We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice food, but nothing for vegetarians” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rafla - CLOSED

Rafla
Price range: $0 - $37
Cuisines: European, Italian, French, Scandinavian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Neighborhood: Kampinmalmi
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
150 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Nice food, but nothing for vegetarians”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

I dined in Rafla with a big group of friends and we all admit that the food was really tasty :) We all enjoyed it. They staff was really helpful - rearranged the tables for us so that we all could sit together. And even though we were quite many, they got it all correctly - no mistakes on our individual bills. Well done!

Here are some further quick comments:

Pluses:

* Good location
* Interesting menu
* Good selection of drinks
* Really tasty food (if you like fish, try the avocado-salmon)

Minuses:
* Slow service (we waited for the food for over 1,5 hours - but then, we were 14 people, which can of course explain the slowness at least a bit)
* Vegetarians are totally ignored, there was no single vegetarian dish!

The price-level is the same as in most of the elegant restaurants in Helsinki city center. For a main course accompanied by a couple of drinks, you will pay around 35-40€s.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jola L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    33
    7
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
244 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

I'm living in Helsinki, but despite I'm quite often dining out in town this was the first time I visited "Rafla". I was very positively surprised and especially the food was just "12 points". Four persons; four different starters and four different main courses and all dishes perfect. The only small negative thing to say about the dinner was the service. Not that the ladies serving us made a bad job, on the contrary, but two waitresses serving the whole restaurant are just too few

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ola K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oulu, Finland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not quite worth the money”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

The menu was promising and interiors were quite nice. Appetizers were ok, main dish was mediocre and dessert was good. Service was pretty basic. All in all, it wasn't bad, but I think you can get better meals with these prices.

Helpful?
1 Thank NeitiMatkailija
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ouagadougou, Burkina Faso
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

A gem in Helsinki: the food is great and there is a great variety of choices, including the bar.
Personnel is available and discreet, making it more enjoyable.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lexo83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Level Contributor
101 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good cross kitchen food and good service!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

Sat night with full restaurant. Food was good and tasty. Price is OK. What impressed me the most on top of the good food was the impeccable service!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Larry1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rafla also viewed

 
Helsinki, Uusimaa
Helsinki, Uusimaa
 
Helsinki, Uusimaa
Helsinki, Uusimaa
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing