We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hard to find good Chinese in Helsinki”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Dong Bei Hu

Dong Bei Hu
Ranked #310 of 1,470 Restaurants in Helsinki
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Hard to find good Chinese in Helsinki”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

We finally visited this restaurant in February 2013 after many recommendations from friends. Overall, we were happy with the experience - food was very tasty but the service was not great. Our waitress did her best but could hardly understand English or Finnish. The service was also quite slow but luckily we were not in a hurry. Surprisingly there were only 3 starters on the menu so we had Spring Rolls - ok but nothing special. This was followed by Traditional Dumplings - we really liked the pork & cabbage ones but the vegetable ones were not so tasty. We also shared Beef & Squid on an iron plate and Fried Noodles with vegetables - both were enjoyed by all. Fried Bananas & ice-cream finished off the meal. We'll go back again as it's really difficult to find good Chinese food in Helsinki.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AussieHelsinki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    39
    19
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lapua, Finland
Level Contributor
96 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good Chinese in Helsinki”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

China Tiger offers some of the more authentic Chinese cuisine in the middle of Helsinki. For a Chinese restaurant it is rather large in size and has quite a rather cosy athmosphere. You can have rather spicy dishes and they are well indicated in the menu. They seem to use quite a bit dried chili which gives sharper sting in the food than a fresh one. Also garlic is used quite a bit in some dishes. Meals are rather large in size. Personally I would like to have a broader range of Chinese spices used, but this view is based on my limited experience. Staff is friendly and works efficiently.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jari K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Ok food spoiled by poor service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

Arrived at 7.30, was presented with menus at 7.45. Starters arrived at 8.20. Main course at 8.25. Carbs first , a Chinese no-no. No condiments!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tricam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
130 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Authentic Northern Chinese food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

Dong bei hu is one of our favourite Chinese restuarants in Helsinki. After the restuarant moved to Korkeavuorenkatu the space and the ambience improved dramatically. Thankfully the food which was the best part has stayed the same as before! If you are looking for authentic chinese food, Dong Bei hu is the place

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cic92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“quality does not match the price”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

I have been just one and I order duck. It didnt impressed me. I am not very familiar with chinese cuisine but it did not taste very chinese. Unfortunately, duck is quite expensive in this restaurant.
Atmosphere is nice and the waiter who took my order was day daydreaming. But in gerenal I got a decent impression. However, I will go again to fully get a general idea.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jose M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dong Bei Hu also viewed

 
Helsinki, Uusimaa
 

Been to Dong Bei Hu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing