We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big portions of delicious food”
Review of Tony's Deli

Tony's Deli
Ranked #186 of 1,597 Restaurants in Helsinki
Price range: $18 - $59
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Kampinmalmi
Description: Tony's Deli was founded out of love for good Italian and Mediterranean food. At this restaurant, flavour reigns supreme, and the talented kitchen staff use only high quality ingredients to create a culinary experience to savour. The antipasti buffet bows under the weight of the deli's Italian delicacies every evening from Monday through Saturday. You can enjoy delicious dishes from the menu on a regular evening out or for a special celebration. Tony's Deli has a large glass dome giving the restaurant a superb atmosphere.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Went there for celebration dinner and was a good choice. This is not fancy restaurant with tiny portions of contemporary dishes. This is really good food that came with friendly and good service. Risotto was perfect and fish was good. I would have liked creme brulee and sorbet as separate desserts but it was suprisignly good combination. Focaccia was superb. Good choice for larger groups.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank forzaHJK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chef_Anssi, Manager at Tony's Deli, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2014

Dear ForzaHJK,
it is an honor to receive this kind of rating. I feel like if you have seen the heart and passion behind our food. I hope to see you soon again with an even larger group.
Yours, Anssi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (170)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

74 - 78 of 170 reviews

Reviewed April 10, 2014 via mobile

Late lunch at 15.30pm local time and what a great little find on my first visit to Helsinki! A really warm welcome from the Chef who was keen to know where we were from and great service from the girls! Food was truly excellent, really fresh and cooked with passion! Huge portions (and I can eat) and good value for money! If you're in Helsinki, drop in, you won't be disappointed!

1  Thank Charlie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chef_Anssi, Manager at Tony's Deli, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Dear Charlie H,
It was a pleasure to meet you and thank you for this feedback. I am very proud of our smiling staff. They are doing amazing work on a daily basis. I wish to see you soon again.
Yours, Anssi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

We chose to eat a set menu Gustoso, which included tomato-goat cheese soup with croutons as the starter, tender cheek of veal with pan-fried gnocchis and dark thyme sauce as the main course and crème brûlée with lime sorbet as the dessert. All courses were really tasty, I wouldn't change anything in it. Cheek was really tender and the dessert wasn't too sweet (and sorbet made it nicely fresh).

Price of the menu was reasonable in Finnish standards and service was attentive. I could recommend this place, or at least menu Gustoso.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jellona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chef_Anssi, Manager at Tony's Deli, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Dear Jellona,
This kind of rating make us happy and humble. Thank you! We will do everything to keep up the good work. Looking forward to seeing you soon in Tony’s deli again.
Yours, Anssi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Went to this atmospheric restaurant with 12 friends and enjoyed it very much. The general opinion was that the food was good and not too expensive. Very large portions, you won't leave this restaurant hungry! The staff was very patient and friendly considering the size and festive mood of our gang. Have to try this one again!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Leo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chef_Anssi, Manager at Tony's Deli, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2014

Happy late birthday dear Leo T,

it is wonderful to hear that your evening was a success. Big or small groups –all are welcome!
(and no one will leave hungry, you are absolutely correct)
I hope to see you soon again.
Yours,
Anssi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Good risotto, but way too much to eat with antipasto's at the start. Very friendy staff and good wine :)

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank Riina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chef_Anssi, Manager at Tony's Deli, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2014

Dear Riina T,
Thank you for your rating us!
We do not mind our guests leaving food on the plate if we put too much on it. I have seen minimalist cooking in various restaurants, and we have chosen another path. No guest shall ever leave Tony’s deli feeling hungry. Solid, tasty dishes, friendly staff, modest pricing and happy guests. As simple, as that :) . Take care, and hope to see you soon again!
Yours,
Anssi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tony's Deli also viewed

 
Helsinki, Uusimaa
 
Helsinki, Uusimaa
 

Been to Tony's Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing