We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Farouge with style”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Farouge

Farouge
Ranked #389 of 1,470 Restaurants in Helsinki
Price range: $22 - $293
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Helsinki
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Farouge with style”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

Farouge is a great Lebanese restaurant in a surprising location - the centre of Helsinki. The family-owned restaurant has been known by connaisseurs for some two decades and the reputation has grown. We have celebrated a memorable occasion, enjoyed a good meal with a small and special company, and we have taken visitors from abroad there - Farouge has never let you down. The mezes are among the best we have had. Traditional lamb is a must, and the selection of wines, some also from Lebanon, is varied and good, to accompany your meal.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Katarina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    62
    23
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Excellent service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

Good location (near Helsinki design museum)! Bit pricey but excellent service. Go for the meza-selection.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Hanna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Possibly the best Lebanese Restaurant outside of Lebanon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

Farouge is not your typical Lebanese restaurant outside of Lebanon. It has elevated the concept of Lebanese finger food to the level of a gourmet experience. The staff is well trained, and highly motivated. If you're lucky the owner, Viviane Khoury, will swing by your table and encourage you to try some of her restaurant's finest sweets. Although the food is the main attraction at Farouge, a visit to this establishment is very likely to turn into an experience you will never forget. Whether you're in town for a couple of days, or if you live in Helsinki, do not miss the opportunity to get a real taste of Lebanon!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fufen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Exotic experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

We had a hilarious evening with our friends in Farouge. We got warm, flexible and professional service for our relatively big and noisy party. Everybody enjoyed Arabic food even some of us tasted its unique flavors first time.

We shared Meze appetizer and ordered individual main courses. Meze was worth of trying. Every dish gave a different kind of taste experience. Best main course was meat skewers with potatoes. Smell was so good that I have to taste food from my friend's plate. Potatoes and garlic tasted super soft. My own lamb chops where ok. Good but nothing really special.

It is absolutely must to try Farouges bar cocktails and Lebanese coffee!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sannastiina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
136 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

Great lebanese cuisine, one of the best restaurants where I have visited! Personnel was polited and food excellent!

Helpful?
Thank Ville H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Farouge also viewed

Helsinki, Uusimaa
Helsinki, Uusimaa
 
Helsinki, Uusimaa
 
Helsinki, Uusimaa
 

Been to Farouge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing