We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“After Cirque du Soleil”
Review of Toscanini

Toscanini
Ranked #78 of 1,522 Restaurants in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $66
Cuisines: Italian, Cafe, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: Kampinmalmi
Description: Our restaurant has received its cheerful and relaxed atmosphere from Tuscany, Italy. Here we offer you a modern, country style kitchen under the Tuscan lilies. Our menu is based on the most essential elements of Italian kitchen, such as olive oil, herbs, tomatoes and Tuscan cheeses and cold cuts. Eat, drink and enjoy italian warmth in the heart of Helsinki! Breakfast, lunch and dinner.
Helsinki, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“After Cirque du Soleil”
Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

We went to Toscanini after Cirque di Soleil spectacle without a table reservation and we're lucky ones as someone has not come and we got their table. Service was good through dinner. Antipasto selection was good, my wife took Handmade goat cheese and shallot filled Ravioli, tomato sauce and pine kernel- Parmesan slivers, and she liked that a lot. My risotto "Risotto with tiger prawns and fresh tomato" was absolutely delicious. Le Rime from Toscana area was a good wine as well. Thanks!

Helpful?
Thank Kauko R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    142
    73
    32
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liege, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Not very good restaurant”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

I had one dinner there and took melanzane alla parmigiana. I guess an Italian would instantly die when receiving their dish :)
So food was not of high quality (tiramisu was good but not fabulous at all). The staff was quite nice however !

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mmichel2143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level 6 Contributor
299 reviews
170 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Ok food”
Reviewed December 20, 2012

The food was ok. No complaints but for the given price I would have expected a bit more from the menu. Nice location and atmosphere especially during summer.

Helpful?
Thank JiiBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“High quality Italian food”
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Superb ingredients and very well done. Great atmosphere and happy to eat on my own after a busy day's work. Seems always to be busy and there's no doubt as to why. Not cheap though.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Quality Italian food ...... Great staff!”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We ate at this restaurant twice. We found the food was excellent. Interesting menu, good sized serves, lovely blend of flavours - an altogether great dining experience. We eat a lot of Italian food and found that this surpassed most of the other meals we have had, both in Italy and in other countries.

Unlike some reviewers, we really liked the decor. It is slightly quirky but pleasant and the pressed metal roof was beautiful.

We were also amazed to read that some reviewers found the staff indifferent or unpleasant. Our experience there, was of very friendly, responsive and hardworking staff. Our meals arrived promptly etc. yet staff were happy to chat beyond the superficial conversations that some staff in restaurants adopt. They were genuinely concerned that we enjoyed our meal and engaged in conversation about where we were from etc.

After 10 weeks of travelling through Europe, across 5 counties, this was a restaurant we will remember.

I would highly recommend this restaurant, both for the lovely food and the staff.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Toscanini also viewed

Helsinki, Uusimaa
Helsinki, Uusimaa
 
Helsinki, Uusimaa
 

Been to Toscanini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing