We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything which can swim or float in Finland - under one roof”

Maritime Centre Vellamo
Ranked #2 of 52 things to do in Kotka
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Russia
Level Contributor
190 reviews
116 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Everything which can swim or float in Finland - under one roof”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

This title - just a joke, certainly. By the way, there are several museums.
I liked it very much because of following:
1. Wave-style architecture of building - ver yimpressive. It is better to look at it from the hill - see my photo.
2. Around building - a lot of interesting things, like the oldest ice-breaker.
3. On the first floor in Boat Hall we saw the multi-seater sport kayak, which belonged to Australian Olympic team. This team took part in Olympic games 1952 in Finland, but lost a game. After games, according story by our museum guide, this sailor team had no money on return way. That is why they sold their boat to Finnish sport club.
4. I liked museum which contains information about steam ships XIX-XX centuries - parts of ships, models, sailor's closes, stories and history - it was interesting.
5. As far as I understand, there are various temporary exhibisions from time to time. May 2012 we saw exhibition devoted to Russian ships that sank off the coast of Finland in XVII century - these ships were full of treasures. Some of findings we represented in the museum.

Some exhibits in museums prepared especially for children.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank CopperTeaPot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    33
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
AMS
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Insight to Finnish history”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

Restricted to Finland's history it sure does give you an a sense of history: cruises, commercial ships and culture.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Glukija
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lohja, Finland
Level Contributor
156 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“A must "Sea"”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

This gem is about an hour plus, east of Helsinki, but is worth the drive. Includes many artifacts from the shipping industry throughout the ages. Lots of costumes, wet suits, and period pieces, as well as full size boats, hovercrafts, and a sailboat from the Olympics. Some interactive displays, lots of videos, and multi-language explanations on each. Very informative of maritime history not only in Finland, but surrounding countries.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Vikingbymarriage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
133 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Interactive retrospection”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

Very interesting modern architecture. Three museums at the price of one. Interactive retrospection of the past and present of sailing, and the Finnish way of living. The museum restaurant is good value for money and offers a nice view over the harbour.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank TuulaV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthernFinland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Some interesting points”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

I was a bit hesitant about whether Wellamomwas worth visiting or not. It was. The changing exhibition was interesting, there was enough to see and te kids absolutely loved the sea rescue game visitors can play.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Taateli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maritime Centre Vellamo also viewed

 

Been to Maritime Centre Vellamo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing