We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth treating yourself!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Strindberg

Strindberg
Ranked #30 of 1,470 Restaurants in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $30
Cuisines: European, Scandinavian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Worth treating yourself!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

My wife found this restaurant and really wanted to try it. We tried to get a table last minute on Friday night and nothing was available! The maitre'd (I use that expression not to sound pretentious but to give you an idea that the place is a bit posh!) must have seen the look of disappointment on my wifes face and made sure that we would get a place on Saturday. When we turned up on Saturday we were given a really good table by the window! It was like dining in a manor house with lovely decor and excellent staff. Their recommendations were spot on. It is such a romantic place to go to I would recommend it as an anniversary treat! The food was amazing and a lot of love went into the preparation. I felt like I was eating food prepared by someone who has a passion for it. The whole experience was fantastic. There is a cosy bar area too with sofas and a sitting room/library type feel to it. Downstairs has a less formal cafe bar. Will go back again next time I am in Helsinki!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Whatsallthatabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    170
    46
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great food and service at a cost”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

For a great living room feeling, Strindberg is probably the best place in Helsinki. Food is fantastic (the chicken ceaser sandwich is probably the best sandwich I've tasted) and service is with a smile, which is reflected in the cost which is pretty steep. But, you are paying for the atmosphere and food, so no problem.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Choogster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
157 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“wonderful food and atmosphere: head for the main dining room upstairs”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

Centrally located, I had lunch here a couple times during a brief stay in Helsinki; to get up to the main (and more charming dining room) go towards the back of the first floor 'bistro' area, go up the stair case and through the bar area to the restaurant: a large sunny room overlooking the park. The food is excellent, an updated 'traditional' scandinavian cuisine. It's casual-bourgouis style (in the good and not the negative sense)- service can seem a bit slow to urbanites accustomed to rushed meals, but if you relax into the pace and savor the food and ambiance you will thoroughly enjoy this special restaurant.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JAHNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
46 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent menu, friendly service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

This centrally located restaurant is dedicated to the Scandinavian kitchen and the interior decoration is also Scandinavian "old" style. We went there before going to the theatre and had a lovely, three-course set menu. The service is great and the ambiance lively and welcoming.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hipnonni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Cozy cosmopolitan welcome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

Many, many years since last visit hence pleased it existed! Cozy entrance with velvet curtains to keep out cold winds and drafts - thoughtful and elegant gesture. Reminded me of empiric days of affluence and nostalgia. As a meeting place for lunches, snacks and coffees location is perfect and is now adopted as the meeting place for my likeminded and spirited cousin and ME.

Food was delicious and served without delay by friendly, professional and smartly attired personnel. The ambience was that of excellence in providing hospitality, cleanliness, efficiency and not rushing customers but allowing customers to linger and enjoy themselves while being observant and available to serve at a moments notice.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank solveigw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Strindberg also viewed

Helsinki, Uusimaa
Helsinki, Uusimaa
 
 
Helsinki, Uusimaa
Helsinki, Uusimaa
 

Been to Strindberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing