We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Somekind of disapointment”
Review of Mamma Rosa

Mamma Rosa
Ranked #62 of 1,523 Restaurants in Helsinki
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Taka-Töölö
Helsinki, Finland
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Somekind of disapointment”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

I was visiting this famous restaurant after a long time with my friends 28th September. And found that something famous is missing from menu. Reindeer! This was the top nr.1 place in Helsinki to get the best reindeer but now it is gone with winds and replaced with elk steak.

Ok, from the start. We were early to get reserved table ready and they proposed to wait in the bar 30 meters from the entrance. Strange why bar is there and we preferred to stay and wait in one free table upstairs at terrace. Terrace was warmed with heaters but we felt cold all the time. Luckily our table was ready quite fast and we went downstairs to our reserved one.

Whole meal just 45,50€ without drinks. With those prices I do expect more quality I must say. And put the reindeer back to your list!
For starter I had Beef carpaccio with crispy capers and parmesan cheese. I must say that I have had better ones in lower class restaurants many times. It wasn´t tasty at all and tasted watery. Perhaps it was still freezed but anyway nothing I expected.

Then the main course, Elk steak with game sauce. No one asked would I like to have it medium or what so it came almost well done. Sause was like from worst Gordon Ramsay TV series, messy and after taste was greasy. Strange that this level of restaurant servers bar food. Ok, there was plenty of sauce and enough meet to get saturated but anyway..

And the dessert; Star anise creme brule. I requested for 100% lactose free dessert and waitress told that creme brule is so. As I am extremely bored with fruit salads and sorbet, I took a chance. And it was worth of it! Dessert was so good that it almost saved whole dinner. Real synenergy of flavors. But unfortunately afterwards I was not so sure about 100% lactose free. Everyone who has it, knows what I mean ;)

Service was friendly but water was forgot. Very normal, nothing special.

Anyhow, Mamma Rosa is not that restaurant before. And they sure must follow standards of today and clearly mark which food is lactose and glutein free. After years having meals in restaurants, I don´t count on waiters knowledge. So many times I have heard that butter is lactose free and so on.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FinnHelsinki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    136
    35
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Porto, Portugal
Level 6 Contributor
701 reviews
347 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 338 helpful votes
“very pleasant restaurant and good food”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

I was in Helsinki for a business meeting and my customer invited me to dine in Mamma Rosa, he told me that was a very nice restaurant. So my expectations were high!

Parking is not so easy, because Mamma rosa is located in the city center, but that didn´t affected my expectations. And when I arrived I was happy with what I was seeing. It´s not a modern decoration, is dated but charming creating a great atmosphere.

There´s a waiter at the main entracen to take the coats of the clients, that´s helpfull considering Finland is a cold country, besides it´s posh!

We were escorted to the reserved table in the lower floor, the staff was extraordinary friendly during all dinner.

The food were nice too, elegant, good looking and tasty. Noteworthy the high quality of the ingredients and the the wine sellection was nice too. Could be more complete, but not disapointing anyway!

Short story, I had a great meal and for sure I´l return to Mamma rosa!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Henrique d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good food with unpolite service.”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Having a birthday dinner with the family (all grown ups) here. The food was excellent for everybody; lobster soup, carpaccio, lamb, and especially the fish of the day, which was
fresh and well prepared and served. Thanks to whole kitchen from all of us. Also the price setting is fair compared to any other restaurant in Helsinki. I have manytimes got poor food with much higher prices in restaurants which are valued as "high-class" restaurants

But the behaviour of the waitress was not customer oriented at all. The welcoming words already were cold "Are you coming more?", no friendly words after that at all, questions in a way, which were almost arrogant. Hope she only had a bad day, because we certainly would like to go to there again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ToursTK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waunakee, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Taken there by locals”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Some relatives took us there. Great impression of pizza in Helsinki. Tasted like wood-fired pizza from back home. The Parma was the best of the 4 we tried, but they were all good. I liked the reindeer pizza better than my family.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CheezeHead1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Always good”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

This restaurant has been one of my favorites for ages since I've patronized it nearly all of my life.

The athmosphere laid back and welcoming. Service is good and polite but may be slow time to time due its popularity.

The food is delicious and beautifully presented. They serve seasonal specialities and house classics. It is also well known for its super yummy pizzas.

Reservations are recommended since this restaurant is so popular. It always has been.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelManiaxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mamma Rosa also viewed

Helsinki, Uusimaa
Helsinki, Uusimaa
 
Helsinki, Uusimaa
 

Been to Mamma Rosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing