We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good food, nice atmosphere, OK service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kosmos

Kosmos
Ranked #100 of 1,453 Restaurants in Helsinki
Cuisines: Scandinavian, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Kampinmalmi
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very good food, nice atmosphere, OK service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

I have eaten at Kosmos several times and it always delivers. Top notch food in a great atmosphere of classic Helsinki dining.

The only thing preventing this from being "Excellent" is that the pricing is what you would expect, a bit high, and the service is just OK.

However, you will not be disappointed by Kosmos, I will be sure to visit whenever I get a chance!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cghall74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    106
    55
    16
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lappeenranta, Southern Finland, Finland
Level Contributor
127 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Well basically it's a classic restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

One of the oldest, well know restaurants at Helsinki. It's a classy place and we went there to have some supper with a basic attitude of young guys just going to get something to eat. Then we saw this place and went there. Service was perfect. We ordered some lamb and some wine they recommended and i could say it was a bull's eye. Everything worked perfectly, lamb was good and wine was superb. Staff was nice. I could say a money well spent.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MokkaJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku, Finland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“High standars”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Good, if a bit unpersonal service, but very efficient. Food very good, classics done perfectly. Best glas of red I ever had when just ordering " a glas of red"; unfortunately I did not ask the name of the wine...

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Patricia077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
helsinki
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Classic menu”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

My personal favorite when You are looking for good service, excellent classic food with local twist. Go and enjoy! Reservations suggested!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank harriontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Over priced food and appalling service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

A table for four, booked in advance, found us shoe horned into a tiny corner and unable to sit down until WE persuaded the adjoining table to move up. No help from a very casual, disinterested, verging on the rude, waiter. He couldn't even serve wine without spilling it on the table cloth. Then dismissed it with a joke. The food was fairly average and could in no way justify the price. All in all a disappointing experience capped by a 10 euro bill for hanging up four coats. A restaurant clearly living off a reputation from the past it no longer merits.

Helpful?
Thank Wilf W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kosmos also viewed

 
Helsinki, Uusimaa
 

Been to Kosmos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing