We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel centrally located”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Original Sokos Hotel Seurahuone
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kotka
Kirkkonummi, Finland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice hotel centrally located”
Reviewed March 13, 2012

Stayed here on a business trip. The hotel seemed very quiet and peaceful, at least partially because there was not that many patrons when I stayed. My superior room on the 7th floor was spacious, modern and clean with flat screen and wired internet connection (wi-fi available only in the public areas on the first floor). Bed was very good and I slept like a baby, which I usually don't do at hotels. Breakfast was above Finnish average but nothing to write home about. Recommended if you stay in Kotka.

Room Tip: Rooms in the new part are nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Schubi01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    69
    47
    7
    5
See reviews for
31
26
9
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norway
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2012

Stayed there for 2 nignts in February on business purposes. Nice staff, decent rooms. A little problem with internet cnnection, but got a new room where it worked.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martel_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rossendale
Level Contributor
345 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2012

I stay here when going to Hamina. It is the default choice - there is not much else. It is clean and decent if unexciting. As noted elsewhere the new part has the better rooms but the older ones are OK too.
There is a traditional restaurant and a tex mex restaurant on site.
Service usually OK too.

Room Tip: Ask for new part and off the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeylandAtlantean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
160 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2011

The location of is central in this country town. I walked from the bus station on arrival.

Room was very clean and modern, recently refurbished. Not very large but functional. The room was quiet and I slept well although I prefer a larger bed (there were two single beds) .

Breakfast was good and staff friendly.

There is a restaurant in the hotel. I arrived very tired and was happy that just across the street there was also a pizza take-out restaurant.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kauris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2011

I was on a business trip to Kotka. I happen to Stay at this hotel.
Sweet - The hotel location is very good. Its location is next to the Park area. A little walk will lead you to the Famous Maritime Centre Vellamo.
Sour - The hotel staff's way of welcoming was not good.
Bitter - There was no proper information and guidelines of the places of interest near the hotel.
Its a very good city for travelling during summer.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms which have the park view. Its huge windows gives you a nice panaromic view of the City...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ssKishore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2011

I was in Kotka to visit family and friends, but unfortunately there are not a lot of hotel choices there. That being said the Seurahuone is a reasonable place to stay. It is convienent being only a short walk from the Bus station and right in the center of town. The staff is courteous; however, the rooms are a bit small. On the flip side they are quite modern and clean.

Seurahone has a restaurant on premises and a couple bars / clubs which can be a fun heading into and during the weekend. It is a quick walk from the hotel to the waterfront which is a lovely area. During the summer months you will find concerts, line dancing and other events along the harbor and a beautiful park area. Kotka itself has the potential to become a quaint and lively summer city.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Willyt962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku, Finland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2011

There is old part and a new part in this hotel. Old part is little worn. I recommend to ask for the rooms that are located in the new part of this hotel.
Good breakfast, hospital staff.
Good and clean sauna with a beautiful view over the city.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Raikuli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kotka
3.3 mi away
Hotel Cumulus Kotka
Hotel Cumulus Kotka
#2 of 2 in Kotka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
11.0 mi away
Hotel Hamina
Hotel Hamina
#1 of 1 in Hamina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Santalahti
Hotel Santalahti
#1 of 8 in Kotka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hotel Kestikarhu
Hotel Kestikarhu
#7 of 8 in Kotka
3.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
14.0 mi away
Next Hotel Patruunantalo
2.5 mi away
Karkisaari B&B
Karkisaari B&B
#2 of 8 in Kotka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Original Sokos Hotel Seurahuone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Original Sokos Hotel Seurahuone

Property: Original Sokos Hotel Seurahuone
Address: Keskuskatu 21, Kotka 48100, Finland
Location: Finland > Kymenlaakso > Kotka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kotka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Original Sokos Hotel Seurahuone 4*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Commercial Hotel in modern 5-story corner building next to central park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Original Sokos Hotel Seurahuone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing