We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Arrogancy in the Food...”
Review of Samrat

Samrat
Ranked #242 of 1,489 Restaurants in Helsinki
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Arrogancy in the Food...”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

I do not know if the guys who serve in this restaurent are the owners of Samrat... But if not, then the owner should quickly arrange a course of Courtesy & Decency for them with some sense of Indian hospitality which they are totally deprived of... Imagine what, when we expreesed our desire to move to another table since it was a bit comfortable on the other table, these guys rudely said that we will not arrange the cutlery on new table ,pick up your cutlery from the old table & shift to the new table..What do they think they are? We just tolerated them since we had heard about the good quality of food...But this food has left a bitter taste in our mouth & I will recommend all my friends & relatives never to go to Samrat--- I know the Indians never show such rude hospitality to anyone...

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Parag386
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    53
    23
    12
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“What is food when it is served with arrogance ?”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Could have been a fabulous restaurant. Only if these folks had known spices are good enough for Indian food and does not require to be peppered with their arrogance. These people make money running an Indian restaurant in the heart of Helsinki but they bring nothing that is Indian in their service - the warmth and hospitality that typify the Indian culture. Thats because the three folks who run this restaurant are one Bangadeshi, one Sri Lankan Tamil and the other supposedly a Nepali.

You get a sense of their weird behaviour first time itself, but you tend to overlook it for the cause of the cuisine you perhaps desire to have. I referred so many of friends and colleagues here - just because Helsinki is still deprived of anything good in Indian. However it does not take time for this bunch of impersonators to be exposed. They ask you to leave if you wish to be offered a table of your preference, they ask you to leave if you are approaching closure time, they interfere in to your conversations uninvited...you are always on your toes as to where the next surprise coming from them. At the end you feel like you are obliging yourself by having food here than they thinking you are their customer. I had my last dinner with them today. No more referral, no more Samrat.

Enough is enough.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Shaibal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Tasty but not worth the cost”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We ate at Samrat on the 11.9. on my Birthday. We had this Groupon coupon and we had a 3 course menu for 25€ for two, which is less than half the original price of 52€. Not bad for Finnish prices but way too much for two students.

For starters we got salad and two smallish samosas. The salad was quite good and fresh and the samosas tasted authentic, like the ones I had in Uttar Pradesh region. The main course was a vegetable curry and chicken korma with rice. The vegetable curry was good but nothing special, the chicken korma was very good and the rice nice and plentiful. The dessert was (Finnish) vanilla ice cream with a waffer... not very Indian I'd say plus the ice cream was so cold that it was too hard to take into pieces with my spoon. So we ended up waiting for 5-10 minutes before we could have this poor excuse for a dessert.

In general the mood and decor of the restaurant wasn't all that Indian although the waiters clearly had roots from there. The music was nowhere near any kind of Indian music and the restaurant looked very British Indian... i.e. British with some Indian decorations here and there. The waiters were courteous and friendly, although they spoke very quietly. They let us dine very much in peace and we didn't have to wait for anything too long. Although if we had needed more service I'm not sure how it would have gone.

The restaurant would have gotten 3 stars otherwise in general if I hadn't gotten sick after that. I reckon it was the chicken korma...

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ville R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“For indians”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Being an indian, somehow always end up looking for indian restaurents. So we found this one in Helsinki. Good location, good food, good quantity and not that expensive. Service was alright, probably cause we went at odd times. But overall was good! Enjoy!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Spookaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goes, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Indian food in the middle of Helsinki”
Reviewed June 4, 2012

Food was very good. Staff very friendly and helpful. Cost very reasonable and we were given 20% discount on the food with our Helsinki card. very good :)

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Samrat also viewed

Helsinki, Uusimaa
Helsinki, Uusimaa
 
Helsinki, Uusimaa
 

Been to Samrat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing