We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Old Style”

Ravintola Lehtovaara
Ranked #168 of 1,470 Restaurants in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Taka-Töölö
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
377 reviews
243 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Good Old Style”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

This restaurant is the old style traditional high quality finnish restaurant. I had leek-potato soup and very traditional Cœur de filet Provençale 1952 with garlic potatoes. That is so good.
This restaurant has deep roots. Good choice.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Eero N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    41
    18
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hartsdale, New York
Level Contributor
64 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Another Superb Dining Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

I've been dining in Lehtovaara since 1976. The restaurant, located picturesquely across from the Sibelius Park just minutes from the city center, is one of my all-time favorites in the world. On this occasion last week, luncheon included a beautifully prepared arctic char preceded by a selection of tempting appetizer items from the sumptuous buffet station, including a variety of salad fixings, herring, smoked salmon and more.

Not only is Lehtovaara's food marvelous, but the extensive wine list, attentiveness of the wait staff, the charming, peaceful ambiance and, frankly, everything else about the place is absolutely tops!!

Lehtovaara has been in business for more than 80 years. The restaurant is a remarkable success story. Have always had great meals and splendid afternoons & evenings there. Can't wait to return next time I'm in Helsinki, which I hope will be soon.Thank you, Lehtovaara, for nearly 40 years of always superb, memorable dining experiences. You're the best!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelKnight1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Southern Finland, Finland
Level Contributor
81 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Traditional restaurant with style”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

This is the place to go when you want to have a wonderful meal, great wine, fantastic service in an minimalistic but elegant setting. My favorite dish has been on the menu for decades :) This is dining well in the old school style, the service is superb too. Perfect for couples. This is not the cheapest restaurant in the town, but worth every euro, always!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Miia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
105 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“From tradition to present”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Restaurant Lehtovaara is one of the oldest still servicing restaurants in town. I was around 10 when I went there first time. My all time favorite is the reddish Pepper Steak Sauce and Garlic Potatoes. Today I didn't get it. The new Master Chef had abandoned the traditional recipe and unfortunately not for the better. It wasn't bad at all, just the opposite, it was good, but not as good as the traditional sauce.

Still Lehtovaara remains in my book as one of the very best restaurants in town. Excellent service, excellent food.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Thomas E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“the best restaurant in Helsinki, a must visit, but only if you like really good food, wines and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

This place is the best, best food, best service and best affordable wine list in Helsinki. A meal here is not cheap, but it is extremely good and very, very good value for money The wine list is superb, the Neots St. Georges Premier Cru is a delight and decanted too. the staff are very good, know what they are taking about and show their skill and class in their craft. Space at the tables is a breath of fresh air, lots of room for bottles, glasses and everything, no time limit either. A wonderful dining experience. The history of the place is a wonder, starting out in Viipori, until the Soviets invaded, escaped to Helsinki and its been here ever since. Classic.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ciderman_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ravintola Lehtovaara also viewed

 

Been to Ravintola Lehtovaara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing