We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, nice service!”
Review of Viola

Viola
Ranked #955 of 1,485 Restaurants in Helsinki
Cuisines: European, Italian, Bar, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Kampinmalmi
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good food, nice service!”
Reviewed May 31, 2012

Had family lunch there and were satisfied. Food was good (they had special asparagus menu)and no problem to make some changes in the meal (potatos instead rice etc). As they just had the Mothers Day brunch then maybe it was little bit noisy, as the staff was cleaning the rooms and tables, and prepared the restaurant for the afternoon, but we didn´t care. As we were hungry and wanted to just eat :). Note that as they use "old fashioned" bank terminals to use credit cards, then all cards are not accepted by the payment terminal.... we had that problem.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SmartEstonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    29
    27
    18
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
334 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Nice food in a good location”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

A large group of us visited on a warm May evening. The location on the edge of the botanical gardens was nice & we sipped drinks in the outdoor area before going inside to eat. The place has wooden floors, wall panellings & ceiling & is very pretty though with all that wood it means it can get noisy with no carpets to absorb the customers' chatter & laughter.
The food was pleasant & atmosphere relaxed. I notice that other reviewers talked about slow service, I can't recall having a long wait, but we were in a big group drinking wine & enjoying each other's company so probably wouldn't haven't noticed if this was the case.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Scousepeasant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
helsinki
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“not a typical hotel restaurant - nice interior and good food”
Reviewed April 22, 2012

the best terrace for sunlovers - absolutely - be prepared
to burn your skin. the terrace is located almost opposite to the harbour and is very popular among locals. if you want to I recommend to go inside. otherwise the seagulls might come to visit your table.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank mrs1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“good”
Reviewed March 14, 2012

great risotto, regualr good pizza
friendly service
slow kitchen

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Maayan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
116 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good club sandwich”
Reviewed March 6, 2012

Pretty decent food (for being in Finland that is). The service was excellent .

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jimZon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Viola also viewed

Helsinki, Uusimaa
Helsinki, Uusimaa
 
Helsinki, Uusimaa
 

Been to Viola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing