We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A tasty classic”
Review of Salve

Salve
Ranked #48 of 1,523 Restaurants in Helsinki
Cuisines: Russian, Scandinavian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Kampinmalmi
Helsinki, Finland
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A tasty classic”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

As mentioned before, the restaurant is old, a classic. Pub-like atmosphere with delicious home-style finnish/international food. Do go hungry as the portions are big.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TildeHilde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    213
    80
    20
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“The locals eat here!”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Our party of 5 had a great time in this charming place. The waitress cheerfully answered our many questions even returning to the kitchen once to get the right answer. We ordered baltic herring, salmon stew and ground elk and each dish included a trip to their small but tasty salad bar. As the place filled up it was apparent that many of the diners were locals, joking with the wait staff,etc. The walls are filled with seafaring paintings, model ships, and other fishing and maritime objects. In summary you can't go wrong at Salve for a reasonably priced meal with great service!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank speedroberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Salt overloaded, but tasty”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We wanted to try finnish food. The food tastes not bad, and portion is generous but too salt. I liked the clear salmon soup with chunks of salmon and potato, but wished it was less salty. The reindeer meat was minced n made into meat patty which I didn't enjoy as the texture is missing. Elk stew is unique, with a very strong flavour.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bakupaku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wedowee, Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Friendly service, large portions”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We ate at Salve on our last night in Helsinki. The restaurant is around the corner from our hotel (Radisson Blu Seaside) and we selected it based upon location and tripadvisor reviews. The portions are large and mains come with salad from the salad bar. My husband had the reindeer which came on a bed of mashed potatoes and had cranberries as well. He said it was good. I had the meatballs with also came on a bed of mashed potatoes and pickled cucumber spears. It comes with beetroot as well which I asked that they not include. Both of our dishes were good. The restaurant was busy, but service was still quick and friendly.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank linmikga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Looking for the Elk”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

…in an old port fishers’ tavern. Of course there are no more fisherman around, but Salve is still located in the Old Port of Helsinki. Very nice and informal atmosphere. We were the only tourists in the rather full restaurant. This is always a good sign.
My wife ordered snails and I decided on the Salmon Soup which was excellent and unique. The quality of fish in Scandinavia is always exquisite.
As main course we decided on the house famous deep fried herrings while I choose the dish I came to Helsinki for: Wallenberg Elk. Everybody should test it once. Quite similar to a huge Hamburger, but with testy, reach sauce.
I had a Lapland Cheese Cake which doesn’t contain neither bread or cheese but was very good !
Since the wines in Finland are usually replaced by Vodka we had a good heavy local beer

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nicolae I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salve also viewed

 
Helsinki, Uusimaa
Helsinki, Uusimaa
 

Been to Salve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing