We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“delicious, and obliging”
Review of FishMarket - CLOSED

FishMarket
Cuisines: Seafood, Scandinavian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“delicious, and obliging”
Reviewed May 23, 2014

Visiting Helsinki with my parents, and after a long day of sightseeing we explained to our server that we were "hungry and tired," implying that we were not up for a three-hour dinner. The server was very understanding, and got everything out promptly. The food was terrific, and the roasted whole while fish memorable. The Baltic is not the Mediterranean or the Bay of Biscay, but we went ahead and got the seafood platter anyways, perhaps not the wisest choice in hindsight. Not too overpriced considering the location and surprisingly niche offering in Helsinki.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank colorfulrealm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    58
    23
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“I have found this consistently good”
Reviewed May 19, 2014

not excellent, not outstanding, but consistently good and when you are in Helsinki after a day of work or walking around and the restaurants close fairly early, that is good to know. I have dined here at least 6 times different times of the year.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gigifr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
133 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Over rated”
Reviewed May 2, 2014

A well located restuarant in the city centre...location does not get any better, however it is situated in the basement, so the entrance is a bit odd...
Inside the restuarant it has nice modern ambience... there are set menus and a La carte...My friend who had earlier in the day reserved the table, had enquired about their Oyster supply.. he was told they had arrived in the morning...however when we asked the waiters about the Oysters he said they get their supplies once a week...!! My friend is Oyster aficionado, so we braved on and ordered a dozen to be shared...they messed up the order and brought us a dozen each....when we pointed this out the steward who was serving us till then abandoned our table and sent another waitress to continue the service.!!
We ordered our main course and it was excellent.....compliments to chef who prepared a lobster risotto and fried cod! If service was the yardstick to go by... one should not venture to this restuarant...!Even though the food was good, I am not likely to go to FISHMARKET again...a fine dinning place, where service is worst than a street food place, does not stack up!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cic92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nice dinner in a waterfront basement venue”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Took my wife to Fishmarket for her birthday. Had the Fishmarket menu and Stockmann menu. Very tasty and innovative dishes bordering fine dining. Scandinavian tastes. Fried cod with a poached egg was a very nice combination, must try this recipe in the home kitchen. Wife's "Skagen" was also very clever, with marinated onion pickles/chutney to add more punch to the taste. There was also Oyster/lobster platter alternatives, and even more local choises (e.g. pike-perch), so lot to choose from. As said elsewhere, the "universal" problem in Finnish (and Scandinavian) restaurants is the high price of even moderate wines, but the choises matched the food very well.

The service was quick and energetic, and the venue is really nice and clean, with a lot of nordic influences (white walls and ceilings, wood panels etc). To top things off, in the end 9we were offered a voucher for Teatteri restaurant for a glass of bubbly.

Oveall, highly recommended if you are into high end seafood in Helsinki, Finland region.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank O_P_P_2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
150 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Very good fish restaurant”
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Hidden in the basement close to the ferry harbor there is this very nice fish restaurant. They have a good compact menu with good fish and excellent dishes also special combination (poached egg with cod). The white wines are not cheap but are very good and fit the menu as a glove. All and all it was a good experience and we enjoyed our dinner very much.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Flateric09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed FishMarket also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing