We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Helsinki
Post
Inbox
Search

“We enjoyed!”
Review of Restaurant Savotta

Restaurant Savotta
Ranked #63 of 2,009 Restaurants in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $80
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Vironniemi
Description: Real Finnish food and nostalgic atmosphere! Savotta is a Finnish restaurant which offers genuine Finnish food and atmosphere, just off the Senate Square in the heart of Helsinki. The name Savotta means a logging site. Therefore the interior decoration and dishes has got inspiration of the Finnish forests and thousands of lakes, with a dash of Finnish nostalgy from the past decades and logging traditions. Savotta’s kitchen cherishes the Finnish food tradition.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We finished a guided tour in Helsinki right in front of the restaurant. It was Sunday evening so we were lucky To find a place for 13 people.
They set us in the lounge room which has two tables .
The waiter was very nice and welcoming. The food was great, I took the reindeer fillet which was served with a great mashed potato, and a glass of wine.
People that took the salmon soup enjoyed it very much also
They serve their own beer. The ipa was very good
Overall it was great experience, but a little bit too expensive

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank cohenfamily_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,192)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 6 of 1,192 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Very nice place where you can eat wonderful local food served by an efficient and dedicated staff. Loved the savotta appetizers! It is quite expensive but it is worth!

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank ClaudiaTarz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Go to Savotta if you want to meet other tourists! They must have approx 200 places and are enourmously popular among foreigners but we wanted to experience something more original and "Finnish". Good location if you get a table at the street level but placed in the cellar - not so cool. Decoration that should take you to Finnish countryside is not as successful as you would expect. Dark (my husband did not manage to read the menu) and quite uncomfortable chairs.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank magdabrekke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Speciality is reindeer meat. Much talked of However Claustrophobic , dark and basic service. Though our dinner was pre booked the restaurant did not have enough crockery like soup bowls to serve all. I was served the soup in a bucket!

Food was not bad but terribly disorganized.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Niroza H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2019 via mobile

We tried Savotta keen for the 20% discount with the Helsinki Card and the good reviews.
It was very popular with tourists and quite busy on a Wednesday night in September.
We enjoyed the entree of tasting plate. The mains were pleasant but fairly forgettable. The traditional 3 meat stew which had a slight anis flavour but a bit bland. Also we had salmon on risotto with the dish being just ok. - risotto a bit bland.
Service was too haphazard. Some tables were given an amuse bouch but ours was overlooked. The mains took1 hour 20 mins to arrive and by the time it did we had lost our appetites. There was an apology 5 mins before and again on arrival but no explanation. Maybe we were forgotten because other tables seemed to be served reasonably promptly.
But at least the service was consistent - also forgot to deduct the 20%.
Not good enough!!

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank balmain99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Savotta also viewed

 
Helsinki, Uusimaa
Helsinki, Uusimaa
 
Helsinki, Uusimaa
 

Been to Restaurant Savotta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing