We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worthwhile for special occasions”
Review of Sundmans Krog - CLOSED

Sundmans Krog
Price range: $37 - $146
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
AMS
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Worthwhile for special occasions”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

The first time i was ever in Helsinki, i really could not afford this.
So now it was about time. Although not cheap, food, atmosphere and service make up for it.
It was the last day of a season's special we both took, which was nice and tasty.
Again, wine does not get cheap, but that's state's policy, but ridiculous to say the least.

http://www.sundmans.fi > Krog

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Glukija
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    68
    29
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great ambience and excellent food”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

We were tired after a day of walking everywhere to see as much as we could of Helsinki. Sundmans Krog is adjacent to the Hotel Haven so we decided to eat there. It was a great choice. The seafood buffet is excellent and the rest of the menu interesting and reasonably priced.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank KeepMoving_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Charming interior in a very old building”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Sundmans Krog has a very good location in the city center, opposite the Old Market Hall and close to the Market Square. The old building dating back to 1817 with its charming interior gives a nice atmosphere for a luncheon or a dinner. Our dinner was ok, the best part of it was definitely the fish buffet. The service was polite and smiling although a bit slow with only one waitress - poor her on a busy evening.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Adventure2Stockholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Allegedly the best in Helsinki”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Delightful room layout, like staying in a grand house, lots of separate dining rooms with hallways and lounges.
Service was friendly and of high standard.
We were a party of 12 and were looked after very well. Wine selection was good and food very modern - ie small portions, "cauliflower cream mousse" etc very tasty. No idea of the price, we were hosted and very pleased ....

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank dgilchri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“wonderful meal here”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

we had the Helsinki menu (durng the Baltic Herring Festival days) and found it well prepared and very tasty- duck with pumpkin and a starter of cream of mushroom soup or smoked salmon- nice wine from New zealand and we were happy campers!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Toriaj254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sundmans Krog also viewed

Helsinki, Uusimaa
Helsinki, Uusimaa
 
Helsinki, Uusimaa
Helsinki, Uusimaa
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing