We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Okay” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Viola

Viola
Ranked #942 of 1,453 Restaurants in Helsinki
Cuisines: European, Italian, Bar, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Kampinmalmi
UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Okay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

Standard hotel restaurant fare - but you can get a half decent pizza. Only draft beer available was Heineken - couldn't even get a Lapin Kulta.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank diesied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    29
    27
    18
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food, tiny portions”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

This place is great if you're looking for an easy, small bite to eat in a cozy environment. Bring your wallet though as the portions are tiny and the prices hefty.

    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FarAwayFields4Ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sussex
Level Contributor
201 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Measly portions”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

I arrived at the Radisson Hotel for a 4 day business trip and fancied easy dining that night and not to walk around. I decided to eat here as its the hotel's own restaurant.
The atmosphere is nice, plenty of tables and a bar you can sit up at
I ordered the prawns to start (Euro 10) and lamb as a main (Euro24)
The prawns came out, five of them with four halves of tomato, not much for 10 euros I thought although it tasted nice. When my main course came out I was astonished! A small dollop of polenta mash, a piece of lamb that was I swear no more than 100g and two bites it was gone and again 4 halves of tomatoes (they like their halves of tomatoes in Finland it seems) I was quite disappointed at the tiny pathetic portions. The waitress was kind enough to offer a free glass of wine for me as a way of an apology, that was good of her.
The quality of the food is not of question, but I wish their portion sizes were in line of their prices

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pier P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Firenze, Toscana, Italy
Level Contributor
122 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Italian cuisine in Finland”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

This restaurant is located at the ground floor of the Radisson Blu Seaside Hotel, of which it is an integral part. Hotel guests can access it directly from the hall, whereas patrons who don’t stay can get in from the street.

The atmosphere is friendly and the setting very pleasant, with sofas and cosy corners. In the back there is also aplay room, The Magic Castle, for children. They normally offer a Tuscan menu that as Tuscans my wife and I appreciated a lot. We must say that the quality of the food and its preparation are on a par with any upper range Tuscan restaurant, but the size of the serving is about half of what we are used to, even choosing the “large” portion (the “small” ones are really ludicrous).

The staff are very kind, but when I showed my Carlsson Club membership card they did not apply the discount indicated on the menu. The price is somewhat high, especially considering the skimpy portions. However I would recommend it to those who don’t have many chances of tasting the Tuscan cuisine.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Stefano M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“I'd eat somewhere else next time”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

Small serves and for a tourist, the food was expensive when factoring in the exchange rate. The food was tasty and well presented but small serves - even for me and I'm a small eater.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank beecroftpam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Viola also viewed

Helsinki, Uusimaa
 
Helsinki, Uusimaa
 

Been to Viola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing