We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique atmosphere to have breakfast”
Review of Ekberg

Ekberg
Ranked #3 of 20 Dessert in Helsinki
Cuisines: Scandinavian, International, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Kampinmalmi
Espoo, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unique atmosphere to have breakfast”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

One of the oldest cafes in Helsinki situated in the heart of the city. Nice breakfast buffet with fresh bread, eggs, cold cuts, cheese and pastries.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank violas2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    128
    59
    18
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Japan
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Very nice breakfast”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

I can put 4th grade onto this lovely place. We went to there very early morning just after they opened it. Did not have breakfast buffet but have Cinnamon roll and coffee. Helsinki style Cinnamon roll was big enough for breakfast of japanese old guy like me. Also it was tasty. I love to be here this cozy place again in morning. Maybe I will try buffet if I am enough hungry.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank トシクン
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Oldest Cafe”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

This is the oldest cafe in Helsinki with a friendly service and wonderful atmosphere. Great cakes, pastries and Danish. The breakfast buffet is very popular and it may be difficult to find a free table in the morning. But it is worth trying.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Juhani S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Lovely!”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We whizzed past this place on the bus tour. The audio guide said it was the oldest cafe/konditori in Helsinki. Any excuse to have a cake and I am there. The decor is Finnish art nouveau and it still has the old wooden in out doors, very charming. The buffet was very popular, but as vegetarians we opted for a mushroom quiche with salad, a baguette with mozzarella, strawberries and melon, shared a cinnamon apple cake topped with meringue with really good coffee. Definitely worth a visit!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Smultronpod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level 6 Contributor
249 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“Excellent breakfast buffet”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

This cafe is rather expensive with pastries costing more than 5 Euros or sandwiches up to 15 Euros. The price of the breakfast buffet, in comparison to these prices, is reasonable taking into account what is served: good choice of breads, ham, cheese, salmon, porridge, eggs, juice, cereals, yoghurt and pastries. Coffee included in the price, 17,80€ in the weekends. Very popular and crowded. A good experience!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jorge60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ekberg also viewed

 
Helsinki, Uusimaa
Helsinki, Uusimaa
 

Been to Ekberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing