We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely fantastic”
Review of Olo Ravintola

Olo Ravintola
Ranked #2 of 1,534 Restaurants in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $61 - $129
Cuisines: Scandinavian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Restaurant Olo treats you to a gastronomic journey filled with Nordic influence. It's all about the best ingredients and clear, modern flavors. Naturally wine plays an integral part in the dining experience. Our cellars are filled with interesting wines, including wines that are exclusively available at Olo. In our restaurant, you can feel the passion for work and food. Everyone in Olo shares that same feeling - love for food. That love and genuine warmth we want you also to feel as our guest. We have been awarded in Michelin Guide with one star since 2011. Welcome to enjoy!
Helsinki, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic”
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Ate here a week ago, and it was the best experience so far in Helsinki, or for any place else for that matter. We ate the chef's surprise menu for 59 euros each, which was fantastic. Will eat here again for sure.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hanna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    389
    113
    39
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Delicious Scandinavian food”
Reviewed August 10, 2012

This review is for the food only (we chose the premium wine menu to go with the surprise menu, but the price was extortionate for what was served). We had the 4 course surprise menu (52 €, available on Saturdays only) that included four extra courses, so it ended up being an 8 course menu degustasion. Worth every Euro and cent. Olo has a Michelin star, but the atmosphere relaxed and unpretentious.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lilyputti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great molecular food experience”
Reviewed August 4, 2012

They have degustation menu, shorter and longer with option to combine it with standard or premium wines.
Food was excellent, wines (tasted premium) good and service not that competent (waitress was not able to explain difference between standard and premium wine options). But overall still a very good dining I would recommend especially because of food!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Evelin456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scandinavia
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Simply excellent!”
Reviewed July 15, 2012 via mobile

We dined here on Friday and had the appr. 68-78 € menu. By far the best restaurant experience in many years, even though we eat out often. Everything tasted and looked fantastic, the food was interesting and innovative, flavours were excellent, and the service was very friendly and professional. Nice bonus was to get some of the dishes served personally by the owner, Pekka Terävä. He seems very passionate about his food which you can taste on the plate!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mojito2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Posh food served in a relaxed way.”
Reviewed July 3, 2012

This was one of the highlights of our honeymoon. We booked to visit Olo whilst our cruise stopped in Helsinki. Firstly the location is great. If you're walking to the main shopping area or harbour market from the cruise ship drop off point you walk almost straight past it. We checked where it was a couple hours before we were due to eat and the owner caught us stealing a glance at the menu. He came our, greeted us warmly and knew who we were (spooky!). What a nice guy. As for the food... well I'm surprised we even saw what it looked like: our eyes were closed from enjoyment most of the time! It looked clean, innovative and very interesting. (An odd description but how often can you say you were interested in the way your dinner looked?) The taste was just wonderful. The flavour pairings were perfect. We went for lunch and despite the limited menu we weren't disappointed. I often think a small menu is the sign of a good restaurant. To top it all off the owner even gave us a copy of their recipe book, a big glossy hardback, and congratulated us on our honeymoon. How nice is that?
If you want a cool place to go with posh food, choose Olo.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GoldenBat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Olo Ravintola also viewed

Helsinki, Uusimaa
Helsinki, Uusimaa
 
Helsinki, Uusimaa
Helsinki, Uusimaa
 

Been to Olo Ravintola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing