We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience , loved the service”
Review of Chez Dominique - CLOSED

Chez Dominique
Price range: $37 - $437
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Finland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great experience , loved the service”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Great experience lovely and refined tastest. We really appreciated the service level.
Thank you for the unforgetable visit.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jabinho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    29
    13
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Exaggeratedly tiny portions”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Visited Chez Dominique this Spring for the second time after a long break from my first visit. I was totally disappointed in the quality and the tiniest portions ever. I have been dining in several restaurants with this fine dining concept in Helsinki as well as in other countries so I do understand that portions are small. However, I find them exaggeratedly so in Chez Dominique. Food quality was rather alright, nothing really special.
On a more positive side, I liked the stylish and inviting feel of the interior and the service was very good.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ElizabethCHelsinki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
820 reviews
493 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
“Petite in size Delightful in taste”
Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

Centrally located near Esplanade
Modern and pleasant decor
Very attentive staffs . Great service.
A lot of emphasis on food presentation which is full mark
Very small portion
Tried 6 courses surprise menu
Very refine dining
Deservingly 2 star in Finland
Worth the value
Highly recommend

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Happy258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
440 reviews
267 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Wonderful...”
Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

Chez Dominique started "bye bye dominique" bistro style at 1st of May 2013. We visited restauraunt during this theme and were amazed!! Food was just incredble! Sommelier amazed us with his wine choises. Small minus goes for a service, during our dinner all went fine, when we were leaving my company went visit ladies room, waiter just took her coat from coatroom and handed it to me...There i was.. Standing coat at my arms for 10mins.. at 2 Michelin star restauraunt...

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank GlobalTraveller81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Level Contributor
197 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Art on your plate”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Yes, it must be good because it has earned two Michelin Stars. And it is, but...

We had a seven-course dinner. Portions are tiny but we had several 'greetings' from the kitchen. So, the total amount of portions was thirteen plus tasty something for bread.

It was a very good deal because we had it as 'pay one, have two'. For normal price it would have been so much that we would not have experienced it at all. Maybe we just do not 'understand' this kind of food for the high price. Must say that we've had better food of the same level for much less.

It is ridiculous what they charge for water! But the food is lovely to look at and it tastes good. A big minus was that one of our party has a food allergy. One of his portions was replaced with something else and it was a disaster. They should have tried a little bit more with that one portion.

Service is good but is feels somewhat exaggerated. The restaurant itself is beautiful and Finnish design is lovely to look at.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelManiaxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Dominique also viewed

Helsinki, Uusimaa
Helsinki, Uusimaa
 
Helsinki, Uusimaa
Helsinki, Uusimaa
 
Helsinki, Uusimaa
Helsinki, Uusimaa
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing