cottage is beautiful, sitting above its own land, on a south facing slope, giving wonderful sunshine for a large part of the day. Weather was superb and we loved sitting in the garden, whether in the open, under the high quality gazebo tent, or under some of the trees in the grounds.
The owners, Gordon and his wife, couldn't have been more helpful. It was great to talk about the type of things we liked doing, and for Gordon to drop in the next day and suggest things locally to fit that, like an art day in one of the towns.
Gordon has landscaped some of the grounds, and it was good to have badminton ready set up for the family.
We enjoyed the area particularly as it had lovely places to visit but was not overly touristy or crowded. We noticed the difference when we drove outside the immediate area to do things like kayaking.
We felt it was great value for money, and would certainly go there again, if we return to the area with the family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The situation, the view and the owners
Liked least: Temporary difficulties with wifi through electrical storm
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing