We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Of two minds...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nokka

Nokka
Ranked #7 of 1,453 Restaurants in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $36 - $146
Cuisines: European, Scandinavian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Vironniemi
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Of two minds...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

Not overally familiarly with Helsinki restaurants, a client recommended this as her favorite. Great impression from the location (even at night) and the quaint interior and glass wall separating the kitchen. I thoght the waiter was going a bit OTT with the "stories" about the beer, food and wine but this is part of their "angle." I also thought the prices were a bit on the top end so was hesitant to go all out. But WOW, the food was exquisite. We tried the special autumn menu. The combinations, freshness and novelty combined to make it a real treat. I don't share the lack of attention from the staff but maybe this is something they need to sort out b/c it was truly a great food fest. I'd go back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    183
    80
    26
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

On our city visits we try to visit at least one notable restaurant. Choosing this place was a mistake. Despite few customers, which should have had alarm bells ringing, the service was slow and unprofessional. The location is great, right on the waters edge. The interior has a glass wall into the kitchen giving the impression the cooks have something to show off. Bottom line Starter very good, mains mediocre dessert OK. Expensive with crap service.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JamesDignam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
188 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A Big Disappointment”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

After reading various reviews, we made reservations. Our waitress was so inept and kept leaving us for huge amounts of time before ordering, after ordering, during the meal, and after the meal. It seemed that she forgot to turn in our order(we had early reservations so there weren't many people in the restaurant). We kept having to go to another individual to check on what happened to our meal. Then upon being served, one of our entrees was not what was ordered, but we kept it anyway since it took so long just to get what we were served. We had to pour our own wine each time we wanted some after retrieving it from where the waitress had put it away from the table. I don't even remember any good items that we ordered as we were so upset with the service we received. would never go back. And with all the problems we experienced, no apology was forthcoming from the manager, waitress or anyone. A funny thing happened during this saga concerning a waitress that had waited on us a another top restaurant the night before. She had gone to work at this restaurant that evening and was in training. We spoke with her briefly to acknowledge we remembered her from the other location. We think she may have made a disastrous job move after our disappointing evening.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank DRip2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Exquisit and friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

wonderful restaurant. Nice location, great service, extraordinary good food.
Bring some money with U.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank ulf k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
66 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Amazing gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

Nokka is found by the main harbor and boasts organic and local vegetables, fish and meat. We had the 6 course "Helsinki" meal with suggested wine pairings and enjoyed the dinner, the explanations of each delectable dish, and the wine. A good investment of time and money for a relaxed yet luxurious night on the town.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank katejumps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nokka also viewed

 
Helsinki, Uusimaa
Helsinki, Uusimaa
 
Helsinki, Uusimaa
 

Been to Nokka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing